We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trekkers' Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trekkers' Home
Ranked #13 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice cheap hotel in the centre of Thamel with friendly staff. The room wasn't perfect - sheets could have been cleaner and water in the shower smelt a bit 'rusty' but no major problems and would consider going back if I just needed somewhere cheap for a night or 2.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    89
    26
    12
    13
See reviews for
26
102
154
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

What really made this hotel amazing was the staff. They are so helpful and went out of their way to help me plan my trekking trip. They are very friendly and you could ask them anything. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okochuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

+ friendly, welcoming! and helpful staff
+ clean rooms
+ perfect location
+ strong WiFi signal

All in all a positive experience so I would definitely recommend it and go back when visiting Kathmandu again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sevrien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I came to Kathmandu with a couple of friends and I highly recommend Trekker's Home to any young students looking for a super clean and friendly place to park themselves. The service is spot on and Dip, Sanjay and Santosh make you feel at home :) extremely reasonable rates and very accommodating people, a place you must visit.
Cheers,
Keshav

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Keshav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Amazing service, great location, clean rooms with attached bathrooms and cheap! Friendliest people in Nepal. They have a location in Pokhara as well under a different name, they give you the best deals on travel in and around Kathmandu. Great Indian food within the hotel itself and a rooftop view overlooking Thamel. Truelly a difficult find within the busy streets of Kathmandu. At times overlooked by most because of the narrow entrance to the hotel. Staff goes out of their way to help you, even during the busiest times. Air conditioned rooms for a very cheap price and televisions within the rooms if you're lucky even an attached balcony.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Awesome staff and a safe, clean and comfortable environment made trekkers home a 'home away from home' for me. All the staff are friendly and helpful with any enquiry big or small, and are never put out by any request. The rooms are a good size and are clean and well decked out with TV, fan wardrobe, desk etc..which is great for the budget cost. WiFi and general amenities are spot on and the restaurant serves great food, as good as anywhere i found, and a reasonable price (even to your door if you're feeling lazy). I stayed for 2 days before heading to pokhara and chose somewhere else when I returned, big mistake! I lasted 1 hour then checked myself back in to trekkers for 3 more nights before I head off for langtang. I wont make the same mistake twice and will be staying again in 2 weeks time for sure! All in all top place to stay in a crazy city. Couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 4th floor so fairly quiet at night. Chat with the guys about what room might suit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazza107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The staff were always very helpful and accommodating. We stayed here before and after our 7 day trek and would not hesitate to return to Trekkers Home. Good location in Thamel and rooms were good value. Fantastic pizza restaurant nearby recommended by the staff. If you're looking to do a trek the in house travel agent (also hotel manager) Dep was great. We had a fantastic guide and really enjoyed our trek organised in the hostel, would recommend asking for Jiban the guide if he's available! Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessrb543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#41 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#15 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#9 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trekkers' Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers' Home

Property: Trekkers' Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu’s historic landing pad for travelers,Trekkers’ Home offers comfortable accommodation for backpackers,trekkers and tourists from across the globe.We have a total of 40 guest rooms, among them single, double, triple and family suites, all of which are complete with en-suite bathrooms. Our guest rooms feature fair-trade, traditional Nepali decor, while ceilings and windows exhibit Tibetan carvings and color schemes. Twelve of our guest rooms have open-air balconies, and all guests are invited to enjoy our rooftop terrace, which offers fantastic views of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath and the LhakpaDorjee and Ganesh Himalayan ranges. We Provide Free High Speed Broad Band WiFi.Our central Thamel location makes for the perfect starting point to get acquainted with Thamel’s wide variety. Guests can easily explore Durbar Square (15-minute walk), the Narayanhity Royal Palace (10-minute walk), Swayambhunath, or the “Monkey Temple,” (25-minute walk), and many more of the city’s most famous attractions. Trekkers home is half a mile from the Garden of Dreams and one mile from the British Embassy.Our hotel is 20 minutes (7Km) car drive from Kathmandu International Airport. Similarly the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Tourist bus station and it is located central part of Thamel at J.P. road in front of Nepal Investment Bank Thamel. Taxi is the easiest way to get to our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trekkers' Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing