We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Potala Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$99
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$26
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$46
$44
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
$342
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
60
69
25
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
69
25
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomsfree wifigreat showertrekking companyday treksmall gardenthamel areawifi worksfirst floorstreet noiserooms are clean and comfortableenjoyed my staymin walkexcellent locationhot waterexcellent stayconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 167 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2017

As other reviewers have said, Potala Guest House is right in the centre of Thamel but it manages to be an oasis from the street noise and even the polluted air pervading Thamel because the rooms are set far from the streets and around a small garden. The staff were very helpful and showed me their rooms (standard and deluxe). While the deluxe rooms are double the price of the standard rooms (which were decent), they are far superior - very spacious, newly and tastefully furnished, and great value. The hotel also has free pickup service from the airport if you call them in advance, which is not only a bonus but saves you from haggling with the chaos of getting a taxi at the Kathmandu airport. I only stayed for one night but would choose to stay there again in the future. The only downsides were that it took a while for the water to warm up (which was the case for most hotels in Kathmandu), and that the wifi was not terribly fast.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe rooms
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2017

Sincerely thanking you for your kind feedback & overall observation of our Potala Guest House which is very potential for our new traveler’s. We have noted your experience regarding slow internet and delay in getting of hot water.
We are addressing the same & putting your feedback on top list, now have installed a new (heat pump technology) for hot water, which I believe will resolve delay in getting hot water. Well we always looking forward to receive such a feedback which will be helpful to improve our guest satisfactory motive.
We look forward having you back with us with the assurance of your another great stay.
Sincerely,
Potala Management.
Rinjen lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed there for 5 nights total (2 nights before EBC trekking and 3 nights after). We had a very nice and comfortable stay. Hotel has recently been renovated and now has a restaurant on the first floor, serving full breakfast (among other things). The staff was very nice, helpful, and accommodating with anything we needed. The hotel is located in the center of town within walking distance from shops, restaurants, king palace, banks, money exchange (next door), and many hiking equipment and souvenir stores. Taxis are also available right in the front.
Our room was not super luxurious but very comfortable and cleaning with a great shower. One of the great aspects of the hotel is that on each floor, unlimited filtered water is provided free of charge.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Ahmad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Sincerely thanking you, for giving your precious time to input your stay with us.
It is truly motivating as well as rewarding to receive such a kind word of appreciation.
Your entire explanation about our staffs, overall facility & surrounding's will be very helpful for new travelers as well.
your feedback will be shared with our entire team & we look forward having you back with us with the assurance of your another great stay.
Sincerely,
Potala Management.
Rinjen lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016

i was surprised to see the rooms which are large enough with cozy decor. welcoming bathroom and spotless linen. the front desk is warm and friendly. good wifi. overall well maintained property. i will go again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monikkaagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2016

Greetings from Potala Guest House,
We Potala Team are always pleased to receive such a kind work of appreciation. thank you once again for your observations of our newly renovated Deluxe room's and sincerely appreciate your feedback.
Our entire team at Potala guest house look forward having you back with us and assure you of another great stay.
Sincerely,
Potala Management.
Rinjen lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2016

A very nice budget hotel situated in the most happening place of Kathmandu (Thamel). Nice cozy rooms. Not great outside view as such but the location of the hotel considering the locality and the price is amazing.
Thamel main market is 2 min walk. You find a lot of trekking equipment shops. All restaurants and pubs are within walkable distance.
Staff are very polite. They have a locker facility if you are going on a trek and leave some stuffs behind.
I would definitely recommend for friends or family visiting Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djbmsce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Greetings from Potala Guest House
It was our pleasure to have you with us during your visit to Kathmandu.
it is truly motivating when guest recognizes our team's effort. It is a feedback which helps us to continuously improve our guest satisfactory motive. thank you once again for your observations and sincerely appreciate your feedback.
Our entire team at Potala guest house look forward having you back with us and assure you of another great stay.
Sincerely,
Potala Management.
Rinjen lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was rather large and the rooms pretty modern. There was a problem with my booking but it was corrected satisfactorily. The rooms are clean and comfortable and large.

There is a garden area to relax and away from the street so that the noise in Thamel is softened.

There is an adjoining restaurant and bar that was great for an afternoon snack and beer as well as breakfast.

The staff were friendly and courteous as well as assisted with any questions.

Great value and I would stay again.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam.
Thank you very much for your sincere feedback, and overall observation. we wore pleased to rectify the issue regarding the booking.
we look forward to have you back with us, with the assurance of another great stay.
Thanking you.
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews