We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at the Hotel a Encounter Nepal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #24 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay at the Hotel a Encounter Nepal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I booked through agoda.com before coming to Kathmandu. A pick up was arranged for us at the airport and we had a very friendly welcome from all the staff there, who made it very easy for us.
I am thrilled with the overall service provided by all members of the staff at encounter Nepal. Fun, friendly, professional, I recommend it 100%.
The food at the hotel restaurant is amazing. Try the special Nepalese dish, you won t be disappointed! It's service is very good. Warm and Professional service .
They even organize tours on request . They organized a tour around the city and Kathmandu and we were really pleased with it.
The hotel is very clean!internet good and again all staff very nice and professional ! Excellent value for price! I ll definitely be back there on my next trip to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marie Line S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Marie !

Thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are truly honored. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel environment, food, friendly & helpful staffs and overall we were being able to meet your expectation. I have forwarded this review to all those concerned and they all are so proud to hear about your review and we do hope to see your same review in agoda as well as you have booked from agoda.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    234
    68
    28
    27
See reviews for
98
210
221
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Rooms comfortable. Views awesome. Best food I have had in all of Nepal from the restaurant. Best feature was the staff. Worked very hard to make sure I was taken care of. From front desk to bar to hotel manager. In fact the manager was so amazing....we called him magic.

Amazing deal!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi Jennifer,

It is really great to know our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation and you like our magic manager.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us & we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka Division, Bangladesh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Encounter hotel is too good.very good hospitality..the room is clean and suitable for everyone...they have very beautiful garden....they also have very beautiful resturent and open bar..
The food is so testy..




Specially the Tourist guied Mr.Lama is a great man.His tour package is too good..In his package we visited many places in kathmandu..and we also visited pokhara..Everything is perfect in his package and cheap also.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mojammel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi Mojammel !

Feels great to hear your review and thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. I have forwarded this review to all those concerned specially to Mr. Lama and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Hotel encounter is the best I stayed with my wife on short holidays on 15th December 2013.I like the location most room are clean very friendly staff the hotel manager call Mr; Badri Bhujel he is so great he arranged a car to us to go to nagarkot and bhaktapur with reasonable price they do have backup big generators and good WiFi so you can connect the world.


Why I like this hotel thru have 24, hours security on the gate ltd easy to come late night. Beautiful garden and they have visible kitchen foods oh my god so delicious I always took my dinner and lunch.

I would like to recommend this hotel to all my business partners and friends.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sujal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Sujal !

Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. Hearing positive reviews delighting our guests is the fuel that keeps our engine going. As customer service is our 1st priority and we work very hard to deliver out of the box service to you. We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

From TRIP ADVISOR,I booked this hotel and stayed 4 nights with my family in middle DEC. I found that it is value for money and is located conveniently near the city streets. The management and staff like Badri,Lama,Premo,Gopal,Been,Umtong,Gaza and others are very friendly,helpful and excellent in their service! The food of the hotel restaurant are tasty and have variety of choices,prices are reasonable except the 10% service tax & 13% vat tax is a bit burden! Overall,for travellers who are looking for budget accomodation, I strongly recommend Hotel Encounter. At night,it is a serene place to enjoy the dinners near the fire place or sitting at a tranquil corner,the memory is forever touching.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelfan156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Travelfan156 !

It is really great to know our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Regarding except the 10% service tax & 13% vat tax, its the basic charge by any hotel and restaurant here in Nepal. Anyway I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they sure are proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us & we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Encounter on the 9-12th Dec. 2013 and found it ok. The room was a decent size, bathroom was ok however the street noise was horrible. We would wake up to people shouting every morning at like 5am ! So I would recommend requesting a room away from the street!
Suggestions to the hotel - Food and drinks from the restaurant should be more consistent. We found that when ordering the same food, there were variations. Eg the type of bread used, when ordering coke one day we got a can and the next day a glass. Personally I like consistency and the reason why I would order the same thing is because I know what to expect.
The hotel manager was delightful and very helpful. However we were hassled by one of the workers there to write a good review on trip advisor. The first day we arrived he spoke to us about writing the review for over half an hour, which I didn't mind, however, everytime we saw him he would ask if we had written it and kept asking when we would write it. It was very annoying and made me not want to write a good review!
Other then that, overall we found the hotel to be pleasant, staff were all very nice and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street to avoid 5am wake up calls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank -kdee-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.However, we all want to make sure that your stay is comfortable with us but due to someone forcing behavior, the management faces the bullets.

Alternatively, thank you for liking hotel and we hope this incident will not make you away to come back to Hotel Encounter Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you are looking for something comfortable stay strating from USD 20 and also in great location then this place is something value for money. Restaurant staffs are really excellent and friendly as I interacted with them a lot and it s something to remeber for a longtime.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Abhinav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi Abhinav,

We are very glad to hear your review during your stay with us and thank you so much for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are all so proud to hear about your review that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. It really motivates us further to get up every day and deliver our very best. Thank you for having chosen us and encouraging us with your sincere appreciation.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#7 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#23 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Property: Hotel Encounter Nepal
Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing