We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly and very accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Ranked #8 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family friendly and very accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Staying here has been a great experience from the initial booking process. The room is lovely, we stayed in a two room family room as we are travelling with two children. Room is very spacious and clean, there is constant hot water, and nothing is a problem for the staff. The breakfast is perfect for kids, they can fill up on healthy and tasty food before going out for the day. The staff are super friendly and will assist with anything. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Latimalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Sweet Family
Thanks a lot for your great review for Hotel Mums Home. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with your children at Hotel Mums Home. It is such a great message for us that hospitality is most important for operating hotels. We feel proud & keep it up! We hope to see you again in your second visit to nepal.

Sincerely yours
Sudarshan neupane
Hotel mums Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    89
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
168
144
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent ten days at Mum's Home and enjoyed it thoroughly. The hospitality was unsurpassed. Jeevan and his entire staff are the soul of kindness and conviviality. Jeevan will arrange a trek, site seeing, shopping, shipping your shopping, spa experience, whatever you like he can accommodate.

If you are looking for posh look elsewhere but if you want safe, clean, and affordable look no further. Breakfast is included and while predictable it was consistently tasty. The wait staff were always attentive and ready to refill your cup as soon as it was low.

We highly recommend this hotel to the budget conscious traveler.

Mum's Home is within walking distance of all the attractions in Thamel. Be sure to have a glass of wine or a coffee in the Garden of Dreams. Kilroy's, Roadhouse Cafe, La Dolce Vita, K-too Steakhouse and Yin Yang Thai restaurants in Thamel are all worth a go for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you're not into climbing stairs as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crocketk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for giving us such sweet words as present via your review. Yes we at Hotel Mums home are dedicated to make our guest feeling like being at Mums Home with great service , cleanliness, respect to guest & your safety. Safety, reliability and hospitality are three jewels of Hotel Mums Home. These are our spirit too. We promise to keep it up in the days to come.

Sincerely yours
Sudarshan Neupane
Hotel mums Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

What a great name? Hotel Mums home is true to its name. I start my review from here. At Kathmandu Airport I was welcomed by hotel representative with Bunch of flower. The car was really luxurious & as soon as I arrived in Hotel welcome drink was offered. The room was excellent. Hotel Mums home has really large room with a lot of facilities. The bed was very comfortable supper Spring mattress. Bed, blanket & towels were really clean. Room had 32 inches led multi-channel T.V, dressing table with hair dryer, Iron etc. It is possible to make your own tea/coffee as tea/coffee maker was available. Our room ( Room Number 202) also had mini bar so it was perfect for us. Our room had Air condition with heating & cooling options. The bath room is really huge, clean with rain shower, bath tub & western toilet. We had hot any time & the water was really clean.
What made me really impressive is that Hotel Mums home provided Tea/coffee in Lobby & restaurant any time for free of cost! It is not a matter of money but the level of quality they are delivering to clients. Breakfast includes more than 15 different courses which was yummy !
I will definitely use Hotel Mums Home in my next visit to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cool2nakul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for reviewing hotel Mums Home. We are very glad to have you as our guest. We trust in hard work and believe that Guest is god. We are still learning and improving day by day. You will find even better service in your next visit.

Sudarshan & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel mums home was my favorite on our three week vacation. Cannot say enough about how nice and helpful the staff here is. They arranged a long day hike and our bus trip (17 hours!) to Karkarbhitta on the India border to get to Darjeeling. Gave us a free ride to the bus and then stayed around to make sure we got on the right one--that is great service in a place that can be very confusing.
The rooms were large, we had the one with two twin beds. Comfortable linens and bathroom was just fine with hot water and good shower pressure. Fill your water bottle for free downstairs on your way out for the day, and you're good to go! Saw a review that thought it was kinda shady it being down a small alley-- no worries, it's very secure and there's even a guard at night out front of the locked gate who lets you in after hours.
Food is plentiful for breakfast and cooked to order-Indian, Western, whatever you want.
Really enjoyed just sitting downstairs hanging with the staff and the others that congregate in the lobby. Saw Nepal cricket team win a match on TV while the staff cheered them on.
Can't recommend this place enough--no need to look elsewhere!
Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pozdowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer
Namaste & Greetings from Kathmandu!

Thanks alot for your precious time and words that you spent to review hotel Mums Home. As you reviewed hotel Mums Home is only hotel in peaceful location ( A way from Dance bar, club,live band) but every thing is a minute walk from us. We are glad that you enjoy our place and you wrote that in your review so that other people may know about us. We like to thank you so much once again.

Best regards
Sudarshan & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedzin, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Very nice rooms, hotel is really clean, food delicious, and all personal stuff really helpful. It is a place when you can relax after busy day of sightseeing. I definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danuta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer & valued Guest

Thanks for your wonderful review on our property hotel Mums Home. We highly appreciated your great review and more than that we are so happy to know from you review that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were lucky to have you as our guest and hope to see you again in nepal in future.

Sincerely yours
Sudarshan Neupane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

and it is here.

Upon arrival you are immediately made to feel both welcome and as guests. You get a complimentary drink and the Wifi Password while your passports are processed.

The rooms are amazing. Big solid and comfy beds, with nice clean bathrooms with hot showers. The small tv is a bonus as well. They are also pretty big so when you empty your bags you dont feel like living in clutter.

The breakfast is top notch and they have a young guy who keeps everything running smoothly. Omlettes are still the best I have had in Asia.

Wifi works brilliantly, you can facetime / skype from 4th floor even.

They sorted us out cabs as well which was great.

All in all this was a great place to stay.


Tips: The alley that leads to the main street is a bit dark and there is some construction work nearby so bring a torch.

For Laundry there is a shop called (of all things) Everest Shop that does it in bulk nearby.

Room Tip: Stairs due to no lifts so choose carefully (especially if going trekking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnRoseJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guests
We have no words to express our gratitude & several thanks are not enough for your great review on our property hotel Mums Home. We felt so proud to have you as our guest at Mums Home. It is really good that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope in your next visit, you will be with us too. We promise to deliver our service with best hospitality.

Sincerely yours
Sudarshan Neupane
Hotel Mums Home
Kathmandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed for two nights at this hotel ..The speciality of this hotel is its at such a quiet location ...So , we didn't have to look out for some other place away from thamel ..Tea and coffee were offered throughout day ...Anytime you wish you can have tea or coffee ..Staff is so hospitable , friendly and courteous ....Since the hotel is newly built , everything is so new ...Wi-Fi is accessible even in room ...Highly recommended ...

Room Tip: Loved to stay at top floor ..as I feel top floors are more calm and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vimmy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Reviwers & respective guests

Mums Home is very glad to see you great reviews. Yes It is the best awards for us to get such a feedback from our guests. When Our guest enjoy our place we feel proud & encourage us to deliver even better service with unique hospitality. We hope to see you & serve you again in you next visit in nepal. Wish you all the best
Sincerley yours
Sudarshan Neupane
Hotel Mums Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#7 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#13 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#3 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd

Property: Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Address: Chhusya Galli, Jyatha, Thamel | next to Kantipur Temple house, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mums Home, a comfortable, safe & peaceful hotel situated in the heart of Kathmandu, Thamel. Located in prime tourist location in the capital of Nepal, Hotel Mums Home runs with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. Just drop into our reception—we take it into our own hands to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing