We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nepali Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Nepali Hotel.”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have stayed six times and each time was good. Some of the rooms are enormous!
The friendly and helpful staff were some of the best I have come across . It is a good location, on the edge of Thamel, and a short walk to all you want to see in Old Kathmandu. A good restaurant, I/net downstairs, and seconds away from "local" shops and eateries. AND, the price is very reasonable (aka Cheap).. No hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Some have balconies, some have views, some are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    77
    21
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
72
82
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

It was my first hotel in my life that managed all my trip hassel free. They are excellent in mnaging in accomodation include transporter. and also they advice the trip like any thing. we can not express in word. it looks like that we are not other. it feels that they are our family. They will not leave any single stone in welcoming you.

Room Tip: Large room with extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vimal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Recently stayed at Madhuban before and after a trek to Kachenjunga. Well run, delicious food , roof top garden, friendly relaxed staff and very reasonably priced. Could not ask for more and look forward to coming back. Chris Tulip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The staff at the guest house were very helpful. They arranged all my trips and I felt very satisfied with their efforts. They also offer a better rate on foreign exchange than the exchangers in the city. For the money, this was a good place to stay. It's very central to most places in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Kathamndu Madhuban Guest House is away from the center of Thamel, which is mostly a good thing. The beds are comfortable, food delicious and bathrooms are spotless with lots of hot water. The roof top garden is a haven in the middle of chaotic Kathmandu. Very good rooftop .
The best part about this hotel is the that Manager Laxman can help you lot Information If you are going to Nepal for thinking and Tours …. This is the place to be…. And Laxman is the man to talk .

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Satomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Management is very coopertive and the hotel staff very helful. Reasonable price and facilities.Stayed for two nights and the Hotel owner Mr.Tarun orgainised my tour for two dyas in a very planned way.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venu Madhava r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hotel is what you'd expect <$10 per night. Uncomfortable beds, hard pillows, questionable cleanliness. 

What you wouldn't expect is the water to smell of rust, almost brown (once white) towels, a surly manager who took his bat and ball home when we didn't book a tour through him. He couldn't offer what we wanted so we went elsewhere. After that everything was an effort, even paying him was a torrid affair. 

Pro's: Good rooftop area, and it's close to Thamel, the breakfast is simple. 

Overall, the hotel is tired and needs some attention. The owner needs to grow up. 

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mantles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear sir,
Thank you for your review but at the same time I am surprised that who might have accused you saying himself as a owner as because the owner of the Guest House does not live in Kathmandu and have authorized the whole management to me. I am sorry that he have lied to you but it would be great if I can get his name so that I can take required action on him who might be the hotel staff or someone from other travel company. So can you please kindly give me the name.
For the water - it is the underground water which is ironed, now we have kept a filter to minimize the smell and refine the color.
For pillow- It was hard for few bedrooms and by now we have changed all the pillows with the soft ones.
I would extremely like to feel sorry for what had happened. I hope you can understand.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 198 in Kathmandu
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#51 of 198 in Kathmandu
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andes House
Andes House
#2 of 134 in Kathmandu
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Famous House Kathmandu Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House
Address: Pakanajol Road | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House is located in Chhetrapati on the outskirts of Thamel. Our location is ideal to experience the convienence of Thamel while you can still avoid the high traffic, touts and noisy streets of Kathmandu. Our rooms are spacious and tidy. Each room provides an attached bathroom, supplied with 24 hour hot water, wireless internet and cable television. On our rooftop balcony, one can enjoy a drink or a meal with a view of Kathmandu or simply take it inside with our complimentary room service. Our well informed and experienced staff can provide any information to help you navigate in Nepal. Whether you ask for a restaurant suggestion or help in planning your dream trek through the Himalayas, our experienced employees will find the solution for you. Within ten minutes of walk from our guesthouse, you can reach many of the famous attractions of Kathmandu including; Swayambhunath (the monkey temple), the Royal Palace Museum, and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Also, within Thamel/ Chhetrapati one can easily find a generous selection of restaurants, travel information offices and a plethora of shopping options. Be assured that your comfort and satisfaction is of the greatest importance to us. You will always find a safe, clean and peaceful night's sleep at Kathmandu Madhuban Guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing