We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Potala Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$155
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$56
$41
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$46
$43
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
$342
$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
61
69
25
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
69
25
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomsfree wifigreat showertrekking companyday treksmall gardenthamel areawifi worksfirst floorstreet noiserooms are clean and comfortableenjoyed my staymin walkexcellent locationhot waterexcellent stayconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 168 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed there for 5 nights total (2 nights before EBC trekking and 3 nights after). We had a very nice and comfortable stay. Hotel has recently been renovated and now has a restaurant on the first floor, serving full breakfast (among other things). The staff was very nice, helpful, and accommodating with anything we needed. The hotel is located in the center of town within walking distance from shops, restaurants, king palace, banks, money exchange (next door), and many hiking equipment and souvenir stores. Taxis are also available right in the front.
Our room was not super luxurious but very comfortable and cleaning with a great shower. One of the great aspects of the hotel is that on each floor, unlimited filtered water is provided free of charge.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Ahmad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Sincerely thanking you, for giving your precious time to input your stay with us.
It is truly motivating as well as rewarding to receive such a kind word of appreciation.
Your entire explanation about our staffs, overall facility & surrounding's will be very helpful for new travelers as well.
your feedback will be shared with our entire team & we look forward having you back with us with the assurance of your another great stay.
Sincerely,
Potala Management.
Rinjen lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016

i was surprised to see the rooms which are large enough with cozy decor. welcoming bathroom and spotless linen. the front desk is warm and friendly. good wifi. overall well maintained property. i will go again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monikkaagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2016

Greetings from Potala Guest House,
We Potala Team are always pleased to receive such a kind work of appreciation. thank you once again for your observations of our newly renovated Deluxe room's and sincerely appreciate your feedback.
Our entire team at Potala guest house look forward having you back with us and assure you of another great stay.
Sincerely,
Potala Management.
Rinjen lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2016

A very nice budget hotel situated in the most happening place of Kathmandu (Thamel). Nice cozy rooms. Not great outside view as such but the location of the hotel considering the locality and the price is amazing.
Thamel main market is 2 min walk. You find a lot of trekking equipment shops. All restaurants and pubs are within walkable distance.
Staff are very polite. They have a locker facility if you are going on a trek and leave some stuffs behind.
I would definitely recommend for friends or family visiting Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djbmsce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Greetings from Potala Guest House
It was our pleasure to have you with us during your visit to Kathmandu.
it is truly motivating when guest recognizes our team's effort. It is a feedback which helps us to continuously improve our guest satisfactory motive. thank you once again for your observations and sincerely appreciate your feedback.
Our entire team at Potala guest house look forward having you back with us and assure you of another great stay.
Sincerely,
Potala Management.
Rinjen lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was rather large and the rooms pretty modern. There was a problem with my booking but it was corrected satisfactorily. The rooms are clean and comfortable and large.

There is a garden area to relax and away from the street so that the noise in Thamel is softened.

There is an adjoining restaurant and bar that was great for an afternoon snack and beer as well as breakfast.

The staff were friendly and courteous as well as assisted with any questions.

Great value and I would stay again.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam.
Thank you very much for your sincere feedback, and overall observation. we wore pleased to rectify the issue regarding the booking.
we look forward to have you back with us, with the assurance of another great stay.
Thanking you.
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Stopped here for a couple of nights. We know the place from previous visit, now it was disappointing: grey towels, stained linens, leaks in bathroom etc. For 25$ a night you can get better stay in Kathmandu. On the positive side - the staff is always there to help when possible.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,
We are really sorry to know about your experience with us during your recent visit, while we were on renovation Phase.
Well we always respect our customers feedback & feedback like yours really helps us to improve our guest satisfactory motive.
Once again, sincerely apology for inconvenience caused & it will be our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you with our newly renovated Potala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews