We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #23 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
702 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Distinctly Average”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I booked this after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and quite honestly do not understand why they were so glowing. First impressions as I entered the the hotel courtyard nicely laid out with trees for shade and an open terrace restaurant were good. Reception was curteous and welcoming with a choice of beverage. So far so good. I was then approached by Raj and asked to go into his office(Tours). Now I had alredy e-mailed and said I may wish to book something, either a trek or tour ect. Raj's approach was in my view "Hard sell", I say this after a lifetime in various sales positions from showroom to Sales Director. "Hard" sells only ever work on a guest/client/customer once. A more gentle approach especially after i had said I wanted to look at all options would have been better. My booking of a day tour of Kathmandu with car & driver was met with the derogetory remark, "thank you for the small business"? I will say the driver was very good and helpfull on the day tour. On being shown to my room I was dissaponted to say the least. It was very worn and basic. See photo's. To be fair at the price paid it may just qualify as OK. However what I did not see in any other reviews was the mention of the noise levels here. My room 603 over looked the courtyard and some relgious shrine with a bell on it that devotees started to ring from about 5AM every morning! That and the dogs barking in the courtyard and pigeons cooing outside my window meant i did not get a good nights sleep in 3 nights here. Although staff enter the rooms every day to tidy & "clean" they failed to clean the cobweb over the sink with several spider dinners in it. I deliberately did'nt say anything just to see if it would ever be removed. It wasn't. Check if you get this room! The toilet seat was broken and loose. Hot water was at a premium. 2 hot showers out of 7. I also booked an Everest flight for 7.30 am which meant leaving the hotel at 6.30. Despite them knowing and my requesting something? to eat & drink before leaving, the morning staff were dismissive and unhelpfull.

Room Tip: Aviod rooms overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    236
    70
    28
    27
See reviews for
98
212
225
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The service was prompt and professional. The location is right next to Thamel and is very convenient. Breakfast was great. Room is clean. Wifi (sometimes patchy) but most of the times are reliable. They can also help you arrange with car and driver. They even offered me with reconfirming flight without prompting. Would definitely stay again in this place when im back in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tedy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This summer was my second time there. It's a lovely hotel with a lovely garden where the hours seem to pass by. Also, it has a somonkin area as well as a non smoking area, which is new in Nepal, as you can smoke practically anywhere. So that is good for everyone.
They also provide with free internet 24 hours.
The hotel is clean, the cleanning ladies clean it as many times you want it in your stay.
I highly recommend this hotel as one of the best in Kathmandu (oh! and it's really close to Thamel, the tourist area, but not right in the middle, which is very nice!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 842JessicaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

If You are looking for a reasonable budget stay hotel in Thamel, this is fine. Hotel is clean and food is fine. We ordered pasta which my kid didn't like since it didn't have the authentic taste. Mr Sujan (mgr) is very friendly and you can depend on him for right advice. We were fly including my 5 year old kid. According to our experience, I don't recommend anybody to stay near to Thamel area . This place is good only for bachelors who wants to freak out. For family It's better to stay in Kathmandu.
Overall, two nights stay here was fine out of our 1 week nepal stay.
for transportation in nepal, I arranged myself after contacting couple of agents. From Chitwan, Mr Suman of Jungle safari lodge gave me a good package for transportation and loding in Chitwan.

Room Tip: if you stay here, go for one with mountain view if you are not in budget.. If in budget, you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijaymenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The hotel was in a good location, centre of the city, easy access to different destinations. Staff were gentle and generous. The management was well educated and the hospitality level was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAMIR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Very nice, friendly and helpfull staff. Excelent management. They are always trying to help. We ended here by luck. We went back to more times. Next time in Nepal, will stay there again. It is not a five starts hotel, but the nice enviroment, makes you fill pleasant.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ovidio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponferrada, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

It was a pleasure checking what a friend said me before to recomend me this hotel; I had just 3 days to spend in Nepal and everything I needed was solved by the hotel making me enjoy so much of the 3days plan they suggested me. A pleasure to stay in such a familiar and nice hotel in where the staff is so kind, friendly and warm; they attended all our desires in so lovely way. I keep such a endearing memories from there that I think about returning when I can.

Room Tip: Just you can ask for what you exactly want and they understand your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#18 of 198 in Kathmandu
584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 198 in Kathmandu
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#28 of 198 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Property: Hotel Encounter Nepal
Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing