We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #22 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved this place!!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived and saw this charming hotel and restaurant we fell in love with it. Pots of flowers and charming lobby and indoor and outdoor restaurant space is the first thing you notice about this wonderful hotel. Next you notice the very warm welcome you receive, not only when you first arrive but every time you pass by any of the warm and friendly staff members. We stayed 4 nights and we were treated like family. We loved the food at the hotel restaurant, the Hotel Encounter Grill. The food was fabulous and the staff treated us wonderfully, even placing a heater next to our table on cool mornings. We have traveled the world and stayed in many places and this hotel is right up there with our top favorite places we have ever stayed. It is a warm, friendly and inexpensive place to stay. We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucyrennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    235
    69
    28
    27
See reviews for
98
211
223
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

For the first time in Nepal i was really please for the co-operation of Hotel Encounter. Environment is very nice and the garden, Dining place everything...Especially at the very morning i heard a ringing bell from Temple which give me the flavor of my native country. Internet service, cleaning and specially the co-operation of hotel manager which I remember till now.. I suggest my friends and colleagues to stay here if they r in Nepal. And lastly If I come again obviously i will stay Hotel Encounter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our team really loved this hotel. Very friendly staff, great breakfast and comfortable room. They have a generator which is noce when the city power goes out. The staff was very ready and willing to assist with activities or answer questions. Highly recommend the hotel. Matt H

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

the trip to nepal was amazing and it was most warm welcome at the hotel. Niraj from the travel office was very helpful and overall the stay was comforting. The location is very nice away from the regular hustling and bustling of the crowd of Thamel and very near to it. we enjoyed the evening walks with niraj shrestha ..enjoyed the trip .. must stay when in kathmandu

Room Tip: overall it was a nice place with good value to the guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Konrad666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

First of all, I have to mention the amazing staff – everyone on them
were excellent, service minded and very helpful.
Badri, the hotel manager, contacted us before we arrived and took good care of us. Big plus: Free airport pick-up service!
Hotel Encounter is located right outside the tourist center Thamel,
which is perfect! It takes no more than 2 min walk, but still a lot more quiet than at the guest houses in the middle of busy and noisy Thamel.
The rooms are big, cleen, and has everything you need, even a fridge.

It was our first time in Nepal, and definately not the last, thanks to the warm welcome at Hotel Encounter. I highly recomment this hotel to others! Thank you for a great stay, hope to come back someday :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnjaandKaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Excellent Hotel and amazing staff! each person contributed to make our holidays a special one!
The rooms were big enough for 2 people and in the bathroom the water was always hot to take a nice shower. They provided us with a driver who stayed with us all the time while during our tours around Kathmandu.
The location, a little bit away from the chaos of center Tamel, is perfect! No noise at all, compared to those guest houses located in the very center.
The room and hotel in general was always clean and the restaurant offered many choices and nice variety of food.
we had the chance to meet and spend some time with Pramod Gajurel, the executive director of the hotel. He was extremely nice, helpful and made sure our stay was perfect!
I highly recomment this hotel. The staff is a good asset and gives a great human value to this place. Hope to come back soon again! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gabry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiayi, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Badri Bhujel is a very friendly manager and had much enthusiasm for service . He always stood on the cutomer site and figure out what they want for them. Encounter hotel made me felt like coming back home. The 24 hours hot shower and no power shortage problem made me impressive and thanksful. The thing I had to complain is the bed sheeth is not really warm enough for the cold winter night. Otherwise everything is very good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monicabb411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#9 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#28 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#23 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Property: Hotel Encounter Nepal
Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing