We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disaster”
Review of Hotel Thamel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thamel
Ranked #56 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

First of all we are aware of the power cuts, city water cleanliness and other factors which come along with Kathmandu area.
The price for this hotel is between 40 and 50 dollars a night.
Our hotel room had broken toilet leaver which was fixed twice and only worked partially. În the dining area, the kitchen door was constantly slamming as staff was moving in and out. Their oatmeal is an......oat soup.The shower gave us boiling hot water only, half of the time and smelled horrible like ammonia. We have stayed other places in Kathmandu and Nepal, but this was horrific. Some very late noisy trucks came in to fix something plus a late night noisy group kept us awake. In the middle of the night we asked the night auditor to speak with the noisy people and nothing was solved. The next morning we tried to get one night out of two reimbursed from the manager and he said.....nothing I can do.....Do not stay at this hotel. There are much nicer, with better service hotels at the same or lower price. Enough said

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank tm412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pemagurung, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thamel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Thamel

First of all we would like to thank you for your thought of taking your time in writing some words about our hotel which makes a big difference in correcting our mistakes and gives us energy to improve ourself but what we believe is , we are here to make our clients happy and everyone tries to serve the guest well as we all know that, this is the hospitality business. About your complain of the toilet and water, we tried to our best to fix and at the same time problem was solved and you were happy then we got no complaints any more. Finally about the noise by other guest , our night manager requested those group not to make noise but they all were drunk and didn't care about others as not all people are same, which you know better than us as you briefed me the next morning about the situation. We from the management team also regret for the incident happened and for not refunding the amount . Your thoughts in tripadvisor as we believe in reality and accept our mistakes then convincing you with paying some amount and stop you from writing .

Front Office Manager

Anish Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Thamel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 339 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have booked a double bed room here for one night on 23 Mar 13 and had received the confirmation by the hotel staff, Anish. When I arrive at midnight that day, the car transfer arranged by the hotel sent me to another hotel called Hotel Robu Linka. We called the Hotel Themal in the lobby and its staff reply me that due to a travel group extend their stay, there was no room for us. Anish was not on duty that time. Finally my wife and me were forced to stay in a twin beds rooms in Hotel Robu Linka. There was no one informed me in advance I have to change to other hotel. Why I need to book in advance if the room availability has to be decided by other travelers....??? It was totally unacceptable to me!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank whywhy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pemagurung, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thamel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Thamel


Firstly, we would like to say sorry for not accomodating you in our Hotel Thamel. Since a group of 15 guest hadn't confirmed their ticket , they had to stay back which we came to know later night .Hence, there was no time to inform you and we had to find you a good hotel near by our Hotel . If we had time we would've definately informed you in advance.

Front Office Manager

Anish Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel Thamel is placed in a quite street directly in the center of Thamel. The staff is really very friendly, helpful and never gives you the feeling, that they are only interested in your money. The rooms are big enough, cleaned every day and have a nice balcony. There are several nice terraces. I would recommend the one on the roof top.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the upper levels including a balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chsundqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel lived up to expectations.I had deluxe room without a balcony to the back of huset.on 3 floor and overlooks a backyard, but since the hotel has two terraces where you can sit down and enjoy the whether.Hotel would bei the way move me to the front of the house with balcony..When rooms are the same and the opportunity to sit in peace. Like the side of the house was very quiet in the evening and nights.I did not not second side.The hotel is very quiet no disco noise on the evening and nights.Offen power failure
Kathmandu, but the room set generator so there was a light bulb that always worked.
Free airport tranfer at check in-check out pay 7 U.S. dollara to the airport.
Staff very helpful and nice.Breakfast OK
The hotel fully lived up to expectations
The room lived up to my demand so Kathmandu again I will go there

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preben1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Reasonable hotel. The rooms are very different in terms of quality.
The first night I had a room on the roof. You could come here just outside via the roofterrace. Very dark room at the back with a depressing view. It was during the night so cold that I slept in bed with my clothes on. The other room I got was a lot better. At the front with a balcony, facing south, and warm.
Staff are generally helpful and friendly. Maintenance of the hotel can be improved. On the map of breakfast dishes are not all of you can get. I asked for pancakes and that was no problem. The location is centrally located in the Thamel district in a quiet side street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, with balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMeeuwissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Thamel district of Kathmandu is a magical place and the Thamel hotel is right in the heart of it. If you are a westerner expecting all the comforts of home this might not be the place for you. But if you are on adventure then this place steeps you in the flavor of the area. The staff is professional and courteous. The accommodations basic but adequate. Central to the bazaar like atmosphere of the Thamel district

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Orforded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent a few days here before going trekking in early Feb and then a few days after we got back 3 weeks later. The hotel was happy to look after our luggage for us while we were trekking. The staff, especially the manger, were extremely friendly and the smiles & "Namaste"s from the cleaning staff made us feel really welcome. The rooms were relatively clean, the only downsides being the showers were only sometimes hot & we had to fill up the cistern of one of our room's toilets manually. The included breakfast is good value but nothing special. Great location in bustling Thamel & we'd definitely make it our first choice if we're back in KTM anytime soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheda916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 207 in Kathmandu
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#20 of 207 in Kathmandu
596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 207 in Kathmandu
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#9 of 207 in Kathmandu
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#38 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#35 of 207 in Kathmandu
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thamel

Address: Thamel Marg 723/28, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $24 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Thamel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally in the popular tourist area ,Hotel Thamel offers homely and friendly environment to make anyone feel like their own home.The name of the hotel is itself taken from the place this hotel is located. Hotel Thamel is 15 mins drive from airport and is in a walking distance from most of the attractions like monkey temple, Garden of Dreams, King Palace and Durbar square. Hotel Thamel is one of the hotel in Thamel area with private sunny balcony in guest rooms. All the rooms are well furnished with modern amenities . To make your stay comfortable , our staff are always ready to help you with a smile on their face.Our well decorated cozy restaurant situated on the ground floor caters a wide selection of cuisines and our roof top garden situated on the sixth floor offers a peaceful relaxing spot to relax and drink a beer, sip tea or coffee We welcome you at Hotel Thamel where you are not just a guest ,but a sister, a brother and a friend whose necessity and requirements are our most priority. Facilities 1. Wi-Fi: High speed WI_FI is available in every corner of the hotel 2. 24 hr room service: 3. Baby sitter and doctor on call 4. Safe Deposit Facility: You can store your valuables in the safe deposit available at the reception areaFree luggage storage: You can leave your luggage at the hotel when you are on a trek 5. Foreign exchange Facility: You can exchange your currency at the reception. 6. Laundry service available 7. Travel Desk: Travel desk assit you in all kinds of tours arrangement, sight seeing , ticketing, vehicle rental and trekking 8. Credit card accepted 9. Hair Dryer: Hair dryer is available on request 10. Newspaper: english news paper are available at the reception 11. Wake up call 12. Restaurant serving continental, mexican, indian, chinese and nepali cuisines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thamel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing