We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms are clean - Postcards might not be sent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Norbu Linka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Norbu Linka
Ranked #82 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Sidney, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rooms are clean - Postcards might not be sent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

double rooms are comfortable. singles are quiet small (both 44 USD per night and person). most of the staff are very friendly, some felt very busy. if you need it more quiet: rooms on the 4th floor are not recommended due to the noises on the roof garden when people move their chairs or something else. unfortunately, postcards that were delivered to the hotel's mail box have never been sent out. therefore, leave your postcards rather in the bookshop than in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Hane !

Thank you for your feedback.Great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.Yes, rooms for single occupancy is smaller than double as it is designed for single occupant.Pertaining to the postcard delivery we thank you for reporting this problem to us on time, which would have gone unnoticed if you hadn't done so. However, we will look into the issue and increase our service standard in our upcoming days.

Thank you for dropping your comments!
We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    63
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
35
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

beautiful hotel with beautiful service. loved staying there and hopefully will come again soon. the places is nice to stay in and the view is nice. loved everything about the hotel. the peaople were very nice and friendly. i definitely would visit again.

Room Tip: for me all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenzin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Tenzin !

Thank you for rating us so high on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you liked every aspect of our Service.We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience, and all of us here sincerely hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Norbu Linka Kathmandu on your next visit to Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, welcoming and always willing to please. This is a budget hotel, in a budget area; rooms are basic but clean. Electricity cuts out often but AC and hot water works. WiFi works fine all day, any floor. Breakfast is fresh and plentiful. Location is not too bad once you get your bearings. Close enough to everything yet far enough to enjoy the quiet amongst the bustling, noisy, dusty city. Mainly a trekker hotel. Lots of shops, tour agents nearby...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Ralcolm !

Thank you for liking our Hotel Norbu Linka. We are very glad that we could make your holiday in Nepal comfortable.As customer service is our 1st priority,we as a hotel team members haven been working every day & night to provide more better service to our valuable guests.Also we have taken note of your comments which will be shared with our entire team.We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belluno, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

During our 7th staying in KTM, the trek Agency, proposed to us this Hotel; we stayed there 3 nights enough to understand that will be our favourite hotel in Thamel.
Although you are only 5 minutes walking from center of Thamel Chowk, because of its innere location, you are far from the terrible , continous noises of barsa, pubs, shops and traffic.
The rooms given to our group, were all very clean ( the toilet too !) and the bed , large and very confortable; every room has wi-fi access and there are free morning news papers in the reception.
All facilities, lights, wi-fi and hot water are always running because , when the electricity stops ( very common in KTM) this Hotel has its own power generator.
If you want a city viewyou can ask for higher floors; the roof top terrace is a real fantastic place where spent evening time with KTM lights.
The bar (Jasmine bar) and the Garden Cafè are inside the Hotel anda are open every all round day and night: sometimes it would be very useful !
On our last night, the Trek Agency offered us a complimentary farewell in this Hotel: the Nepali cuisine has been absolutely tasting and enjoyable.
I dind't like too much indeed the old modern ceiling of Hall and Dinner Room; the same the boutique has something interesting but is too small.
The most important thing in our opinion remains the welcome and services of managers and all staff: day and night they gave us the ffeling to stay at home; so it's a real good title for this 3*** hotel : A Home Away From Home !
In KTM we stayed in lots of Hotel, but next time we will ask for this Norbu Linka Hotel, again .... definitely ! PAOLO

Room Tip: Higher floors have rooms with an exciting view of KTM, particularly in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Paolo G !

Thank you so much for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know that you liked every aspect of our Service.However,prioritizing customer service is our guiding principle which keeps our hotel going and it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. Your comments will be shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful experience and we hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Who says big things do not come in small packages?????? Try Hotel Norbu Linka ,satisfaction guaranteed in reliable price.The Hotel is filled with staffs who bear a quality to satisfy their guests with all the services they provide.Though being in the heart of Thamel , Hotel Norbu Linka provides a peace full environment to the guests. In short we can call it 'HOME AWAY FROM HOME'

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbhattarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hello!
Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments. As customer delight has always been our first priority and we're glad we were able to have delighted you with our service.Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and we hope you'll stay with us during your next visit.

-Jeshon
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My friend and I visited kathamandu last 6 months ago and we were totally amazed by the facilities of this hotel Norbu Linka. wifi access in the rooms and they use their own power generator during the electricity cuts. We were totally happy with the restaurant and also the bar. when were we go around kathmandu and left the room with a total mass, the room cleaning service cleaned our room by the time we were back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petersoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Petersoe!
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us on your visit to Nepal. We are pleased to receive your nice review of our hotel and your satisfaction with our services.We welcome you to visit us again!

-Jeshon
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My friends and I stayed 6 nights and we were extremely happy with our choice. A very beautiful boutique hotel with amazing staff and in prominent location with markets, restaurant & bars around. Room comes with wifi access, complimentary fruit and drinks (from bar fridge) for suites & free morning paper as well. As electricity cuts are common in Kathmandu, this hotel has their own power generator so you are assured of hot water and electricity 24/7. The day and night managers gave us the feeling of being at home with 24 hours of house keeping, front desk service and restaurant & bar. On our last night, we were given farewell dinner -(Nepali cuisine)
after we finished our tour with the hotel. It was really an enjoyable stay for us and we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Always ask higher floor for the great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi Chandra!
Thank You so much for sharing your beautiful experience and rating us so high on TripAdvisor.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team efforts and takes the time to write about it. I have forwarded this review to all those concerned and they are so proud to hear about your review!

Thanks for choosing Hotel Norbu Linka.

-Jeshon
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
1.1 mi away
Summerhill House
Summerhill House
#5 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.2 mi away
Platinum Hotel & Spa
Platinum Hotel & Spa
#77 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Greenwich Village
Hotel Greenwich Village
#7 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Norbu Linka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Norbu Linka

Property: Hotel Norbu Linka
Address: GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Norbu Linka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Thamel, Hotel Norbulinka features a mix of modern décor and traditional carvings and artworks. It offers rooms with a private bathroom an on-site restaurant and a free airport pick-up service.Room are air-conditioned and feature a wardrobe and cable TV. A private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.Hotel Norbulinka is 3 km from both Central Bus Park Gongabu and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu is 6 km from the hotel.Guests have access to free Wi-Fi in the hotel’s common areas. A safety deposit box is available at the 24-hour reception. A currency exchange and tour desk is conveniently located at the hotel, which also provides laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra cost.Restaurant serves a variety of cuisines including Nepalese, Tibetan and Indian. Jasmine Bar offers a wide selection of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Norbu Linka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing