We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
International Guest House
Ranked #60 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in kathmandu”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a very nice hotel that is located technically just on the outskirts of thamel...but its literally like a 2min walk and you're in the heart of thamel district, so its a very convenient location. If you want a pick up at the hotel you just have to email them your flight info. Breakfast is included and tasty. The food here is very good and prices are very reasonable. I've stayed in both the deluxe room and standard and both were very clean and comfortable, the only diff seems to be you get a fan, tv, and better view in deluxe. There is a nice gentleman located in the lobby just across from the check in counter that can help you out with trekking plans or any other information. He helped set me up with transportation to both the start of the annapurna circuit and a flight to Lukla for the Everest trek. Overall I would def recommend this hotel and I intend on staying here again after my Everest trek before flying back home. O, also they do have wi-fi and internet access free of charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chad_D81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    153
    49
    27
    7
See reviews for
47
95
60
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very convenient Hotel in Kathmandu in a quiet environment close to Thamel. Superior deluxe rooms are a good choice with respect to price and comfort. Overall room service is very good. There is a very beautiful backyard garden in a quiet atmosphere for recreation and dining. WiFi is working fine. Luggage storage during trekking absence and cultural trips nearby was safe as well as airport pick up. Hotel management gave very valuable advise for travel planning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Johann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I think your experience of this hotel will depend on the room you choose. I opted for just the standard room and I think the review would be more positive had I chosen a delux (which looked really nice).

The hotel is really quite nice in terms of communal areas, a great garden out back where you have breakfast (included), a fantastic roof terrace and spectacular wood carvings in the entrance hall. Our room was a little tired and although you could tell at one time that even the standard rooms had been good, they're a bit past their best now.

Like most people who have commented recently, you can't help but notice how miserable all the staff are. It didn't bother me but just surprising in a country where the people in general couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

For price and position you cannot beat this little gem! Staff are helpful and efficient! Breakfast in the garden sets you up for a day of adventure and a sanctuary of tranquility to return to at night! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laxman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Wonderful stays here on both ends of our trip to Nepal. A quiet and peaceful place, which is so rare in Kathmandu. Elegant interior with gorgeous wooden carved pillars. Lovely courtyard to relax in or have breakfast. Incredibly accommodating staff (they packed lunches for us for our early bus trip and on my last day the owner drove me to the airport and refused to let me tip her). I had a lot of time there on my last day as I had a night flight and I thought it was an idyllic place to relax, read and sip coffee. And the views from the top floor of the city are so great! We loved the food, darn good and big portions and good strong coffee, lots of choices. Would highly recommend this to anyone, and really the best place we stayed in Nepal and anywhere for that price ($32US).

Room Tip: See if a courtyard view is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ildiko_incze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
174 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is my hotel of choice in Kathmandu and I have stayed here on many visits for over ten years. There are lots of hotels offering similar rooms at similar rates here but a few things set this hotel apart. Firstly is the location. It is located on the edge of Thamel so is close to the action but very quiet. Secondly is the garden. It's beautiful and a quiet refuge at any time. Thirdly is the hot water. It's strong and reliable. A good breakfast is included in the price as is a very convenient airport pickup.

In addition to this the management have obviously taken note of previous criticisms. Notably, the staff are much more friendly and helpful than they were in the past.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so rooms on lower floors are more convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Reviewers who complain about this guest house are being picky. Of course you shouldn't drink water from the tap -- how silly to complain about something so basic in so many places. As far as staff courtesy is concerned, my experience was that the staff are warm and welcoming. They are also honest, so if you are arrogant, don't expect them to bow to you. The manager is well read, astute, and happy to help someone who is appreciative. The location is perfect -- close enough to the Thamel to be convenient, but just outside the noise. Yes, of course there are people going about their daily business during the day, and, yes, that might include children going to school and people going to work in the morning; this is a location where people actually live. I have had the pleasure of staying here more than once. If I ever get back to Kathmandu, this place is top of my wish list for a hotel. Those who complain about the beds, service, and street noise should avoid Asia completely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wbpdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 198 in Kathmandu
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#34 of 198 in Kathmandu
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
#112 of 198 in Kathmandu
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#71 of 198 in Kathmandu
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Guest House

Property: International Guest House
Address: Ward No 29 Block 16-57, Kaldhara, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — International Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE breakfast,wifi,airportpick up,parking,locker services,,, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
International Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing