We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the stay there.”
Review of Hotel Thamel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thamel
Ranked #52 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the stay there.”
Reviewed June 11, 2009

I just returned from a 5 nite stay in Kathmandu at Hotel Thamel.
This is quiet Hotel in a busy tourist area.
The place was clean and neat and housekeeping did their job quite well.
It is a budget hotel which is worth more.
The reception was very nice and helpful.
They have a small restaurant and it provides food round the clock.
I am surely going back next time with my family to this hotel.
Value for money!

  • Liked — Value and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Hmmmm.nothing.
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crazie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    121
    57
    15
    7
See reviews for
46
56
88
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Good hotel, friendly helpfull staff, Clean and nice rooms, good service!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Hotel Thamel definately is one of the better hotels in Kathmandu. Centrally located without being in the middle of the bustle that is Thamel, the rooms are very good for Nepali standards.
The staff is extremely nice and Anis in the reception seems to know everything about Kathmandu.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trek_guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We have been travelling for almost 6 months now in a number of countries and we have never met such a friendly hotel staff!

In peak season, we arrived one day earlier than our reservation after a very tiring journey. We knew that this might be a risk. And indeed, the hotel was fully booked for that day. But the staff of the hotel has arranged a room in another hotel around the corner. They brought us there, helped us with the luggage, it was great. The other day we moved into the Thamel Hotel.

We extended our stay twice, which put them into trouble, but they are very flexible and helped us over and over again, always with a smile.

The rooms are value for money, most of them with a balconey with a view on a little alley which is quiet compared to the other streets of Katmandu.

The bed was good, not too hard and not too soft. A relief after our journey in Tibet and China where they only have very hard beds. And always warm water!

We do recommend Hotel Thamel!

Frederik and Regine, The Netherlands

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Opwereldreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

After staying at the Hyatt Regency and being disappointed, we stayed at the Hotel Thamel upon our guide's recommendation. It's in a convenient location (Thamel has easy access to restaurants, shops, laundry, etc.) but tucked away in an alley, so that it is relatively quiet. The AC/heating is a window unit, so that also provides some white noise. The staff is friendly and efficient. This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but if all you need is a basic comfortable hotel in a central location, this is a good bet.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank hounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 203 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 203 in Kathmandu
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 203 in Kathmandu
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#19 of 203 in Kathmandu
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#37 of 203 in Kathmandu
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thamel

Property: Hotel Thamel
Address: Thamel Marg 723/28, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Thamel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally in the popular tourist area ,Hotel Thamel offers homely and friendly environment to make anyone feel like their own home.The name of the hotel is itself taken from the place this hotel is located. Hotel Thamel is 15 mins drive from airport and is in a walking distance from most of the attractions like monkey temple, Garden of Dreams, King Palace and Durbar square. Hotel Thamel is one of the hotel in Thamel area with private sunny balcony in guest rooms. All the rooms are well furnished with modern amenities . To make your stay comfortable , our staff are always ready to help you with a smile on their face.Our well decorated cozy restaurant situated on the ground floor caters a wide selection of cuisines and our roof top garden situated on the sixth floor offers a peaceful relaxing spot to relax and drink a beer, sip tea or coffee We welcome you at Hotel Thamel where you are not just a guest ,but a sister, a brother and a friend whose necessity and requirements are our most priority. Facilities 1. Wi-Fi: High speed WI_FI is available in every corner of the hotel 2. 24 hr room service: 3. Baby sitter and doctor on call 4. Safe Deposit Facility: You can store your valuables in the safe deposit available at the reception areaFree luggage storage: You can leave your luggage at the hotel when you are on a trek 5. Foreign exchange Facility: You can exchange your currency at the reception. 6. Laundry service available 7. Travel Desk: Travel desk assit you in all kinds of tours arrangement, sight seeing , ticketing, vehicle rental and trekking 8. Credit card accepted 9. Hair Dryer: Hair dryer is available on request 10. Newspaper: english news paper are available at the reception 11. Wake up call 12. Restaurant serving continental, mexican, indian, chinese and nepali cuisines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thamel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing