We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$117
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
$78
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$90
$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$29
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
$404
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$49
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$61
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
$171
$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
132
174
52
27
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
174
52
27
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleaned every daygarden areaquiet havencarved woodwalking distance from thamelbreakfast was includedthe hustle and bustlebusy streets of thamelfirst floorold winginternet accessrooms are cleanan oasishotel is situatedplenty of hot waterkathmandu valleyquiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 392 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for about a month in June and July 2013. We really enjoyed our time at the hotel because the rooms were very clean, the staff was friendly and reliable, and the breakfast was great!

The hotel does an excellent job arranging local activities, including treks and day excursions.

We would highly recommend staying at the international guest house to anyone who is looking for a nice place to stay at affordable prices!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived at the Guest House after an Airport pickup and a drive through the noisy streets of Kathmandu to arrive at this quiet haven. It is a few minutes walk to the centre of Thamal but so far away in terms of hustle and bustle. Turning into the arrival courtyard we were delighted to see a larger than life Buddha statue welcoming us. Entering the hotel was like a breath of fresh air, the hotel was decorated with the door and window carvings of Nepal, calming pictures of Bhuddist deities and memorabilia from Tibet.
The kitchen supplied a choice of breakfasts and a great food for lunch or dinner if you wanted to have a quiet meal in a relaxing place.The food was great with a good variety and the miso soup, a particular favorite of mine was refreshing and wholesome The grassed courtyard where meals could be served was a delight to sit in, either in the open or under the shade of a veranda.
The water was always hot whenever I wanted to take a shower. The rooftop garden was a great place to sit and have a drink and survey the Kathmandu valley usually through a bit of pollution but we were in Kathamndu after all.
Ganesh Khadka, Sales Representative and Tour Organiser was most helpful. He organised taxis for us if we needed them, gave us advice on prices we might expect to pay for transport. He organised a stand in hotel for us when the hotel was full for a couple of days when we returned from our travels to Pokara. He and was most helpful for me in particular. In a chance conversation about my return flight I mentioned that I was flying out at 3pm the next day on Singapore Airlines when he told me that the flight departure had been changed to 1pm. Whew, if he hadnt been so helpful I would have arrived at the airport just in time to see my flight take off. So thank you so much Ganesh.
A great place to stay and I would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Kathamndu, wanting to be close to the action and having a place of retreat to recharge ones energy.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older section have the most charm
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very well kept place and efficient staff. The property itself is a break from the usual crowded Thamel area.
The only problem is with the breakfast which kind of takes ages to arrive, but if you have time, it is a pleasant wait!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lopamudra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The international guest house is at a great location. Nice garden place to relax from the busy city. A beautiful oases!
And all for a very fair price.
Great help for travel bookings, airport pick ups and many more...
Just very recommendable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have visited Kathmandu numerous times over the past 15 years always in Thamel. It's a travelers ghetto and the crowds of tourists, touts and hawkers can be overwhelming and when combined with the vehicle noise and polution unbearable.
The International Guest House is set on a quiet street close, but away from the noise and crush of people. The standard room, which we chose, is clean (by Nepal standards), has hot water, wi-fi and includes a decent breakfast.
Complimentary airport pickup is available and staff is hospitable and accomodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lnm-yyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews