We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a comfortable place to stay in Kathandu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Ranked #8 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
North Luffenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a comfortable place to stay in Kathandu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel has just opened (November 2013 ) and is luxury, moreover the staff cannot do enough for you so enjoy some real comfort, excellent western style facilities before and after you trek. It is well sited in the centre of Thamel but you will need some good instructions to find it as it is hidden in a back street off the main drag with the Rumdoodle restaurant on (only 5 mins walk from there) but well worth finding. The owner runs very well organised and good value treks to wherever you want for small and large parties . My friend has used them for 5 yrs, and we went for the first time this year and really enjoyed the guide's company and highly rated his expertise. Sudershan, thanks very much for everything, from Brian and Sue

Room Tip: No tip needed every room is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Braine & sue
Thanks for your great review. Hotel mums home(P) ltd is glad to have you as our guest. It is our great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel Mums Home is delivering true hospitality to our clients & we promise to keep continue our high level service quality by improving on services & amenities in coming days. We believe that your next visit to Nepal & your stay in Hotel Mums home will be even more enjoyable, comfortable & homely.
Thanks once again for your reviews.

Thanks
Sudarshan Neupane
Hotel Mums Home(P) Ltd, Kathmandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    89
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
168
144
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

A friendly hotel reasonably priced. Hot water, clean rooms, all utilities work. Room lights are not bright enough for reading. Food is acceptable, needs improvement. Staff members and owners are very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dulalpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Manager at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Dulal
Thank you very much for your review of Mums home. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We already improve all the point you had mentioned on your review. We assure all our upcoming clients that we will always do our best for peaceful and comfortable stay. We would again like to welcome Mr. Dulal to Mums home and feel the differences. Once again thank you for the review.
Jeevan and team of the Mums home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is merely 2 months old. Quiet, but very convenient. I was at another hotel around the corner where it was rather filthy and being highly sensitive to dust, this placed proved to be the opposite. Clean, with the best service I've encountered in all of Nepal! The place is even heated!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Manager at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you very much for your review of Mums home. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We assure you that we will always do our best for all our clients stay peaceful and comfortable with mums home. We would again like to welcome you in to Mums home. Once again thank you for the review.
Jeevan and team of the Mums home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

My brother and I stayed here by accident on our way in to Nepal. We originally booked at Friend's Home, a hotel by the same owners, via Agoda, but Agoda overbooked us. Not a problem at all, the kind staff of Friend's Home immediately arranged for a room in their new hotel Mum's Home, just around the corner. An excellent place to stay! We were so happy with the clean room, nice hot shower and super friendly staff, that it was an easy choice for us where we would stay on our way out of Nepal. We called Mum's Home from Pokhara and arranged an airport pick up. They were waiting for us at the gate. At the hotel we were welcomed by the lovely staff, got complimentary coffee and tea, an other beautiful room and felt right at home again.
We recommend Mum's Home to everyone. As the other comments say: friendly, clean, quiet (amidst busy Thamel), good big yummy breakfast, wifi, HBO and other movie channels and everything else you could wish for!

Room Tip: On our first stay we had a room on the first floor (101) which was already really nice. But the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Manager at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very happy to know that you had memorable stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients, Mums home promise to deliver quality service to all our guest in coming days as well. We would like to thank you for your great review of our property. We hope to welcome you again. Jeeven and team of Mums home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

My best hotel experience in Kathmandu. Manager and staff doing their for you to have nice stay. In the hearth of Thamel but not noisy place you find Mums Home. The included breakfast is with everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Manager at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Peter
It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very happy to know that you had memorable stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients, Mums home promise to deliver quality service to all our guest in coming days as well. We would like to thank you for your great review of our property. We hope to welcome you again. Jeeven and team of Mums home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I will stay here again when I come back to Nepal! The location is very good, in the heart of Thamel, shopping district of Kathmandu. I came here on a holiday, and have so far have had a fantastic time! The staff are very accommodating, the rooms are clean, there is strong wifi everywhere in the hotel. Tea and coffee always available, always free. Breakfast and meals are very good - no need to go to any other restaurants outside! Can't wait to come back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank vicmanlapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Manager at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear victor
It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very happy to know that you had memorable stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients, Mums home promise to deliver quality service to all our guest in coming days as well. We would like to thank you for your great review of our property. We hope to welcome you again. Jeeven and team of Mums home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I too stayed in this wonderful hotel after my Manaslu Trek. I cannot extol it's virtues high enough. Free drinks in reception, free internet and the the staff were so warm and welcoming. The room was beyond what I expected and plenty of hot water. The menu choice excellent and lovely fresh fruit etc. for breakfast. I will certainly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.
Morag Roberts

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StamfordRags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumshome, Manager at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Valuable guest.
Thank you for your great review of Mums home. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us, we will always do our best for our clients stay peaceful and comfortable. we hope to welcome you again in Mums home.
Jeevan and team of Mums home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#7 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#13 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#3 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd

Property: Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Address: Chhusya Galli, Jyatha, Thamel | next to Kantipur Temple house, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mums Home, a comfortable, safe & peaceful hotel situated in the heart of Kathmandu, Thamel. Located in prime tourist location in the capital of Nepal, Hotel Mums Home runs with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. Just drop into our reception—we take it into our own hands to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing