We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal”
Review of Hotel Thamel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Thamel
Ranked #50 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Deal”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stayed 10 nights in the Thamel Hotel, Kathmandu which is located in busy Thamel. Because the location is in a side street so you can expect to get a quiet stay. The hotel has a great value for the money: simple but nice furnished and clean rooms. The staff is very friendly and also helpful and professional. Also the manager of teh hotel is not only smart but also very helpful and he assists you with any question. He is a great source of informations. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HWB_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    118
    57
    15
    7
See reviews for
46
55
87
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I ´ve been in katmandhu the september of 2011.
This hotel have a good localitacion.People who work there are very pleasand and helpful.
The manager, Anish sharma is a kind person and he always answer your qüestions kindly.He can help you if you want to know something about the city, places, and advice you about transport public.

The rooms are comfortable and clean
The food is good
Noemí.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noemi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hotel is good value for the money. The staff were very helpful and the rooms large and clean. It is just off a very busy street, but our room (at the back of the hotel) was quiet. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jutland, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

A good place, I've stayed there twice now. It is a good base placed centrally in Thamel. The place is clean and somewhat quiet. It is a very kind and helpful staff, who will help you with planning if needed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2012

hi i m pankaj staying in this hotel from 6 t9 jan..... hotel location is very good..... and staff is very soft and helping......reasonable price........ wash rooms are average ... thamel location is great..... very near from main market and happening place

Room Tip: front rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pankaj882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Although a budget hotel, Hotel Thamel is a very good hotel and the staff are excellent. I was initially staying at a different hotel but after one night without electricity [no standby power and Kathmandu suffers a power shortage] I moved to Hotel Thamel which did have standby power most all of the time.

The hotel is just off a main road and quiet but easy to get to. The room was moderate in size and comfortable with a decent view from my 4th floor room. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel also provided free [as I remember] Internet. I would recommend this hotel to anyone including solos and families. There is no elevator so probably not for the elderly or handicapped.

While in Kathmandu I strongly recommend a mountain flight and a flight into Lukla, reputed to be the most dangerous airport in the world. It IS a bit dangerous but what a thrill.

Room Tip: An upper floor room but remember there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagano, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed here at Hotel Thamel for 3weeksthis time and I could make me relax as be home.
all staff are nice, kind and friendly indeed.There was plenty of hot water in buthroom n shower.
Nice atmosphere restaurant with delicious food. especially I love Spring roles! they served.
it was really convinience to go to shopping around central Thamel and very quiet in the night.
I appriciate for all staffs and manager. You should try Chicken chilli and Spring roles in the restaurant if you got a chance to stay there HotelThamel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 202 in Kathmandu
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#6 of 202 in Kathmandu
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 202 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#19 of 202 in Kathmandu
588 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#31 of 202 in Kathmandu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thamel

Property: Hotel Thamel
Address: Thamel Marg 723/28, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Thamel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally in the popular tourist area ,Hotel Thamel offers homely and friendly environment to make anyone feel like their own home.The name of the hotel is itself taken from the place this hotel is located. Hotel Thamel is 15 mins drive from airport and is in a walking distance from most of the attractions like monkey temple, Garden of Dreams, King Palace and Durbar square. Hotel Thamel is one of the hotel in Thamel area with private sunny balcony in guest rooms. All the rooms are well furnished with modern amenities . To make your stay comfortable , our staff are always ready to help you with a smile on their face.Our well decorated cozy restaurant situated on the ground floor caters a wide selection of cuisines and our roof top garden situated on the sixth floor offers a peaceful relaxing spot to relax and drink a beer, sip tea or coffee We welcome you at Hotel Thamel where you are not just a guest ,but a sister, a brother and a friend whose necessity and requirements are our most priority. Facilities 1. Wi-Fi: High speed WI_FI is available in every corner of the hotel 2. 24 hr room service: 3. Baby sitter and doctor on call 4. Safe Deposit Facility: You can store your valuables in the safe deposit available at the reception areaFree luggage storage: You can leave your luggage at the hotel when you are on a trek 5. Foreign exchange Facility: You can exchange your currency at the reception. 6. Laundry service available 7. Travel Desk: Travel desk assit you in all kinds of tours arrangement, sight seeing , ticketing, vehicle rental and trekking 8. Credit card accepted 9. Hair Dryer: Hair dryer is available on request 10. Newspaper: english news paper are available at the reception 11. Wake up call 12. Restaurant serving continental, mexican, indian, chinese and nepali cuisines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thamel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing