We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Norbu Linka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Norbu Linka
Ranked #82 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Mesaieed, Qatar
Level Contributor
140 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel on the end of Dec 12
Hotel it self bit hidden from main Thamel road but that good for who looking quite place.
The bed is really comfort so I slept well during my stay.
Breakfast is great and served well, The staff very friendly and professional to serve you.
LCD TV is there but i have no time to watch it. Heater really help in this chill winter.
Hot water available 24 hours and the important thing is no power cut in this hotel.
I really enjoy my stay, I ll be back to stay there again on my next visit to Nepal.
I really recommend this hotel for anyone who visit Kathmandu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Setyabudianto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Setyabudianto,

Greetings From Hotel Norbu Linka !

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are glad to know that you liked every aspect of our Service. As Customer Service is our No.1 priority, and we always take it very seriously to make their stay comfortable. Also, I have forwarded this review to all those concerned, and they sure are proud to hear about your review.
Thanks for choosing Hotel Norbu Linka and hope we will get an opportunity very soon to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    63
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
35
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed in Norbu Linka for 6 nights Over NY. The location is fantastic and positioned central however just out of the hustle and bustle of Thamel so it was a nice little haven to return home to.

We had the suit room with view, clean and comfortable bed and constant hot water. Staff were friendly and breakfast was great value.

The only downfall was the power surging very frequently (NL have a back up generator which would go on though), however this still resulted in our camera cord blowing up when plugged in to charge. Water and personal driver quotes were a little on the pricey side so would suggest finding your own way around via the ample taxi's around Thamel, and purchase water locally for a third of the price.

Overall, would recommend and thoroughly enjoyed the safety and comfort Norbu Linka offers!.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ValeriaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear ValeriaMay !

Greetings from Hotel Norbu Linka!

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are glad that you liked our suite rooms with view, comfortable beds, cleanliness, location, staffs and breakfast. On behalf of the NL, I apologies for the unintentional inconvenience caused by the power back up. As you are aware that we have more than 12 hours electricity cut off every day in Kathmandu and our normal voltage in Nepal is 220-240. This is the first incident we have came across in 2012. This could have happened because your charger was of 110 voltages. Suggest using universal adapter before charging to avoid this issue again. Secondly, you have mentioned that the water cost was high. When checked, it was a mineral water not drinking water. However, we will look our beverage list and do the needful re-pricing if possible.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope this incident will not make you away to come back to Hotel Norbu Linka. We really look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent 3 nights recently at the Norbu with a group of 10. The hotel itself was e
Well equipped, clean and in a good location. The rooms were nice, hot showers and wi fi (slow). The food at the restaurant was good also. We had a couple of unfortunate things happen during our stay however... Firstly, a mobile phone went missing when the group was in the lobby. Many other ppl were around at the time. The management was told about the loss, however they were not very concerned and not particularly helpful. We reported it to the police...
Another thing to mention was the 'free dinner' at the restaurant that was offered with the booking. The food itself was fantastic, however, the group ordered some drinks with the meal.. The alcoholic drinks served turned out to be extremely expensive, as the waiters decided to use top shelf liquors! For example a gin and tonic came out at 650 rupees!! When questioned with the staff, again they were not very understanding..
Good option for clean well located hotel just keep belongings close and don't order gin and tonics!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickyjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Mickyjennings,

Greetings from Hotel Norbu Linka

A bad experience at the end of your stay completely ruins it. I understand your feelings. I apologize on behalf of all those who caused you inconvenience. After strict investigation regarding your mobile loss, as you were also aware that other group of guests was at the lobby at that time and some other guest might have kept in their pocket which we somewhere heard from your own guide but again not sure. Secondly, yes dinner was offered complimentary to your entire group however, the drinks were not a complimentary and our waiter made a bill according to the hotel menu. Alternatively, thank you for liking our rooms, cleanliness, location and foods.
Moreover, we always try to ensure maximum safety of our guest belongings and will certainly devote plenty of time to groom and train our staffs well up to the standard.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope this incident will not make you away to come back to Hotel Norbu Linka. We really look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Reccomended by a friend who often travel to Nepal, this hotel did not let us down. Located in Thamel, yet peaceful, far from the crazy night life you can find in some part of this tourist hub. The rooms are spacious and well kept, the staff friendly and professional. Reasonably good breakfast. Reccomed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Albert L !

Greetings From Hotel Norbu Linka.

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.We also like to thank to your friend for recommending our hotel. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Norbu Linka on your next visit to Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on my way back and I regretted not having found it earlier. Location is very central, but in a small alley so it is not noisy. Rooms and bathrooms are large and clean. Staff are helpful and friendly. Good value for your money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vivian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Vivian A !

Greetings From Hotel Norbu Linka.

Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know that you liked every aspect of our Service. Also, we are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.
Thanks for choosing Hotel Norbu Linka and hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay here two times while working in Nepal for almost a month. The staff is magnificent, the location is great, clean rooms and bath, quiet, good WIFI, and I felt very, very safe most of all. Rooms were large for Nepal and everything you could want was at hand. Tenzin was one of the great ladies I met at the front desk each day (they are all great with big happy smiles). Always most cordial and willing to help. She always had plenty of bits of information and special ideas about the city things to see. Norbu has a very warm atmosphere and by the way, All of the staff I encountered spoke great English thank goodness. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and most of all, I will return and look most forward to it! Thank you Norbu Linka, Dr. Bill

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dr Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Dr. Bill

Greetings From Hotel Norbu Linka

We are pleased to receive your nice review of our hotel and your satisfaction with our services. Tenzin is delighted to hear about this.Additionally, we all feel validated when customers return to our Hotel. It gives us an affirmation that we're doing things right. Of course, it does not come easy. Customer service is our No. 1 priority always, and we always prioritize your comfort and well being.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope that you will stay with us again!

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I'm staying here at the moment and this hotel has met and exeeded all my expectations.

It's located in central Thamel and is in a really convenient location from which you can get so many of the pubs and bars and tourist attractions and sites.

Hotel staff are v friendly, speak perfect english, and the food at the restaurant (I had breakfast this morning which was included in the room rate on agoda) was excellent, and set me up for the day. (I had masala omlette served with salad and potatoes, toast, jam, lassi, and a cup of coffee! Set me up for the days adventure. Wifi is not confined to the lobby, and is strong in the my room-very important as I've been able to
make travel arrangements via iPhone!

Reading some of the other kathmandu hotel reviews on trip advisor gave me the impression that hot water is liable to shortages even in midrange hotels, in this hotel it was no such problem - the water is boiling hot!!

All in all - great value, hospitable staff, and superb location.

ALSO, upon booking, I received an email from the management asking for my flight number and arrival time so that they could give me a complimentary pickup from the hotel which I duly took up. Very nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Advertureman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hi Advertureman !

Greetings From Hotel Norbu Linka, Kathmandu Nepal.

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are very glad to know that you liked every aspect of our Service. As Customer Service is our No.1 priority, and we take it very seriously. Also, I have forwarded this review to all those concerned, and they sure are proud to hear about your review.
Thanks for choosing Hotel Norbu Linka and hope you'll stay with us again, the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
1.1 mi away
Summerhill House
Summerhill House
#5 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.2 mi away
Platinum Hotel & Spa
Platinum Hotel & Spa
#77 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Greenwich Village
Hotel Greenwich Village
#7 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Norbu Linka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Norbu Linka

Property: Hotel Norbu Linka
Address: GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Norbu Linka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Thamel, Hotel Norbulinka features a mix of modern décor and traditional carvings and artworks. It offers rooms with a private bathroom an on-site restaurant and a free airport pick-up service.Room are air-conditioned and feature a wardrobe and cable TV. A private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.Hotel Norbulinka is 3 km from both Central Bus Park Gongabu and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu is 6 km from the hotel.Guests have access to free Wi-Fi in the hotel’s common areas. A safety deposit box is available at the 24-hour reception. A currency exchange and tour desk is conveniently located at the hotel, which also provides laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra cost.Restaurant serves a variety of cuisines including Nepalese, Tibetan and Indian. Jasmine Bar offers a wide selection of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Norbu Linka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing