We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay at Kathmandu Homestay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathmandu Homestay

Kathmandu Homestay
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kathmandu Homestay
Ranked #198 of 436 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome stay at Kathmandu Homestay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I had a really great stay at the Kathmandu Homestay! I stay here after my trek to ABC.
It has a very good location – away from hustle and bustle with a really warm, familiar and relaxed atmosphere. On the beautiful roof-deck with many plants it is also nice to relax after a long day! Everyone at the Kathmandu Homestay is very nice and helpful. Mr.Sujan the owner, also has a travel agency, so don't hesitate to ask for advice for trips and trekking tours - he can organize it for you! Another sign for the great hospitality there is that you can order tea, a refreshing drink or milk tea (my favourite) all the time.I had really Awesome with Kathmandu Homestay Family .
I enjoyed my stay there very much and I can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Homestay, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest
Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Homestay..

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Homestay and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a budget hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest as our guest's satisfaction is our main concern.

Stay Kathmandu Homestay , and re-discover…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed with Sujan and his family for 2 nights. Before I arrived in Nepal I contacted Sujan about arranging flights to Lukla and trekking permits, he always emailed back promptly and I was impressed with his service, so I decided to stay at his home stay. The cleanliness was good, the bed was comfy, the shower was hot, breakfast on the roof terrace was nice and the free flowing Nepalese tea was delicious. We had dinner with Sujan and his family one evening, they were so welcoming and friendly to us. We ended up getting Sujan to book us a guide for our trek, the guide was called Ramchandra he was brilliant, always happy and always smiling and he really made our trek a good one. I would definitely stay here again, it was a great start to my trip to Nepal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Homestay, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest
Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Homestay..

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Homestay and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

It is our pleasure to have you as our guest .We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a budget hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest as our guest's satisfaction is our main concern.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Homestay , and re-discover…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I think it is very good idea to establish a such a nice "hotelhouse" as the Kathmandu Homestay. If you are far abroud and you are interested in every day life of the Nepali people, you have to stay in Kathmandu Homestay in a quiet not busy surrounding of Kathmandu. If you are retired people with relaxing wish I recommend you this hotel. If you would like to write a novel in a clean, not noisy, cheep hotelroom you can stay here for a longer time. Sujan the hotel owner and manager and his kind wife and family gives a good garantee for your good feeling and satisfaction. Have a nice stay in Kathmandu Homesty!

Room Tip: Please contact with Sujan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doktorkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Homestay, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest
Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Homestay..

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Homestay and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

.We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a budget hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest as our guest's satisfaction is our main concern.

Stay Kathmandu Homestay , and re-discover…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Kathmandu homestay for 2 nights in October and really wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in my next stay. We arrived in Kathmandu tired of flight ,it was really great to be picked up from the airport and driven in a comfortable car direct to kathmandu homestay . It was really nice to have breakfast with Sujan and his family it was feeling of being home . We also asked for evening meal one evening, which was high quality and was a good opportunity to sample local cuisine . Which was very cheap and convenient . The other gust staying there at same time seemed very happy . Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Homestay, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest
Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Homestay..

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Homestay and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

It is our pleasure to have you as our guest .We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a budget hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest as our guest's satisfaction is our main concern.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Homestay , and re-discover…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently I have been to Nepal as I always love to visit various places in the world but the experience with staying at Kathmandy Homestay was unforgettable . during my stay i have learnt typical Nepalese culture , the way of lifestyle ,typical Nepalese houses and narrow walk way through the fields get to know the traditional food eg: GUNDRUK and DHIDO . Had an opportunity to visit beautiful countryside with fresh air which is key to the natural beauty of the village. I had an opportunity to interect with local people and found out the depth of its tradition , culture , food and lifestyle . I found that I was very close to the nature and its beauty . i am impressed with the hospitality of Kathmandu home stay team.And special thank to mr Susan for organising such experience in my life . I would like to wish all the best to the Kathmandu Homestay !!!

Room Tip: Room service is super
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Destiny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Homestay, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Homestay..

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Homestay and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

It is our pleasure to have you as our guest .We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a budget hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest as our guest's satisfaction is our main concern.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Homestay , and re-discover…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.8 mi away
Blue Mountain Homestay
Blue Mountain Homestay
#6 of 436 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#41 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#9 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Homestay

Property: Kathmandu Homestay
Address: Echangunarayan-9 | Radha Krishna Temple, Manakamana Marg, Kathmandu 9572, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 436 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home stay programme is set up with the purpose of providing foreign visitors to Nepal to stay in a less conventional environment and at the same time to experience and immerse themselves into our Nepalese way of life as members of our family.Our home stay in the village of Echangunarayan (Near ear Radha Krishna Mandir) is amongst agricultural farms, typical Nepalese houses and narrow walk ways through the fields, beautiful and vast country side with air as fresh as the morning dew, making village life attractive as it comes with natural beauty with all its worth. Visitors will get to share the real experience of Nepal and its people with their culture, traditions, food and life style through your choice to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kathmandu Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing