We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience I still can't wrap my brain around!”
Review of The Crematoria

The Crematoria
Ranked #13 of 178 things to do in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An experience I still can't wrap my brain around!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I don't think I would go here two times but the one time was a must! WOW! Interesting to learn about other cultures and this was certainly no exception!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WendiAyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    349
    130
    28
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,996 reviews
1,772 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,658 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is Pashupatinath Temple and the sights you see here will stay in your mind for a long time after you have left. Death and grieving are on display in a way very different to western culture. You might feel slightly uncomfortable watching the events going on here. It is almost factory like with its efficiency. A body takes 3 hours to burn and they get through about 30 per day. You will see grieving families washing bodies in the Bagmati River. People draped in white or gold robes. It is all very symbolic. Have respect and don't get too close with your cameras and keep quiet. Tourists watch from the opposite side of the river. Sadhus or Holy Men in all their Technicolour glory will pose for photos if given 15Rs.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A very different experience”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

So, this was a very ... different ... experience, and it's not for everyone. The smell of the smoke stayed in my hair/clothes after (but, so does everything in Kathmandu).
You could watch the rituals taking place before the cremations. It was a bit strange to watch people's grief as a tourist attraction, and I therefore refrained from taking pictures.
None the less, it's a very interesting thing to see if you are not from a Hindu country.
I still felt weird about watching this, but I think most people from countries where bodies are not publicly burned would feel weird about this.

I'd be very interested to know how the families feel about tourists coming here for a cultural experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smfische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check First”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We visited this UNESCO World Heritage site as a part of a day tour when we first arrived in Kathmandu. We valued the cultural ritual of this ancient site but were unprepared for the open grief and confronting scenes we were privy to. Ask your tour guide if it is on the tour and perhaps read a little about it before going there. We were so wrapped up in our pending EBC trek that we had not given this site too much thought. I was haunted by the young woman who had lost her husband and her grief stricken cries. So public yet so very personal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 381Valj61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The cycle of life”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The timeless ritual of farewell, ashes to ashes and return to the waters of life. Take the time to watch and reflect......

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Muller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crematoria also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to The Crematoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing