We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable retreat and lodging”
Review of Chhahari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chhahari
Ranked #106 of 439 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Roseville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A memorable retreat and lodging”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

After spending 2 days in chaotic Kathmandu and 12 days on the trail to Annapurna Base Camp,
our stay at Chhahari Retreat was incredible. Nestled in the foothills above the city, Chhahari is certainly a five star facility. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The grounds are landscaped with flowers, shrubs, fruit trees, and natural waterways. The staff were friendly, and helpful, and the food was delicious. Our stay at Chhahari is a lasting memory of our trip to Nepal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHHAHARI, Manager at Chhahari, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Bruce
Thank you for taking time and sharing with us your wonderful experience of your stay at Chhahari. We are glad to hear that you had a memorable experience during your stay with us at CHHAHARI. It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guest has left the lodge with memorable experiences and would like to visit again in future.Your sincere appreciation of our hard work to provide a unique experience has motivated us more to thrive for the ultimate excellence. Thank you again we look forward to have you soon at CHHAHARI.
Best Regards
Tenzing ( Chhahari).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed in a few places in and around Kathmandu, and this was by far the most special. The grounds are beautiful, the food is excellent, and the owners treat the guests like family. You are also a bit removed from the chaos and noise of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHHAHARI, Manager at Chhahari, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Christina,
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your wonderful experiences in our Trip Advisor page . We are glad to hear that you had a memorable experience during your stay at Chhahari. We are always looking to give our best and will always keep thriving to exceed our guest’s expectation during their stay with us.
Thank you.
We look forward to having you back soon.

Best Regards
Tenzing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A perfect gate away ....out of the world experience though it is so close to the city. ...pamper yourself in the nature...get your pair of apron to help dai cook your food to match your palette...listen to breeze whistle your ears in the hanging deck...and be optimistic talking to the young owner-Nima back from US with full of entrepreneurship..enjoyed talking about organic farming, exporting coffee to US, hospitality business...however my complain to Nima "you are hiding an oasis from us" !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajan_Pradhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHHAHARI, Owner at Chhahari, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Rajan Ji

Thank you for kind words. Hope you enjoyed speaking with Nima about Coffee. FYI - we are providing our own grown organic coffee at the retreat, so next time you can enjoy them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here for some days i 2012, and it was a great experience, Beautiful surroundings, a very freindly staff, nice rooms, and a very quiet place to relax. I enjoyed my stay very much, and would like to come back. I was there is march 2012, ( not a possible selection further down on this form

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Einar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHHAHARI, Manager at Chhahari, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Einar,

Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about us on trip adviser. It’s always a pleasure to receive such positive response from our guest.
We are glad to hear that you had a memorable experience during your stay with us at Chhahari.
We look forward to having you back soon.

Best Regards
Tenzing ( Chhahari)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Village Hotel & Resort
Park Village Hotel & Resort
#77 of 198 in Kathmandu
174 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 198 in Kathmandu
369 reviews
5.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Budhanil Guest House
Budhanil Guest House
#243 of 439 in Kathmandu
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shivapuri Heights Cottage
Shivapuri Heights Cottage
#7 of 439 in Kathmandu
304 reviews
10.4 mi away
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
#203 of 439 in Kathmandu
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chhahari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chhahari

Property: Chhahari
Address: Shivapuri Forest Reserve | Buddhanilkanta, Kathmandu 881, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired architecturally by traditional Nepali living space, Chhahari showcases the retro Nepali craftsmanship throughout the space.Say hello to the alternative. Say hello to Chhahari – a fantastic retreat, organic haven, powered by alternative energy, offering panoramic views of the valley and introducing you to a more wholesome lifestyle.Nestled in the lap of the Shivapuri hills, bordering the wildlife and flora rich - Shivapuri National Park, Chhahari does not do things differently. It does different things. At this quaint boutique getaway, you will not find uniformed staffs or extravagant four-course meals. No phone calls to disturb your siesta, nor a television to distract your thoughts.Chhahari shuns anything that gets in the way of relaxation and complete peace of mind. At Chhahari, let nature prod you into getting off the grid. Let your mind wander with abandon. Breathe in the fresh air of the northern hills. Take in the abundant greenery. Bask in the warm sunlight at 1600m. Listen to the sounds of the forest. Feel the afternoon breeze as it bounces off the hills. Do not rush. Take in the details. Reminisce. Replenish. Rejuvenate. At Chhahari, we understand the importance of privacy and space. For this reason, Chhahari chooses to have only a limited number of rooms at present. The emphasis quite bluntly is on you and your space and nothing else. The eco-friendly, boutique lodge bases itself on a different set of values that set an example for others to follow. Organic food, alternative energy, a focus on greenery, use of local products and the aesthetic design sense of the place – all set the mood right for guests who understand the importance of implementing these ideas in the hospitality industry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing