We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel, excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Norbu Linka

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Norbu Linka
Ranked #83 of 190 Hotels in Kathmandu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I made a mistake with the date of my booking but was very relieved when the staff found me another room at the same great rate as my mistaken booking. Room was large and quiet. Excellent shower with clean hot water (much appreciated after a long trek!). Warm bed, good food for breakfast, good free wireless internet (although a little slow from the room). Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanekerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello Shane !

We are very glad to hear your review during your stay with us and thank you so much for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel, room, bed, breakfast, hot shower and free WiFi.
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    63
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
35
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was a great spot in the city for peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the main Thamel drag. The 24/7 restaurant had good food, the receptionist and other hotel staff were very nice, and the beds and blankets were warm and comfortable. The hot water and water pressure in the hotel was also amazing, probably one the best among any hotel I've ever been to. The only downside to the hotel is that the internet was spotty, so I had to use my data tethering on my Ncell phone a lot, which was expensive. Unfortunately I haven't yet found a super-strong internet connection in the city, so I can't complain too much, but if you're in need of a solid internet connection when you're traveling, I suggest grabbing an Ncell SIM on your arrival into the city. All in all the stay was nice at the hotel and when I return to Nepal I'll likely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor have a lovely balcony/garden area outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philiparthurmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello Philip Moore !

Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor and we hope we can see your review in Agoda as well. Hearing positive reviews delighting our guests is the fuel that keeps our engine going. As customer service is our 1st priority and we work very hard to deliver out of the box service to you. Regarding a little bit of slow internet as you know Nepal internet speed is quite slow as compare to other country internet but also after receiving your feedback we management have decided to provide the fast pre-paid internet service in coming days to specially internet user guest. I think it makes sense to do so.

Thanks for having chosen to stay at Hotel Norbu Linka. Hope you choose to stay here on your subsequent visit to KTM.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in Kathmandu on our way to and from Bhutan but in two different hotels. Hotel Norbu Linka was our hands down favourite because of the location and the unbelievable fact that it was actually quiet! I didn't think you could find a quiet corner in Kathmandu. The hotel staff were all really pleasant and helpful, and the Jasmine Bar attached to the hotel was the perfect place to chill and have a great breakfast and quiet cup of coffee before heading out to explore the chaotic city. Our room was on the top floor (4th - no elevator) and I don't know if it is the largest or if all of the rooms are as spacious but it had a separate sitting area. The welcome basket of fruit was much appreciated as was THE HOT WATER! Yay! I definitely recommend the Norbu Linka but it is pretty difficult to find so I would recommend having the hotel book your taxi from the airport so there is no confusion. The only thing I will mention is that we didn't use the tour services of the hotel as we found them to be much more expensive than other options for our day trip to Bhaktapur.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSweatTravelBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi NoSweatTravelBlog,

Thank you for rating us so highly on TripAdvisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel, location, room, restaurant, buffet, breakfast, friendly & helpful staffs and of course the support our hotel team. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they sure are proud to hear about your review.

Thanks for choosing Hotel Norbu Linka and hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This recently, 2012, renovated hotel has an excellent atmosphere, it is cozy, with very friendly, helpful personnel. The spacious lobby, the fine restaurant and not to be forgotten, the real ' Irish' pub (Jasmine Bar), where it is fine to relax, to have a beer, a glass of wine in the comfortable chairs or at the bar.
The rooms are very reasonable in price and has given me all comfort, it is very nice and clean, beds are really comfortable. The free breakfast buffet has an excellent choice of European, Indian and of course Nepali food.

Room Tip: choose top rooms, this will give you Kathmandu mountain view and......to reach the 5th floor by usin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janwessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Jan Wessels !

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and sharing your photographs with us. We are glad to receive your nice review of our hotel and your satisfaction with our services. It really motivates us further to get up every day and deliver our very best. Also we highly appreciate your feedback and room tips.
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope that you will give us an opportunity again to welcome you back at Hotel Norbu Linka on your next visit to Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We recently stayed at norbu linka for 3 nights in October 2013. I cannot saw enough nice things about the hotel,the staff and the service. Our stay from the very beginning was comfortable and pleasant.We were picked up at the airport on time.The rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable beds.The hot water and AC worked perfectly.The travel agency at the hotel booked our tours and side excursions.We encountered professionalism,courtesy and warmth throughout our stay.The staff from the management on to the porters are very friendly and helpful.The hotel is conveniently located in a quiet part of Thamel.The walk to Darbar square is not too long and there are numerous restaurants and souvenir shops along the way.We highly recommend choosing this hotel.We would definitely stay here again.
Jayant and Mridula Paranjpe.
New York,USA.

Room Tip: A deluxe room on the higher floors would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malabarhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Jayant and Mridula Paranjpe !

Thank you for rating us so highly on TripAdvisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel, room, friendly & helpful staffs, quite location nearby to numerous restaurants and souvenir shops. Thank you for liking our professionalism, courtesy and warmth throughout your stay and of course the support our travel desk and all hotel team.I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they sure are proud to hear about your review.

Thanks for choosing Hotel Norbu Linka and hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Have stayed here since 2006 during my everest expedition 2006. this is my 4 th time staying in Norbu Linka and they have improved the rooms and its very nice and clean. and the breakfast in fantastic. the service by the staff are fantastic and my first choice hotel in Nepal.

Room Tip: All room are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravichandran317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ravi,

Feels great to hear your review. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and improved rooms, buffet breakfast and prompt service of the staff of our hotel.
Thank you for choosing our hotel every time as your first choice hotel in Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altensteig, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is located in Thamel, the most popular shop and restaurant area of Kathmandu. It's situated on a side-street so it's immune to the constant noise of honking cars, motorbikes and the dust. The quietness is exceptional. The highly friendly staff tended immediately to the needs of our group. Western level - comfortable - beds, good buffet breakfast, free WiFi and clean rooms. A top value for your money! We'll gladly be back with future groups!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GaetanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Geatan Roy !

We are very glad to hear your review during your stay with us and thank you so much for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you and your group liked our hotel, rooms, buffet breakfast, free WiFi, friendly staffs and of course the location which is near to popular shop and restaurant area of Kathmandu.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
1.1 mi away
Summerhill House
Summerhill House
#5 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kathmandu Mantra Home
Kathmandu Mantra Home
#100 of 190 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
2.3 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#20 of 190 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Greenwich Village
Hotel Greenwich Village
#7 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Norbu Linka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Norbu Linka

Property: Hotel Norbu Linka
Address: GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 190 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Norbu Linka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Thamel, Hotel Norbulinka features a mix of modern décor and traditional carvings and artworks. It offers rooms with a private bathroom an on-site restaurant and a free airport pick-up service.Room are air-conditioned and feature a wardrobe and cable TV. A private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.Hotel Norbulinka is 3 km from both Central Bus Park Gongabu and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu is 6 km from the hotel.Guests have access to free Wi-Fi in the hotel’s common areas. A safety deposit box is available at the 24-hour reception. A currency exchange and tour desk is conveniently located at the hotel, which also provides laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra cost.Restaurant serves a variety of cuisines including Nepalese, Tibetan and Indian. Jasmine Bar offers a wide selection of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Norbu Linka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing