We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful. Smart. Patient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpful. Smart. Patient.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good to stay here. Also for travel-scared people: dependable (free if stay more than x days) pickup, fair prices, you can safely eat their momo's ;-)

Location very helpful for walking around and they help you get trips outside KTM if you want

Shower is very hot. Beds not extremely soft but to me that was no problem.

Nights amazingly quiet especially given location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisReidsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    78
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
72
82
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

It was a bit of an experiment to stay in a guest house in Kathmandu. We were not sure if an 'upgrade' of the accommodation would be required once we check in. But it actually was quite all right. Our room was big and clean (not modern, but this could hardly be expected). We got a room on a top floor next to the terrace. Staff was friendly and location was excellent. We stayed for 3 nights and didn't regret it. Beds are on a hard side, but that proved to be common for Nepal.

Room Tip: Book a room on a top floor next to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in July and some of my friends stayed a little longer. At first everything seemed ok; the staff were very friendly in typical Nepali style and it was a good (but not brilliant) location in Thamel. The rooms were basic but roomy (what can you expect for about $5 per person per night) and there was a nice roof terrace. Hot water and seemed pretty clean. There was however an overwhelming sense of damp, but I figured this was just Nepali monsoon season. But after I left some of my friends were bitten alive by bed bugs and then found a dead mouse in their bathroom.. so we swiftly moved to another hotel. Shame but had to be done.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool I can't seem to unclick it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesca_hall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at the Madhuban Guest House for 6 nights last month (August 2012) and what a great place. Location is brilliant for local walks and exploration of the local culture, as well as a practical hub for access to locations that require travel – bus station is close by. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, always have time for their guests and they have that gift we call a smile. Guest house has a food menu and what is served is of good quality and tastes good. Rooms are big and comfortable and the guest house has a back-up generator to cover the power cuts – this is Thamel, Kathmandu. Guest house has wi-fi for those of you who can’t live without it . Tap water is ok for showers, but don’t brush your teeth or gargle with it – again this is Thamel, Kathmandu. In summary, if you are in town I would recommend you stay at the Madhuban.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Groggerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Madhuban Guest House not only has the advantage of being in Thamel and pretty close to everything, but the staff there is very friendly and always willing to help. The rooms are pretty big and the place is very clean.

Mr. Tarun Kumar was very understanding of our needs, and went as far as calling a restaurant and ask for directions for us. He also arranged the Trekking in Annapurna for us, starting in Pokhara, with guide, accommodation and food included, so it was all very easy for us. The guide provided was also incredibly nice and really good at massages :)

The main point is, that the staff here is always willing to help and very careful with their guests and their needs and we had a wonderful time there. If we ever come back to Nepal, there is no doubt that this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oanalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Madhuban Guest House for 6 nights last month (August 2012), and our first visit to a type of country we have never had experience of was made leisurely and enjoyable due to the knowledge and help of the staff. Whatever we wanted to do, they were able to arrange, and also gave us advice on places, how long it would take to get there by foot or transport. On the first night I had forgotten to buy water for the room and woke during the night parched and dying for some water - I phoned reception, and even though it was early hours of the morning somebody bought me water immediately. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieFaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Kathmandu Madhuban Guest house for 2 nights before travelling to other cities like Lumbini & Pokkara on our 10 days trip around Nepal. There are several good things to stay at this Guest house : (1) the room is quite big & have good daylight, as window of the room is very large, especially the one on the rooftop, with very good view (2) The room also clean and not much noise, it has all basic facilities for your stay such as comfort bed, chair & table, hot water,...etc.. (3) The Guest house have very good location, it is close to Thamel & we can walk to Dubar Square in less than 15 minutes (4) The staff is very friendly & helpfull, they can give guidance and recommendation to you whenvever you need help. (5) The room rate is good as well.
However, during the time we stayed there, tap-water is really terrible : it is muddy & nasty smelling. The Guest House manager has explained to us it is due to raining season, and filter system doesn't work.We do not know this matter only happend at this time or the year-round. So if you are facing with similar issue like this, let's do the same like us : buy a lot of bottle water for brush the teeth & have bathing !!!

Room Tip: Please check tap-water on the day you arrive to make sure it is clean & no bad smelling
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngocanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 198 in Kathmandu
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andes House
Andes House
#3 of 134 in Kathmandu
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Famous House Kathmandu Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House
Address: Pakanajol Road | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House is located in Chhetrapati on the outskirts of Thamel. Our location is ideal to experience the convienence of Thamel while you can still avoid the high traffic, touts and noisy streets of Kathmandu. Our rooms are spacious and tidy. Each room provides an attached bathroom, supplied with 24 hour hot water, wireless internet and cable television. On our rooftop balcony, one can enjoy a drink or a meal with a view of Kathmandu or simply take it inside with our complimentary room service. Our well informed and experienced staff can provide any information to help you navigate in Nepal. Whether you ask for a restaurant suggestion or help in planning your dream trek through the Himalayas, our experienced employees will find the solution for you. Within ten minutes of walk from our guesthouse, you can reach many of the famous attractions of Kathmandu including; Swayambhunath (the monkey temple), the Royal Palace Museum, and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Also, within Thamel/ Chhetrapati one can easily find a generous selection of restaurants, travel information offices and a plethora of shopping options. Be assured that your comfort and satisfaction is of the greatest importance to us. You will always find a safe, clean and peaceful night's sleep at Kathmandu Madhuban Guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing