We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Thamel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Samsara Resort(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shreesu(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gaju Suite Hotel(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vaishali(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Serenity(Kathmandu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveler rating
165
141
63
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
141
63
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waternice balconyno liftfirst floorrecommend hoteldecent hotelcomfortable hotelexcellent staythe heart of the cityclean roomspleasant staybudget hotelside streetdurbar squarequiet locationthe hustle and bustlevisit kathmandu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 393 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

A good place, I've stayed there twice now. It is a good base placed centrally in Thamel. The place is clean and somewhat quiet. It is a very kind and helpful staff, who will help you with planning if needed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

hi i m pankaj staying in this hotel from 6 t9 jan..... hotel location is very good..... and staff is very soft and helping......reasonable price........ wash rooms are average ... thamel location is great..... very near from main market and happening place

Room Tip: front rooms are better
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pankaj882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Although a budget hotel, Hotel Thamel is a very good hotel and the staff are excellent. I was initially staying at a different hotel but after one night without electricity [no standby power and Kathmandu suffers a power shortage] I moved to Hotel Thamel which did have standby power most all of the time.

The hotel is just off a main road and quiet but easy to get to. The room was moderate in size and comfortable with a decent view from my 4th floor room. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel also provided free [as I remember] Internet. I would recommend this hotel to anyone including solos and families. There is no elevator so probably not for the elderly or handicapped.

While in Kathmandu I strongly recommend a mountain flight and a flight into Lukla, reputed to be the most dangerous airport in the world. It IS a bit dangerous but what a thrill.

Room Tip: An upper floor room but remember there are no elevators
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed here at Hotel Thamel for 3weeksthis time and I could make me relax as be home.
all staff are nice, kind and friendly indeed.There was plenty of hot water in buthroom n shower.
Nice atmosphere restaurant with delicious food. especially I love Spring roles! they served.
it was really convinience to go to shopping around central Thamel and very quiet in the night.
I appriciate for all staffs and manager. You should try Chicken chilli and Spring roles in the restaurant if you got a chance to stay there HotelThamel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Umi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Great people, very nice and friendly! hot water all day, helped me with information about tours and good places to visit.

Room Tip: They have rooms with bathtub so hurry to book one because they are few. At least for me is a extremely important detail specially after a day full of trips, walking or just for relax.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manyfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews