We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thakur and Kapila will welcome you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eco Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eco Homestay
Ranked #102 of 432 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Thakur and Kapila will welcome you!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is the place. I came into Kathmandu with a recent knee injury and depressed that I couldn't trek. Not only did I have a fabulous experience with Thakur and Kapila at their home, but Thakur set me up with a jeep tour of Langtang National Park. Had I more time, I could have traveled to Muktinath by jeep! Thakur knows Nepal and Kapila knows how to cook!! Don't think you have to settle for a mountain flight to experience the Himalayas if you are unable to trek. Just contact Thakur Pandey and he can set you up! And Thakur and Kamila's home is a great escape from the madness of Thamel. The room was large with windows on three sides looking out on a garden. Attached bath hot water and GREAT dal ghat. Enjoy!!! Russell D.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I thank Thakur for the allowing my partner and I to stay in their lovely homestay, after 12 hour bus journey we needed some peace and quite and was made to feel very welcome by the whole family and not to mension the best dal bhat we had had the whole trip cooking for us by Thakurs charming wife. The location is very handy inbetween the monkey temple and Thamel but very peaceful which can be hard to find in Kathmandu.

Highly recommended home stay.

I hope to return to Nepal one day and will be staying with the family Thakur, if there any room?

Thank You to the whole famliy....


Russ and Laura

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have stayed at Thakur and Kapila Pandey's Eco Homestay in October 2013. It is situated in a quiet area outside of the noisy center.The house is surrounded by a lovely garden, which invites for relaxing after a busy day.The room is spacious, very neat and clean and has an attached bathroom.They cared so lovely for me, I felt very comfortable and I've got the most delicious Dal Bhat there.You have to try Kapila's different types of pickels, I almost couldn't stop eating.Their service is excellent in all regards.I'm looking forward to come back again!

Franziska F. , Switzerland

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franziska F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Here is clean and comfortable. It give me and my wife a happy and memorable experience and a nice home-like feeling. Their food is traditional and good taste. We still remember that when we come back Hong Kong.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscarwwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I've known the family of Thakur and Kopila since my first trip to Nepal, five years ago. Now that they have established a really cosy homestay, I would recommend everyone to stay there while they are in Kathmandu: it is in a quiet and clean neighborhood but still close to the center (and tourist attractions, only a 20min walk to Monkey Temple) and it is so nice to stay with a family instead of in a impersonal hotel in Thamel. It is also great to have a place to come home to after being on trekking or in between trekking and other visits. Let's not forget about the food: i've eaten so many different styles of dal bhat but the one that Kopila makes is still the best!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,044 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Homestay

Property: Eco Homestay
Address: Banasthali, Balaju, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Homestay Nepal is one of the best homestays located in a peaceful location of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eco Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing