We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and friendly staff”
Review of Trekkers' Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trekkers' Home
Ranked #17 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed in this place before I went on a trek and decided to come back afterwards. The rooms are spacious and beds are clean, there's a 24 hour hot shower (and a nice shower too), wifi works well even when there's a power outage and - most of all - the owner and staff are really friendly and are willing to help you out on various occasions, such as changing to a nicer room as well as trekking permits and that kind of stuff. Location is good as well (but that goes for almost every place in Thamel, there are plenty of restaurants and outdoor shops on your doorstep. I would definitely recommend this place; we booked in advance and everything turned out great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajendra B, Owner at Trekkers' Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 676 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just read the below review and think it is a bit unfair. The staff at Trekkers Home are amazing, friendly, honest and always willing to help. I asked the manager (Dep) to help me organise transport to cross the Indian border and was told he would rather not as it is very dodgy business. He warned me to be very careful and to perhaps fly across instead. I saw him give this useful information to another group of tourists as well. It is a well known fact that there is unavoidable corruption at the border and that most companies on the Nepal side will overcharge you for the ticket. This is NO fault of Trekkers Home, it is the fault of Sri Sai.

I came to Trekkers home with hopes of finding a good deal on a trek, and was not disappointed! I was given a very good deal and well taken care of during my Trek (Poon Hill). It was an amazing trek with great food and good accommodation. The manager also provided me with a few things i needed for the trek, free of charge.
I came back with an injury and was very well taken care of by hotel staff, even moved to a room on a lower level to avoid the stairs! I highly recommend this place. For accommodation and for trekking! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rochelle2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I loved the quality of service that was provided by Trekkers Home Hotel which is located in Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal. I am very pleased by the warm wellcome of mr Raj. I wish to stay in this hotel during my next visit also. Thank you to all the members of Trakkers Home for such a gud service

Room Tip: The rooms and foods are excellent i loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramesh838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Trekkers' Home's location is very good, you can fine everything near your hotel. And the stuffs here are also very nice ti us. I spend a good time here:-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohannaWangde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Trekkers��home has good location, near lots of restaurant and store where you can go shopping! Basic facilities, reasonable price and the staff are so nice and friendly!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank 宗琳 黃
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in Trekkers Home for 4 nights and although the facilities were very basic the service was great. We planned our whole itinerary in Nepal through the hotel manager and we were incredibly satisfied with the result. The staff is very honest, friendly and helpful and made our stay in Trekkers Home a good one. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

When staying at Trekkers' Home we were able to easily organise with Dip (the manager) a 5 day trek in the Annapurna Mountain Range. He was incredibly honest when discussing prices in relation to details such as accommodation and food standards on the trek. For the price we paid the accommodation on the trek was satisfactory and the food was amazing. The best part of the trek was our guide Kapil, who even spent time with us when we arrived back in Pokhara, and even a few days later when we arrived back to Kathmandu. During the trek we were able to change our itinerary as we decided to spend a couple of days in Chitwan National Park after the trek. This was easily arranged by the Trekkers' Home staff. Back in Kathmandu the remainder of our holiday was spent at Trekkers' Home which is close to great bars, restaurants, and shops in Thamel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 210 in Kathmandu
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#18 of 210 in Kathmandu
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trekkers' Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers' Home

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu’s historic landing pad for travelers,Trekkers’ Home offers comfortable accommodation for backpackers,trekkers and tourists from across the globe.We have a total of 40 guest rooms, among them single, double, triple and family suites, all of which are complete with en-suite bathrooms. Our guest rooms feature fair-trade, traditional Nepali decor, while ceilings and windows exhibit Tibetan carvings and color schemes. Twelve of our guest rooms have open-air balconies, and all guests are invited to enjoy our rooftop terrace, which offers fantastic views of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath and the LhakpaDorjee and Ganesh Himalayan ranges. We Provide Free High Speed Broad Band WiFi.Our central Thamel location makes for the perfect starting point to get acquainted with Thamel’s wide variety. Guests can easily explore Durbar Square (15-minute walk), the Narayanhity Royal Palace (10-minute walk), Swayambhunath, or the “Monkey Temple,” (25-minute walk), and many more of the city’s most famous attractions. Trekkers home is half a mile from the Garden of Dreams and one mile from the British Embassy.Our hotel is 20 minutes (7Km) car drive from Kathmandu International Airport. Similarly the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Tourist bus station and it is located central part of Thamel at J.P. road in front of Nepal Investment Bank Thamel. Taxi is the easiest way to get to our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Trekkers' Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing