We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with awesome courtyard & breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
International Guest House
Ranked #65 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with awesome courtyard & breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I've stayed here in 2 separate trips in a double and a triple. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff are welcoming and accommodating. Wi-fi is spotty on top floors but fine in lounge. Generator ensures power during load shedding. Gated hotel so feels safe. My other favorite parts of this hotel:

-Free pickup from airport
-Great breakfast spread included in room rate
-Affordable price
-Beautiful courtyard and lounge
-Location is slightly outside Thamel, so you can avoid the crazy tourist scene but still be close enough to walk to

Room Tip: Triple on fourth floor is great for large group
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangerousoptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    148
    49
    27
    7
See reviews for
43
94
57
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I am a teacher who recently traveled to Nepal with 15 of my students on a school trip. We stayed for three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were extremely hospitable, the rooms were large and clean, the food was excellent, and the location was an oasis of calm in the midst of the craziness of Thamel. We all loved it, and would stay there again. Many thanks!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I was part of a volunteer group that stayed at International Guest House last summer. We stayed for almost 3 weeks in June and July. The hotel is in a quiet area at the border of Thamel. It is well maintained. The service is good and my room was cleaned every day.
The mattress was very hard and there was no air conditioning (although you can get a fan). There are computers available, but during my stay, a lot of them were defective. I still felt that we got a lot of value for the rate we paid ($15USD/day): a convenient location, a beautiful room, daily room service, wifi, and free breakfast.
A bonus is that there is a travel agent, Ganish, whose office is in front of the reception. He speaks English very well and set up some great tours for us at reasonable prices (e.g., airplane tour of Mt Everest, hotel stay in Pokhara). On our departure day, he even came out of his office and put white scarves around our necks as part of the traditional Nepali goodbye.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Unfortunately for me my flight was delayed in China for a day which meant I only got to stay one night here instead of two, but what a wonderful experience. The room was small and clean - perfect. The people here so polite - perfect. The little cute breakfast was great and the eating area was truly a little piece of heaven - perfect! What else can I say. For the price you can not go wrong!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natwest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 4 times during our 65 days in Nepal. We chose this hotel based on the location, price range and the fact that they provided free pick up from the airport. Since we arrived early in February we got an off season discount for our first stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. The manager, Ganesh, arranged a driver for us to Jiri for our first trek, to Pokhara for our second trek and to Chitwan. The location was very good, being just on the outskirts of Thamel we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go but it still seemed quiet at night. The breakfast was included in the room price and there were several choices available. We also ate dinner at the restaurant a couple of times and thought it was good and reasonably priced. There is Wifi in the lobby and dining area which worked most of the time and also worked from some of the rooms we stayed in. The garden was very nice on our later stays in March when the climate was a little warmer. I felt that the hotel was very well maintained. They provided luggage storage which was great since we didn't want to take everything we brought on our treks with us. I would recommend it to someone visiting Katmandu and/or as a stopover before trekking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Highly recommended. This is a fantastic & friendly hotel. Its perfectly located, the rooms are lovely (was also my children's favourite of all the places we stayed in Nepal). The food was delicious and they also organised some brilliant trips for us.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyJW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We pre-selected this hotel from recommendations of friends and tripadvisor reviews, but i’d say, our experience is rather disappointing!

The hotel provided us with room of two beds but the charges were rather high. The Manager reasoned a pick time of tourists and tried to convince us in higher costs saying that other room options are not available. But later we found out that we were the only occupant in whole 1st floor!

The room was non-AC but didn’t have ceiling fan. They only managed a single boxed fan which they struggled to connect with electric outlets. The room was small and not clean. In a country where average 10hrs power cut/ load shedding is a regular occurrence, this hotel only had generator backup available until 12 at midnight which affected our sleep.

As the staff sensed we were going to pokhara and we are first time travelers in Nepal, they volunteered to book tourist bus service for us. The Non-AC tickets they charged claiming as most discounted rate was event higher than actual AC buses!

The location of the hotel is good and food quality is OK. The wi-fi speed was acceptable in the garden but in rooms it was rather slow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irrosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#66 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#88 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Guest House

Property: International Guest House
Address: Ward No 29 Block 16-57, Kaldhara, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — International Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE breakfast,wifi,airportpick up,parking,locker services,,, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
International Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing