We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service, great rooms, right in the heart of Kathmandu”
Review of Trekkers' Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trekkers' Home
Ranked #15 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel owner Dib, is a great guy, who goes well out of his way to ensure your stay at the hotel is the best possible. He gives the best possible exchange rate, always friendly, inviting your to join him for some coffee. Super chill guy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 688 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

OK... for starters this is truly a backpackers' place. For the price I paid and the room I got, I would say my stay here was rather good. And with great location plus the friendly smiles from the management and staff made it a very good stay.

The room was somewhat clean with comfortable beds and a ceiling fan. Bathroom could be improved. Did not mind the curry smells from the restaurant below... Located in Thamel, I really did not go hungry as there were many great places to eat and also to shop!

Manager Dip is an awesome guy and so is Raj. They are helpful and knowledgeable. There is also a computer shop next to Dip's office. Great place for the price and location... just hanging out in the busy and crazy streets Thamel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevKung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I been to Nepal and stayed here for few days. This is a nice place in a great part of Thamel. The beds were very comfortable, the room was spotlessly clean.The staffs and manager are friendly helpful and giving recommendations what to visit and how. I would recommend this hotel to friends .Great place ,good value .I really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amyscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Trekkers home is such a nice place to stay. When you arrive at the Hotel you immidiatly feel welcome and at home thanks to the super nice staff. We arrived one day earlier, but that was not a problem at all. We got a huge room compared to the small price we paid for it. The hotel also helps you with booking bungee, bus tickets, flights, treks ect. They also have a luggage storage service wich is nice for trekkers who dont want to drag everything with the on their trek. All in all a positive experience with the hotel, an i would strongly reccomend it to others :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magnus164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Trekker' Home was really good, it is was our choice every time we came to Kathmandu!! Good location, nice rooms and great service! Very helpful to solve logistics problems! Best value for your money!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Situated in the centre of Thamel this hotel is hard to beat as regards convenience and value for money.We chose it as our first stop in Kathmandu before going to Pokhara and trekking.We are now back in Kathmandu and are staying there again that has to say something.We had a budget room the first stop but have now upgraded and the bed more comfortable.the rooms are clean the towels white and the wifi is quick and reliable.Trekkers home represents good value for money has adequate facilities helpful staff and is convenient.

Room Tip: Up grade to a deluxe beds are softer but after tea house beds any bed has to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SmartHippo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 weeks, and loved our stay. The location is in the very heart of Thamel, so every touristy stuff was within easy reach. I liked the big clean bathroom, that had nice printed tiles, as opposed to the commonly found plain whites. Our room had ample windows, so it's bright and not muggy. The bed linens were a high thread count cotton, like those of high end hotels. I think their Tibetan style molded ceilings, with pastel accents, looked pretty. Spice Garden, the restaurant in the 2nd Level, served us the best chef-grade Indian cuisine in Kathmandu. Their Continental menu is also delicious. I tried other Indian restaurants, even the flashy ones that charged 5-star prices, & no restaurant had ever come close to the delicious Indian food they served here. Being an avid cook myself, I noticed that what set their Indian cuisine apart was the use of premium ingredients. A fancy restaurant nearby charged me 3x, but their "cashew gravy" tasted like ground watermelon seeds, not cashew. But at Spice Garden, I can taste the real creamy ground cashew in my food. The old-fashioned interior of this restaurant didn't matter to me, because the food was just head and shoulders above, superior, than anywhere else. Besides the accommodation, & the food, what made me like my stay here was the high speed internet. We are a family who couldn't breathe in the absence of decent internet and their fiber optic connection was the deal maker in our stay. The hotel staff, & the manager, Dip, were top grade in their hospitality skills. They were courteous, friendly, informative and highly knowledgeable in all the areas that any tourist needed for an efficient tour/ trek. We made frequent trips to Boudnath Stupa, & the manager helped us hire a van. He negotiated for our fares & the van company agreed to charge us an affordable fare close to what a tiny small cab would have charged. So, that made our trips to the Stupa a comfortable & enjoyable ride. Would stay here again on our next trip to the Himalayas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1001FrequentTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 209 in Kathmandu
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#57 of 209 in Kathmandu
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#25 of 209 in Kathmandu
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trekkers' Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers' Home

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $10 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu’s historic landing pad for travelers,Trekkers’ Home offers comfortable accommodation for backpackers,trekkers and tourists from across the globe.We have a total of 40 guest rooms, among them single, double, triple and family suites, all of which are complete with en-suite bathrooms. Our guest rooms feature fair-trade, traditional Nepali decor, while ceilings and windows exhibit Tibetan carvings and color schemes. Twelve of our guest rooms have open-air balconies, and all guests are invited to enjoy our rooftop terrace, which offers fantastic views of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath and the LhakpaDorjee and Ganesh Himalayan ranges. We Provide Free High Speed Broad Band WiFi.Our central Thamel location makes for the perfect starting point to get acquainted with Thamel’s wide variety. Guests can easily explore Durbar Square (15-minute walk), the Narayanhity Royal Palace (10-minute walk), Swayambhunath, or the “Monkey Temple,” (25-minute walk), and many more of the city’s most famous attractions. Trekkers home is half a mile from the Garden of Dreams and one mile from the British Embassy.Our hotel is 20 minutes (7Km) car drive from Kathmandu International Airport. Similarly the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Tourist bus station and it is located central part of Thamel at J.P. road in front of Nepal Investment Bank Thamel. Taxi is the easiest way to get to our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Trekkers' Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing