We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a walk in thamel... and end up in Jatra”
Review of Jatra cafe & Bar

Jatra cafe & Bar
Ranked #66 of 762 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Indian, Italian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Jatra has been in business for more than a 12 years. The word jatra in Nepali language literally means carnival or festival. Likewise we have tried to incorporate all of this in our restaurant from food, decor and service. Our establishment core clients are locals from all walks of life so for tourist its an excellent place to catch up and be informed on the local scene. Our menu, as mentioned is mixed cuisines. Local appetizer being the predominant items then followed by our selections of grill, steak and few Indian food. We have also hosted lot of musical shows featuring local talents as well as international artist. We look forward to have you blend in and enjoy jatra experience.
kathmandu
1 review
“a walk in thamel... and end up in Jatra”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I've been going to Jatra from the time it was opened in Paknajol. Since then I have always loved the food... when we go with friends... we start off with their special sukuti which is our favorite.... love the hospitality... and of course great selection of music.... but I miss the live band they used to have with wonderful reggie, blues and jazz music... wish they could bring it back.... and of course..... a walk in thamel and end up in Jatra is what I do and prefer...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, null, Nepal
1 review
“Oasis”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Its an oasis in the middle of chaotic Thamel where you can unwind yourself with cool drinks and great food. Must try is the Sukuti Ko Achar (Spicy Local Snack) a local delicacy. Excellent service, great ambiance and fantastic food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunjlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathmandu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet cozy place just a step away from thamel's busy street...”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have been going to this place for more than 12 years and don't seem to get enough of it....great ambiance, people, food, music, laid-back relaxing atmosphere.... love the fried pork and the green pepper steak....must try their signature sukuti pizza....and yeah...parking space (in the middle of thamel?)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaxon445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jatra Cafe & Bar, Thamel”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have been travelling to Kathmandu for over a decade, and Jatra continues to be my favourite restaurant. It's earthy ambience, finger licking good food and friendly service makes me a regular. I have hung out there with both my close friends and business associates. Arun Anand, Delhi

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arun A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
1 review
“Tune in to some good vibes and great music at Jatra!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Tucked away in one of Thamel's more authentic courtyards, the cooly shaded bar & restaurant is a true oasis smack in the middle of the hectic city centre. If you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist-flooded streets, look no further. Whether you want to enjoy a delicious and genuine Nepali snack or have a beer and a chat with some of the local cool cats, this is the place to be!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rokchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jatra cafe & Bar also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu Valley, Bagmati Zone
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Jatra cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing