We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freaky”
Review of The Crematoria

The Crematoria
Ranked #12 of 177 things to do in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Freaky”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I saw some old man get cremated and then ashes pushed into the river. Same river some kids were bathing and playing in. Amazing thing to see, if you can cope with this sort of stuff

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erics0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    346
    127
    27
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enthralling”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had never seen such a sight before and I was stunned. You will be across the river, but you will have a clear view of cremation ceremonies being performed. I was respectful as it was apparent that the families across the river were in mourning. It provided me great insight to the Hindu religion and the local culture. The overall area is in poor condition but you have to remember that Nepal is a very poor country and conditions like that are common. If you think you would feel strange in viewing such an event, you should not visit this site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank crowriverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible, educational”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Fascinating, very impressive! We expected it to be "creepy" to watch, but it is not, instead it gave us a completely different point of view of life

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
379 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Fascinating and educational”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a must see... you can learn so much about the culture, the people and the religion. Don't go the the cremation site itself, really that can be a bit grim to be so close to it all, and somewhat intrusive, but g across the other side of the river and sit opposite the cremation pyres there you can see everything and all the rituals without imposing on the mourners.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DAVID V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had heard that the Hindu religion required cremation but it was really brought home when we observed several cremations in various stages. We were also privileged to watch the ceremony for a gentleman that was being prepared for his cremation. Very interesting and educational.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crematoria also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to The Crematoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing