We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun!!”

Purple Haze - Rock Bar
Ranked #45 of 1,127 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great bands and a lively crowd makes this a must place to visit in Thamel! Reasonably priced drinks and great security keeps the evening enjoyable.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank phillipsp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 185 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2019

We are longstanding Downloaders; Purple Haze was recommended to us. We were a little sceptical that it would be any good; we envisioned a mainstream karaoke bar. We couldn't have been more wrong! There were two bands who played a variety of songs some unknown, but many great covers including SOAD, Rage Against the Machine, Nirvana, etc. The clientele were virtually all locals who really enjoyed their music and my husband and I were accepted with enthusiasm by the headbangers on the dance floor. Highly recommended, table service was excellent too.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 3498Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

This place is crazy & super-awesome for party people. A fun rock bar to enjoy the night life there! The band was rocking & had so much fun there! Strongly recommended!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ClementineBlossoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

Haven’t had a rock night out like this if everrrr!!! Wow, one of my fav places in Kathmandu. Fantastic band!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank carma007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

If you are in Kathmandu and you are rock music freak then purple Haze at the heart of Kathmandu i.e thamel is a place to visit. Weekends are very crowded in this place but rock bar in crowded environment is even more awesome grab a bottle of beer and taste the live rock music.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank agpunkisalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Haze - Rock Bar also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Purple Haze - Rock Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing