We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option, centraly located”
Review of Hotel Thamel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thamel
Ranked #56 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Staff was nice and friendly, reliable and eager to help. They have free pick up service from the airport, which is very nice.

The rooms are basic and just a little shabby, but clean and comfortable.. Free internet also available, as room service. Secure, good value, hot showers - everything someone needs after long trek. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Thamel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 339 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Thamel for four nights and received some of the best service I've ever had at a hotel. They were happy to help with every need, from planning day-trips to setting up the wireless, and always eager to please. Everyone was extremely kind and friendly.

The rooms were simple, clean and quiet. Ours had a balcony. Hotel Thamel is not a fancy affair, so don't come expecting fine linens and a minibar. But it is lovely in its simplicity, and the staff is willing to do anything to make your stay more pleasant. The food in the restaurant downstairs was very good-- especially the breakfast.

I can't stress enough how great everyone was here. If you are looking for a hideaway in Kathmandu, this is your place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rmonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Hotel Thamel's staff were extremely helpful and friendly, from the staff behind the desk to the doormen to the cleaning lady. The hotel is cleaned every day and if there was ever a problem with a room (which was remote) the kind lady would respond happily and quickly. The rooms were spacious and well equipt. The service was excellent. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was clean and tasty. The location was flawless. A 2 minute walk from cyber cafes and restaurants, tourist gift shops and it was easy to find transport to the temples from outside the hotel. I personally would have paid more to stay in this charming hotel. My friends and I stayed on the first floor which had an open balcony and, if you were willing to walk up the many flights of stairs, an open roof terrace was the perfect place to catch some afternoon sun and snap some beautiful shots of the Kathmandu Valley.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to any traveller who considers themselves cultured.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemLovesTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

I just returned from a 5 nite stay in Kathmandu at Hotel Thamel.
This is quiet Hotel in a busy tourist area.
The place was clean and neat and housekeeping did their job quite well.
It is a budget hotel which is worth more.
The reception was very nice and helpful.
They have a small restaurant and it provides food round the clock.
I am surely going back next time with my family to this hotel.
Value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank crazie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Good hotel, friendly helpfull staff, Clean and nice rooms, good service!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joost_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Hotel Thamel definately is one of the better hotels in Kathmandu. Centrally located without being in the middle of the bustle that is Thamel, the rooms are very good for Nepali standards.
The staff is extremely nice and Anis in the reception seems to know everything about Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trek_guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We have been travelling for almost 6 months now in a number of countries and we have never met such a friendly hotel staff!

In peak season, we arrived one day earlier than our reservation after a very tiring journey. We knew that this might be a risk. And indeed, the hotel was fully booked for that day. But the staff of the hotel has arranged a room in another hotel around the corner. They brought us there, helped us with the luggage, it was great. The other day we moved into the Thamel Hotel.

We extended our stay twice, which put them into trouble, but they are very flexible and helped us over and over again, always with a smile.

The rooms are value for money, most of them with a balconey with a view on a little alley which is quiet compared to the other streets of Katmandu.

The bed was good, not too hard and not too soft. A relief after our journey in Tibet and China where they only have very hard beds. And always warm water!

We do recommend Hotel Thamel!

Frederik and Regine, The Netherlands

Stayed: October 2008
Thank Opwereldreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 207 in Kathmandu
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#20 of 207 in Kathmandu
596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 207 in Kathmandu
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#9 of 207 in Kathmandu
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#38 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#35 of 207 in Kathmandu
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thamel

Address: Thamel Marg 723/28, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $24 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Thamel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally in the popular tourist area ,Hotel Thamel offers homely and friendly environment to make anyone feel like their own home.The name of the hotel is itself taken from the place this hotel is located. Hotel Thamel is 15 mins drive from airport and is in a walking distance from most of the attractions like monkey temple, Garden of Dreams, King Palace and Durbar square. Hotel Thamel is one of the hotel in Thamel area with private sunny balcony in guest rooms. All the rooms are well furnished with modern amenities . To make your stay comfortable , our staff are always ready to help you with a smile on their face.Our well decorated cozy restaurant situated on the ground floor caters a wide selection of cuisines and our roof top garden situated on the sixth floor offers a peaceful relaxing spot to relax and drink a beer, sip tea or coffee We welcome you at Hotel Thamel where you are not just a guest ,but a sister, a brother and a friend whose necessity and requirements are our most priority. Facilities 1. Wi-Fi: High speed WI_FI is available in every corner of the hotel 2. 24 hr room service: 3. Baby sitter and doctor on call 4. Safe Deposit Facility: You can store your valuables in the safe deposit available at the reception areaFree luggage storage: You can leave your luggage at the hotel when you are on a trek 5. Foreign exchange Facility: You can exchange your currency at the reception. 6. Laundry service available 7. Travel Desk: Travel desk assit you in all kinds of tours arrangement, sight seeing , ticketing, vehicle rental and trekking 8. Credit card accepted 9. Hair Dryer: Hair dryer is available on request 10. Newspaper: english news paper are available at the reception 11. Wake up call 12. Restaurant serving continental, mexican, indian, chinese and nepali cuisines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thamel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing