We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #28 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Encounter is a really neat place with a nice garden and a great rooftop (make sure you book ahead if you want to wake up to a great view of the city with the mighty Himalayas in the background).

Compared to touristy Tamel, just a block away, this is great value for your money. And also a better choice if you're in Kathmandu for work rather than pleasure.

Rooms are large and clean. Hot water (a luxury in these parts) is available 24/7.
However, best part about this place is the staff. Really nice people, always eager to help out or hang out.

Only thing I would change if I could is the complimentary breakfast: they should go for the superb local cuisine with momos and lassis instead of the safe but boring egg-bacon-and toast.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
9  Thank Ivar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hi IvarAndersen !

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Also thank you for your suggestion as we will look into it and do the needful changes in coming days. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they sure are proud to hear about your review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the many positive review but after staying one night, we began to have serious doubts on the previous review.

The location was in the slope of a very dusty and narrow street. One needs to walk up the slopes, cross the busy road to get to Thamel. However, I would admit it has a nice garden with restaurant once you enter the security gate. When we reached the hotel, the front desk seemed not to have received our booking but told us to go to another room where 2 burly man were sitting inside. We were not treated like guests but like interviewees for a job as we were filling up the guest form! First impression failed terribly!

Next on the room, it was one of the worst we have ever stayed. There is no pride on it. The mat outside each room curled up like it has been dried in the sun for years. There was no proper room signage but one using a paper written on it! The parquet room was sandy and we had to go onto the street to buy slippers for the night. There is hot water but the bathroom walls had designs with holes and it is not secured for ladies bathing in it. There was music playing in the night and people talking that we can hear it so clearly from our room.

The price we paid for the room was not cheap and the breakfast included was a buffet style. The bread was cold and hard. But the services from the waiters was good. However, the manager in yellow jacket seem to have a serious attitude problem? That's our feel, maybe we were wrong!

Anyway, we were glad is just a night stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eileenml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked hotel encounter with intrepid and was pleasantly surprised on arrival. They provide free airport pickup and are very hospitable when you check in at desk. Staff are helpful and polote and although we only had a budget room.17dollars a night .they gave us the same service as people in delux rooms. Great beds and best hot shower in the indian subcontinent.nothing was too much trouble.extra pillows .stow our luggage when we made a side trip. Free computer use and were happy for us to sit in their garden courtyard and drink alcohol bought outside the hotel.the hotel is very ventral to the main shopping street and all attravtions in kathmandu. Absolutely recommend it to anyone.they even paid for half our taxi to airport as hotel car was not available.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
11  Thank angela698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello angela !

We are very glad to hear your review during your stay with us and thank you so much for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are all so proud to hear about your review that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. It really motivates us further to get up every day and deliver our very best. Thank you for having chosen us and encouraging us with your sincere appreciation.

We hope to see you again soon and thanks for recommending other travelers too.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Warm friendly staff great location good value for money safe for solo travellers great base in Katmandu to base yourself for travelling airport pick up without a second ask resturant food is with good breakfast Outside garden area very relaxed with friendly smiling staff roof top garden provides good veiws across the city 24 hour hot water in showers is a wonderful relief after days of travelling Highly recomend the Encounter Nepal

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Austarlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Everytime I come to Nepal and this was eight times in the last two years I stay in Encounter Hotel. The reasons are that staff members are very friendly and make the impossible possible. Also the rooms are very clean, food is excellent, and the garden is nice twith flowers. It's a good place to escape the rush of Kathmandu and be two minutes away from Thamel.And one Thing more everytime I'm coming back more things are Change in a positive way.

Room Tip: The Hotel has two buildings, so if you want to have a quiet nicht choose the back building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Birgit !

Thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are truly honored. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team as we feel validated when customers return to our hotel.Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel environment, food, garden, friendly & helpful staffs.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Prebooked and arrived at about midnight to be told that our rooms were overbooked. Moved to a nearby alternative that was just satisfactory. Picked back up in the morning and taken back to hotel encounter. Breakfast OK but very, very slow.
Room in old section reasonable for the $25.
Good location and security but would try somewhere else next time.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank robbotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there 2 nights with my gf in 2 different rooms
Old tower was very poor
New tower was good
Ac was fine.
No Internet inside the room
Internet was very slow
Breakfast was extremely poor almost no variety.
But the room was clean and comfortable.
Hot showers was ok
Location is good

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Marwan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#18 of 210 in Kathmandu
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#13 of 210 in Kathmandu
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $24 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing