We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JDE0911” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crematoria

The Crematoria
Ranked #10 of 173 things to do in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“JDE0911”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I found this place very interesting. The night I went there, there were prayers with three priests with fire and chanting with the people congregated there. It was very respecful and peaceful. There were a lot of people when I went and a few cremations underway. The only things is with the dust and the smoke in Kathmadu at the moment it was a all a bit polluted....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JDE0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    318
    108
    25
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Higher understanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Observing the cremation process will lead you to really give yourself a thought about your own belief system.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DerrickCTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Crematoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Put your "big boots" on for this one. The river is extremely polluted and it is difficult watching the young boy who trolls the water for coins near the cremations.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you are in Kathmandu, take advantage of this experience. There are probably very few places in the world you can see this. The air quality is poor due to the constant burning, and you will come away with your clothes smelling awful. But the cremation process is extremely interesting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank qak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Glad I went but I felt uneasy being there.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

It was a unique experience but I felt uncomfortable intruding on a family's grief. Our guide took us there. We were on the other side of the river from the cremations. I got some good photos of "holy" men in bright orange dress on the tourist's side of the river.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EyeTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crematoria also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to The Crematoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing