We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, nicer people.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Norbu Linka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Norbu Linka
Ranked #83 of 190 Hotels in Kathmandu
Hangzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, nicer people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I don't know if the facility was the best in Kathmandu, but it certainly represented the better part of it. The hotel sit quietly at the corner of the busy main street of Thamel, made my visit to Kathmandu convenient and relaxing.

Big thanks goes to the management of the place, I couldn't have asked more from them, been a great help all around, arranging transportations, booking domestic flights and hotels, so I didn't have to worry a thing about the trip going from Kathmandu to Pokhara, and back. Special thanks to Gopal and Mr. Lama, they run the place smoothly.

I would be quick to choose to stay at Hotel Norbu Linka again, should I ever go back to visit the great city of Kathmandu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Woting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Woting,

Thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation by helping all around, arranging transportation, booking domestic flights and hotels etc. I have forwarded your review to all the hotel team specially Mr. Gopal and Mr. Lama and they sure are proud to hear about your review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    63
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
35
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our Everest Base Camp expedition used Hotel Norbu Linka practically as the place where team members assembled and upon return, rested up before flying home. The hotel is located close to good restaurants, expedition outfitting shops, and coffee shops where hikers congregate. Although well situated, the neighborhood was quiet and safe late at night. Staff members were extremely well trained and helpful in making our stay lots of fun. Hotel facilities were comfortable and the small restaurant had good food with great service. Electrical power was very sporadic during our visit but the problem appeared to be widespread in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Room facing the back were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seatosummit100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Greeting From Hotel Norbu Linka !

We are so pleased to receive your nice review of our hotel, and your satisfaction with our services.It really motivates us further to get up every day and deliver our very best. Thank you once again for rating us so high and sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I decided to stay at Hotel Norbu Linka based on the previous positive reviews. Those reviews were extremely accurate. First and foremost, I would like to thank the staff for the exceptional hospitality they have shown me throughout my stay. They treat you like you are apart of their family.
The rooms were very spacious, new and clean. It was nice to enjoy a hot shower and relax using their free wifi in the room. Also, the location was conveniently located in the heart of Thamel. The food at Jasmine Cafe and bar was awesome, it is open 24 hrs! Great food and nice cocktails.
Stay at Hotel Norbu Linka and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the suite deluxe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prince_Gillani13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi !

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. We are so pleased to receive your nice review of our hotel, and your satisfaction with our services.It really motivates us further to get up every day and deliver our very best. Also, I have forwarded this review to all those concerned, and they sure are proud to hear about your review.We hope you will stay with us again!

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've stayed here on 3 occasions and I recommend this hotel to everybody. Your room comes with a free airport reception. (It's top notch to have a smiling face holding a card with your name on it after a marathon flight.) The rooms are spotless and the beds are very comfortable. The wifi is free and broardband.The hotel is a little hidden away so you have to concentrate on your sourroundings at every street corner you turn the first couple of times you go out!!The manager helped me set up a tour of a lifetime to Tibet and the city guide he organized for me changed my perception of Kathmandu and Nepal. Many thanks and Namaste to all at Norbu Linka.

Room Tip: All the rooms I stayed in were perfect. The free wifi connection is a little better in the lower roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pridhamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Pridhamd,

We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. We pleased to know that you liked our Airport Reception Service, Hotel Rooms, Location, Free Wi-Fi and Travel Services. This really validates our guiding principle of putting Customer Service as our Top Priority. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was welcoming in that the staff was a super nice, happy group that made you feel so welcomed. We stayed here three nights before going to Pokhara and wished we would have stayed here after our return instead of sampling another place before leaving Kathmandu. They truly seemed disappointed that we weren't continuing our stay. The minor
gripe I had was the shower; water flooded the floor each time as the shower curtains weren't
properly fitted to contain the flow. Just throw a few extra towels down and keep on smiling.
One more thing; no elevators, so is you don't like the stairs after a long day walking around, stay closer to ground floor. This is common of many hotels in the Nepal area. I'm a wimp; the fourth
floor trek wore me out. Breakfast is included and included a nice variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bymollyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest !

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. We have taken note of your comments and we will look into it and make it correct very soon.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very good location, the rooms its clean and espacious. Have free wi-fi and the staff its very friendly!!
I stay 2 months in the Norbu Linka and feel in my home. The food is very good and stay in Thamel, near by every places. i really recomended this hotel.

Room Tip: Very good and espacious! The shower its perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 349Tainah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Tainah,

Feels great to hear your review. We feel validated when customers return to our hotel. It gives us an affirmation that we're doing things right. Of course, it does not come easy. Customer service is our No. 1 priority always, and we always prioritize your comfort and well being.We are thankful to you for recommending our hotel to other travelers.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Tibet hotel in best location, with good staff that are always have smiles on face, food is very good and always stay there. The services work good for the whole day, 24hs, the staff helps you to go around sightseeing. Most used by climbers you can also have nice talks about the climbs on Himalaia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi Carlos,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. We are so pleased to receive your nice review of our hotel, and your satisfaction with our services.Yes you are right most of the climbers guest love to stay in our hotel and we can share some interesting information with them but as you know non climbers guests are also so proud to stay with us seeing all of our hotel service, facilities & hospitality.

Thanks for choosing Hotel Norbu Linka and hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
1.1 mi away
Summerhill House
Summerhill House
#5 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kathmandu Mantra Home
Kathmandu Mantra Home
#100 of 190 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
2.3 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#20 of 190 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Greenwich Village
Hotel Greenwich Village
#7 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Norbu Linka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Norbu Linka

Property: Hotel Norbu Linka
Address: GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 190 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Norbu Linka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Thamel, Hotel Norbulinka features a mix of modern décor and traditional carvings and artworks. It offers rooms with a private bathroom an on-site restaurant and a free airport pick-up service.Room are air-conditioned and feature a wardrobe and cable TV. A private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.Hotel Norbulinka is 3 km from both Central Bus Park Gongabu and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu is 6 km from the hotel.Guests have access to free Wi-Fi in the hotel’s common areas. A safety deposit box is available at the 24-hour reception. A currency exchange and tour desk is conveniently located at the hotel, which also provides laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra cost.Restaurant serves a variety of cuisines including Nepalese, Tibetan and Indian. Jasmine Bar offers a wide selection of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Norbu Linka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing