We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Nepali tapas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nepali Tapas Bar

Nepali Tapas Bar
Ranked #329 of 706 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Nepali, Bar, Spanish, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are the first tapas bar in Thamel - Kathmandu. Probably first in the country to serve Nepali snacks as tapas.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Nepali tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Went here a couple of times during my two week stay in Kathmandu. Both times I went with a group of about ten people and we sat on the cushions around a big table. I would recommend going with a group as you get to try a little bit of each tapas dish. I enjoyed the smoked mushrooms, yak cheese and haru baru (can't remember the exact spelling).

Helpful?
Thank Dominique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afatravels, Owner at Nepali Tapas Bar, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Nepali Tapas and writing this great review. It helps us to grow! We are committed to promote Nepali local snacks in international market and we found Tapas way. We will do our best to improve our service in another level, provide more relaxing atmosphere to customer and to improve in whole hospitality and cleanliness.
Thanks once again!
Mr. Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“good place if you want to try diff items on the menu in small servings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

i went here on my last day in Nepal. It's i the 2nd floor of a building along one of the main streets in Thamel. The menu is quite extensive but i stuck to the tapas menu so that i'll be able to try more items. Having just had breakfast at my hotel (I went at around 10am), i resigned to ordering only three items on the tapas menu.

on the waiter's recommendation, I ordered the cheese sandeko (marinated yak cheese), buff sekuwa (grilled buffalo meat), and bara (lentil patties). Took around maybe 15 minutes to arrive. I really enjoyed all three!! However, if you don't like the strong red onions, you might want to tell the waiter to not include these in the cheese sandeko. The cheese and tomatoes were really good, though. The buffalo meat was grilled nicely and was tasty. They give you 5 small cubes. My favorite was the lentil patties. Do eat this as soon as it's placed on the table as i imagine it wouldn't be as good if it wasn't warm anymore. for the lentil patties, you'll be given three thin triangular-shaped patties.

Ambience is nice and cozy. I would've wanted to order more tapas if i weren't already so full from the two breakfasts i had that morning. I also would've wanted to try their cocktails also.

free wifi. smoking allowed inside. and the young waiter who attended to me was really nice. got to chat with him a bit and after the meal, he accompanied me to a nearby dairy store cos i wanted to buy yak cheese to bring home.

this is probably a nice chill place to have drinks + small bites. totally recommend!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afatravels, Owner at Nepali Tapas Bar, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Nepali Tapas and writing this great review. It helps us to grow! We are committed to promote Nepali local snacks in international market and we found Tapas way. We will do our best to improve our service in another level, provide more relaxing atmosphere to customer and to improve in whole hospitality and cleanliness.
Thanks once again!
Mr. Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great food/ambiance, amazing hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I couchsurfed Nepal and spent my last night at Nepali Tapas Bar (owned by a family that Couchsurfs, too). Each dish was delicious, to say the least. Free WiFi that worked fairly well. They were happy to let guests change the TV channels and sit and relax as long as they wanted too. We ended up staying there until 2 or 3am, and to top the night off, the bartender made a flaming shot tower! Next time I'm in Kathmandu, I'll definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ajaco22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afatravels, Owner at Nepali Tapas Bar, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Nepali Tapas and writing this great review. It helps us to grow! We are committed to promote Nepali local snacks in international market and we found Tapas way. We will do our best to improve our service in another level, provide more relaxing atmosphere to customer and to improve in whole hospitality and cleanliness.
Thanks once again!
Mr. Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very impressive!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I went to this place with friends randomly for some food and we all are very impressed! The first thing that attract us is the refreshment towel. They used to provide a wet towel which is best for sanitizing and wiping. It gives a positive feeling before eating food.
Very good menu fairly priced and quantity is also ok. We have some snacks with glasses of cocktails and now one of my friend is willing to make a cocktail party. Good cocktail menu and seems so professional. Staff are friendly and service is good. I found a homey environment.
They played a Nepali folk and remix music. Good music, good food, good cocktail, good service and great ambience. What else we need? I highly suggest to visit this place.

Helpful?
Thank Dhakal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afatravels, Owner at Nepali Tapas Bar, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Nepali Tapas and writing this great review. It helps us to grow! We are committed to promote Nepali local snacks in international market and we found Tapas way. We will do our best to improve our service in another level, provide more relaxing atmosphere to customer and to improve in whole hospitality and cleanliness.
Thanks once again!
Mr. Pandey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Surpised cuisine experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just randomly passed by this fantastic eatery, since I stayed at a hotel nearby! Tiny small portions but super well - made and served! Try the tempura and soup of the day, then decided that I would highly recommend it here!
Love it! Free wifi as well! A trekker from Vietnam just finishing his Gokyo-EBC route and so happy to find this place in Kathmandu.))

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sondang-VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepali Tapas Bar also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Nepali Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing