We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing little bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nepali Tapas Bar

Nepali Tapas Bar
Ranked #358 of 717 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Nepali, Bar, Spanish, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are the first tapas bar in Thamel - Kathmandu. Probably first in the country to serve Nepali snacks as tapas.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An amazing little bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

A very relaxed atmosphere, with good service and excellent band. Was quite full and had to wait for a table. The kind of place that you do not leave fast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afatravels, Owner at Nepali Tapas Bar, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear John,
Thanks a lot for your review. It helps us to grow and gives us faith on serving better and better.
We will do our best to make our visitors happy and comfortable and same time we want to promote Nepali snacks in international market. This is the small attempt and we are committed to improve it in another level.
Thanks once again for your faith and visiting at our place.
Mr. Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good steak, nice band”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here with a group of friends. The steak was good, and the tapas are good as well. Price is reasonable. There was a live band singing to some nice songs. Overall the atmosphere was casual & relax.

Helpful?
Thank Amos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afatravels, Owner at Nepali Tapas Bar, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Amos S,
Thanks a lot for your review. It helps us to grow. Also it gives us energy to keep working to do better and better. We are committed to bring Nepali snacks in international market and we found this Tapas way better. Review from customer like you gives us positive energy.
Thank you once again.
Mr. pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Helphul to try even rare nepali dishes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Tapas means small part of a dish for trying (3 pieces of momos, for example)! I ordered 5 tapas, and satisfyed so much! One of the soups- for pregnant! Only here I saw ones in menu!...Breakfast - 110 with 10 % tax! Movies on big screen! Amazing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikolayN35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pande328, Owner at Nepali Tapas Bar, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank You for the review. We are trying to promote local taste to introduce in international market. Nepali food are more influenced by Indian taste though we have our own ethnicity and culinary art. As we are very diverse culturally and geographically, we are equally rich culinary art. Because of many reason our local taste is in endanger. Knowing that fact, we started Nepali Tapas. Its a big challenge for us because most of the food items that we are serving are not really promoted. Customer like you always help us to build our confident. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great tapas and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

It's a small and cozy tapas joint, right above the busy streets of Thamel. Enjoy your tapas and drinks while enjoying the view if the buzzing shopping down below. Food and drinks were reasonable and good especially the vegetable pakoras! Miss them still.

Helpful?
1 Thank St3pK4ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afatravels, Owner at Nepali Tapas Bar, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Nepali Tapas and writing this great review. It helps us to grow! We are committed to promote Nepali local snacks in international market and we found Tapas way. We will do our best to improve our service in another level, provide more relaxing atmosphere to customer and to improve in whole hospitality and cleanliness.
Thanks once again!
Mr. Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice to try tapas size”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice to try different tapas and don't get full too soon.

No light only candles so you can think of it being romantic. Staff friendly and informative. Peanut tapas nice as a starter. Also had another starter, stir fried veggie. Two curries tasty but portion too small. We ordered another side dish of the Indian pancake to go with the curries. Yummy. Ordered two more native tapas to try. One looks like a thick piece of bread. The other dried veggie. Both just for the purpose of trying, not very appealing to us.

Staff went downstairs to get a taxi for us but he could have known more about taxi fares. For the same trip back to Hyatt, all the other restaurants helped us find taxis ranging from 350 to 400, even at night. They got us a taxi asking for 1,000. Since it was our first night out, we really didn't know much about the taxi fares and only bargained it down to 800, which was still double than the other restaurants' help!

Overall food and atmosphere not bad though a bit slow.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nickiBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afatravels, Owner at Nepali Tapas Bar, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Nepali Tapas and writing this great review. It helps us to grow! We are committed to promote Nepali local snacks in international market and we found Tapas way. We will do our best to improve our service in another level, provide more relaxing atmosphere to customer and to improve in whole hospitality and cleanliness.
Thanks once again!
Mr. Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepali Tapas Bar also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu Valley, Bagmati Zone
 

Been to Nepali Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing