We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel and amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Ranked #10 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at this 'home' from 23/03 to 26/03. After spending 6 nights at 3 different hotels in Nepal, this was our final pitstop. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, caring and served us everyday with a big smile on their faces. I was there with elderly parents and aunt, cousin, my little one and hubby. The day we arrived we ran out of diapers, cousin and i found our way to some local mini markets which had none. Disappointed, we informed Mr Sudharshan of our situation. Knowing that we were a little lost in that area, he requested me to get a ride with his manager to the nearest supermarket. We were extremely touched by their gesture. Free serving of coffee and tea makes it even wonderful for tea lovers like us! . They attended to each and every request of ours immediately. But we didn't know that the biggest surprise waited on the day we left as we requested Mr Sudharshan to arrange our transfer to airport and agreed on a price. Our final day came, so does our transport and when wished good bye to all the staffs, we were informed that its a free ride to the airport!! And even after reaching back home, Mr Sudharshan still texts to enquire about our journey and whether we've reached our homes..!!!! . Wonderful memories of Nepal and this great Hotel lingers on our minds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YunaKish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Yuna & sweet family
Thanks for your wonderful review on Hotel Mums Home. We are so glad that you enjoyed you stay at Mums Home. Your words about our staffs, management, hotel's delivery and the family environment have made us excited. We will keep us our hospitable services in coming days too. We hope to see you once again in Nepal & Hotel Mums Home.
Sincerely yours
Sudarshan Neupane
Hotel Mums Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    87
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
97
165
143
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Mums Home for 2 nights last week. The hotel staffs are extremely friendly. We were promised that there will be unlimited servings of tea and coffee. At first we quite sceptical about it. We thought the hotel will charge us after a few servings. However we were wrong, we had at least 10 servings of coffee/tea. The staffs never show any sign unhappiness in their face. The coffee and tea were very nice, infact better than most of the restaurant.

The rooms are big and the beds are comfortable. Kathmandu has regular 14hours of blackout everyday. However the hotel has a power generator that provide us power. The aircon really works unlike other hotels. The TV programs really keep us busy in the night.

Highly recommended for everyone who wants to have a comfortable stay in Kathmandu

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mingsiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest
what a way to review! We really appreciated your sweet words. Yes Hotel Mums home is different in the crowd of hotels & guest houses. Our principle is to make our guests happy and satisfied.
We want our guest enjoying their stay as in Mum's Home.

We hope you will come back Nepal again & stay Mums Home.

Sincerely yours
Sudarshan Neupane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here with 2 kids and elderly parents. Very friendly staff with nice rooms. Free tea / coffee throughout the day. Clean premises and provides pickup from airport. Very helpful for explaining areas around and places to visit.
Only negative is the approach road is very narrow - but was not a problem even for our 7 seater van which we had booked.
Overall a very comfortable and memorable stay for 3 nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Parag K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest
Namaste & season's greetings from Himalayas!
We would like to thank you so much for reviewing hotel Mums Home in such a unique way. We were proud to keep you in mums home & we are now glad to find you very happy staying in in Mums Home.
We will keep our type of service in coming days too. Please remember us in your next travel to Nepal as well.

Best Regards
Sudarshan Neupane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayong, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our experience with the hotel was excellent from the beginning to the end. Booking directly on the hotel website was really easy and considerably cheaper than booking through Agoda or Booking.com. No deposit was required and Mr. Sudarshan responded to our booking promptly. He also told us about the free airport pick-up. The pick-up came as told and everything was great. We were a bit surprised by the narrow alley that the hotel was located on, but we found out later that this fact made Hotel Mums home quiet and peaceful at all time despite the close proximity to Thamel shops.

We were welcomed with a warm greeting by a young, but very professional male receptionist who offered us greeting drinks. We asked him to exchange our big note with some small changes to tip the driver and he happily did so quickly. When we inquired about a trustworthy currency exchange bureau with good rates, he offered to exchange the money for us himself. To be honest, we were reluctant at first, but the rate he offered was better than at the airport, so we agreed. We later found that it was the best rate in all of Thamel!!! We had a meal as soon as we checked in, because we were starving. It was delicious then, because we were starving, but we tried it again and it was just all right. Plain and banana lassi though, were the best in Nepal! The same receptionist also helped us calling our trekking company (They didn't pick up and he had to call 3 different numbers, but he did not appear one bit agitated.) .

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, the night before and after our trek. When we left our luggage with them, they gave us a ticket that need to be present for luggage collection, so we were assured that it would be kept safe. We were in different types of rooms in our two night stays. The first one was without a balcony, but had the most beautiful Nepali decoration, beautiful wooden pillar bed and a naked brick wall. On our second stay, Mr. Sudarshan kindly gave us a free upgrade with a balcony. It was lovely and really spacious, which was great for our repacking after a trek, but to be honest, we liked the decoration of the first room better, it felt more unique and more Nepali (Sorry Mr. Sudarshan. We really appreciate the upgrade though.). The air con and the hot shower were great. For those who complain about electricity, you must understand that this is not the hotel's problem, but the problem of Nepal. We experienced some periods of blackout, of course, but being from a developing country myself, I am well aware that this can happen and when even the posh shopping mall in my country couldn't keep all shops well-lit during a blackout, I did not expect a small hotel in Nepal to be able to keep all air cons running with a generator. I'm really really picky about mattress because of my lower back pain, but the bed was so comfortable. I could not complain. I'm also so picky about pillows that I normally carry my own travelling pillow around, but pillows at Mums home were great, just as I like them to be. The room was also sparkly clean.

The free breakfast offers rather a limited choice of dishes, but you have to keep in mind that this is a hotel with 20 rooms not the Ritz! I think the selection was more than adequate and they all tasted great. I liked the potato dish, although it incorrectly says hash brown. My boyfriend and I had so much breakfast, maybe a bit too much. The chef inside the kitchen was keen to cook up eggs for us and we got them promptly. They were nice and each serving came with two eggs not just a single egg like at most hotels. The highlight though was the curd. We LOVE it !!!!! It was so good!!! You must try it!

The hotel also helped arrange a private car to the airport at a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: I like the decoration of the first room by the stair case, but if you like spacious room, pick the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Naffion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest
Namaste!
We like to say you thank you so much for your great words you expressed in review. "Every Thing Perfect" is the title of your review ! We feel great that you enjoy our room, location, staff, meals and entire services.
We promise to keep up our hospitable service in coming days!

With best Regards
Sudarshan Neupane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Recently stayed at Hotel Mums for two nights. As a solo female traveler, found it safe and comfortable. The staff is pleasant and helpful. My room was large with a comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. Food was okay, on the greasy end. Day tours were arranged with a private driver for a reasonable amount. However, I really wanted to get out of the city for a day or afternoon but was told it was not possible (too far). After chatting with other guests who had hired private tour companies, I learned it was possible. All in all, Hotel Mums is a good basic hotel.

Room Tip: Higher up is always quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Dorren
Thank you very much for your comments about Hotel Mums Home. It was our great pleasure to have you as our guest at Hotel Mums Home. Personally I was very delighted to meet you and talk. I was the one who suggested Heritage tour. In First Day you had very short time so I tried my best to explore cutural heritage. Second Day, you had only a full day but your expection was to be many places. You either could go Hilly side like Nagarkot or do World heritage sites such as Bhaktapur, Budhanath & pashupatinath. I also checked wether online but the weather was not fair so suggesting Nagarkot was not good as mountain views were not visiable so Bhaktapur was suggested instead. Honestly I did not say that it is impossible to go out of Valley as reviewed. I just wanted to suggest you the best option within your time frame & weather condition. I am so sorry about it and really regreated for not being able to make you satisfied. regarding food, I have already made meting with my kitchen staffs & suggest the kitchen team to improve the food quality.
Finally thanks you so much for speaking so highly about our room, hot shower & staff. As a senior of management I promise you to improve the quality so that you may feel it in your another visit.

Wish you a great Day!

Best regards
Sudarshan neupane
Hotel Mums Home
Kathmandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The hospitality and the cleanliness of the place is outstanding. The staffs are courteous in their behavior and made my parents feel very comfortable. They also helped them for Kathmandu's sight seeing and Pokhara trip. I would definitely recommend my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glamsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Bhaskar
Thank you so much for reviewing our property in such a great way! We were so happy to accommodate your family including parents at Hotel Mums Home. We have promised to make Hotel Mums Home " Truely A Mum's Home" away from home. Meeting your parent was our luck. They were wonderful people. It is really rewarding words from you that youre parents also liked the tour we suggested. We suggested the tour in which they could explored maximum they could in short time frame.We would like to see you in future at Mums Home and show you some best hidden tresures of art, culture & nature of Himalayan country Nepal.
Wish you and your family all the best.

Sincerely yours
Sudarshan Neupane
Hotel Mums Home
Kathmandu
Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Probably the most comfortable bed I slept in Nepal. Great service with coffee and tea offered every time you arrive at the hotel. They also offer nice breakfast buffet in the morning. I'm not a big fan of Thamel but Hotel Mums staffs did a good job with their hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Van007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest
Good morning! We are so excited after reading your review about Hotel Mums Home. It is true that many travellers think Thamel is noisy place as there are several dance bar, clubs, live music & bars. In spite of these, there is a hotel named " Hotel Mums Home " where people can sleep so well being away from hostle -bostle . Your review has made traveller to re think about Thamel & encourage to go Thamel, the great oasis of Kathmandu.

Thanks a lot for several great words about hotel Mums Home. We just promise to keep our hospitable service for ever. We will make correction if there is any insufficinecy in service in coming days so that you may feel even better & homely staying at Musm Home in your another visit.

With best regards
Sudarshan Neupane
Hotel Mums Home
Kathmandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#9 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#6 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd

Property: Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Address: Chhusya Galli, Jyatha, Thamel | next to Kantipur Temple house, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mums Home, a comfortable, safe & peaceful hotel situated in the heart of Kathmandu, Thamel. Located in prime tourist location in the capital of Nepal, Hotel Mums Home runs with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. Just drop into our reception—we take it into our own hands to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing