We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home in Kathmandu since 1997”
Review of Hotel Norbu Linka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Norbu Linka
Ranked #98 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My home in Kathmandu since 1997”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a great hotel with super helpful staff. The roof top garden is one of the best places to relax and recover from climbing and trekking. Tired travelers will love the endless supply of hot water and quiet rooms close to Thamel.
I have stayed at the Hotel Norbulinka since 1997 and recommend it to climbers, trekkers, friends and family.

Room Tip: I always stay on the 5th floor, but the suites on the 4th floor are very nice. The hotel has cable T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for rating so highly on Trip Advisor. We are truly honored!
Also,we are very glad to hear about your stay and providing the room tips.
We look forward to seeing you again!

-Jeshon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    63
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
35
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Gillis-Waas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

In the heart of thamel you will find a peaceful and excellent hotel. Good accomodation, very clean rooms from basic to luxury for a reasonable price. The staff is very polite and friendly and always helpfull. I travel 4 times to Kathmandu in a year, this hotel is a second home for me, my basecamp on the border of the Himalayan mountains.The hotel you can trust.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_van_den_Berghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hello! Feels great to hear your review and trusting our hotel as your second home. We believe, customer service is our 1st priority and we always prioritize your comfort and well being. We are glad that we could make your stay in Nepal comfortable.
-Jeshon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

At Hotel Norbu Linka I felt like beeing at home. Staff is very polite and friendly. Rooms are well-kept and clean. There is good athmosphere and it´s peaceful hotel :) When I come back to Kathmandu I will stay at Norbu Linka again :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi271071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are very happy to know that you liked every aspect of our Service.We look forward to seeing you again!
-Jeshon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

To experence the Historical City of kathmandu this is the perfect place to live in for me I had the most comfortable living during my trip with the great peple and the servie is EXCELLENT very helpfull information provided and the place is very clean with unice decoretion. I loved every moment at the hoteal and i will give 110% for its service offer. Highly Reccomend to experince the Nepali Tibetain Hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear John, Thank you so much for rating us so high on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you liked every aspect of our Service.We look forward to seeing you again!!!
-Jeshon
Hotel Norbu Linka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great value, as there are a range of rooms to choose from and it's right in the heart of thamel. Recent expansion has been tastefully done and gives you more choice of rooms from basic to luxury. it is very reasonably priced, clean, very well managed with friendly staff,

Room Tip: i love the roof top where i can see lovely mountan,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikashdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Bikashdev,

Namaste and Greetings From Hotel Norbu Linka !

We are pleased to receive your nice review of our hotel and your satisfaction with our services.
If you remembered we've renovated and refurbished our restaurant which will be open 24/7 days named as "JASMINE CAFE AND BAR".
We hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Norbu Linka on your next visit to Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was worried before landing at Kathmandu after hearing about all the rumors of bad quality service, bad food and over costly expenses. But after staying my first few days at this hotel changed my feelings. The happy service, pure organic coffee on the roof at early morning, nearby Thamel market and most of all for me the relatively cheap price tag for all this made my trip just excellent. Also the staffs will help you organize your trips and arrange transport at cheap rate. No scams and no bs. This is a trust-able and good place to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi! Thank you so much for having chosen to stay with us on your visit to Nepal. We are very happy to know that you liked every aspect of our Service.We look forward to seeing you again!!! -
-Jeshon
Hotel Norbu Linka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Beautiful interiors and very comfortable lay out!! a very relaxing environment and a home away from home!! Very Nice!! and also easy access to transport and easy for travelling to places..i dont know what else to say...this is all i could think of..will write more the next time i visit?? haha..hope to return soon..hehehe..,hahahha

Room Tip: choose the 4th room on the 2nd floor!! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luneez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Luneez,

Namaste and Greetings From Hotel Norbu Linka !

We are pleased to receive your nice review of our hotel and your satisfaction with our services.
If you remembered we've renovated and refurbished our restaurant which will be open 24/7 days named as "JASMINE CAFE AND BAR".
We hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Norbu Linka on your next visit to Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
23.8 mi away
Hotel Samana
Hotel Samana
#1 of 1 in Hetauda
28 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Horizon
Hotel Blue Horizon
#86 of 203 in Kathmandu
435 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 203 in Kathmandu
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Platinum Hotel & Spa
Platinum Hotel & Spa
#83 of 203 in Kathmandu
46 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 203 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Norbu Linka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Norbu Linka

Property: Hotel Norbu Linka
Address: GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Norbu Linka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Thamel, Hotel Norbulinka features a mix of modern décor and traditional carvings and artworks. It offers rooms with a private bathroom an on-site restaurant and a free airport pick-up service.Room are air-conditioned and feature a wardrobe and cable TV. A private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.Hotel Norbulinka is 3 km from both Central Bus Park Gongabu and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu is 6 km from the hotel.Guests have access to free Wi-Fi in the hotel’s common areas. A safety deposit box is available at the 24-hour reception. A currency exchange and tour desk is conveniently located at the hotel, which also provides laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra cost.Restaurant serves a variety of cuisines including Nepalese, Tibetan and Indian. Jasmine Bar offers a wide selection of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Norbu Linka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing