We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice place”
Review of Trekkers' Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trekkers' Home
Ranked #14 of 196 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very nice place”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place in kathmandu.The Manager Mr Deep is very helpfull and a very Honest man.He helped us in everything concerning tracking,paraglading,flight tickets....and with the best prices.The hotel is simmilar to all other hotels in all Ktm so dont waste your time fiding beter cause u wont find @this price.Thx u Mr Deep for everything :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Georges K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    96
    26
    13
    14
See reviews for
29
105
161
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed at Trekker's Home for 5 weeks and I had a wonderful time. The location is great, in the center of Thamel. The hotel has got everything that is needed. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Hot water is available all the time and I could enjoy a nice view from the balcony of my room. Wifi works very well and is also available all the time (even during Nepal traditionnal power cut!!).

All the staff is very nice, helpful and honest. They worked very hard to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. Being there for a long time, I got to know them and I can tell that they are really concerned with fullfilling the needs of their guests. The manager is also a very nice person. He will provide all the information needed for trekking as he used to be a trekking guide. He is very reliable and works hard to make all his guests happy!

Therefore I would recommend very strongly Trekker's Home for a stay in Kathmandu. I am still in Nepal and everytime I will go back to Kathmandu, this will be my home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5555Marie5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5+ nights here. For a budget place ($14 per night), it was absolutely fine. Shower was hot most of the time, staff were friendly, and the hotel manager found us alternative accommodation on nights when they were full. Rooms were reasonably clean and electricity worked most of the time. They also provided air port pickup.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Farsheen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
200 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Airport pickup was great, they were so friendly where we could see their cheerful smile from afar and we even became friend immediately! Trekkers home is situated in Thamel, shopping right at the entrance of the hostel. Nicely located Thamel area right near Pilgrim bookshop and lots of trekking gear shops. Staff are friendly and helpful.What more we ask for with from a budget hostel, a bit better than enough especially we have such a cheerful and helpful staff in the house. They show us no fuss even with the 100 question we gave them. We love your room with balcony, hot shower was just what we wanted and needed. Be sure to consider trekkers' home if you are visiting Kathmandu, experience yourself the great hospitality yet in a budget place!

Room Tip: The room not facing street are more quiter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank loo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Staff is nice, no doubt about that... But: we had no hot water, the room was absolutely noisy (we could even hear our neighbours on the toilet) and we had cockroaches in our room.

Of course: USD 18 is not much per night... But after all the positive comments I would have never expected that.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had arranged the booking for 5 days over the phone and arrived after midnight. If we had arrived at a more civilized time we would not have stayed there for even one night. They showed us 3 rooms - the bathrooms were filthy. We chose the least terrible room. We had no choice but to stay one night as we had arrived so late. The shower was not usable as there was no cold water- the hot was scalding. They charged us $30 USD for the night. The next day we walked up the street and found a modern hotel- spotlessly clean, well run very friendly for 40 USD. The contrast was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SuzeHongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked the hotel through Agoda for 2 nights and had already full paid. We arrived the hotel at 22:30 on 19/9/2013. The hotel staff told us that they missed our reservation and the hotel was fully booked on that night. They however said that we could stay in an apartment at the rooftop.

The apartment was a mess. Chairs and the table were sticky. Beds were covered in dust. The apartment was very dirty and we killed 3 cockroaches. When we asked for the remote control for the air conditioner, the hotel staff gave us a remote of a different brand that could not turn on the air conditioner.

There was no hot water bath. Water leaked from the bathroom and water was everywhere in the bedroom. Water came out from the pipe was rusty and smelly.

We requested to change back to normal hotel room with twin beds immediately in the next morning. The hotel staff told us again that the hotel was fully booked on 20/9/2013 and said that we needed to stay in that apartment.

We had 2 friends coming to join us on 20/9/2013. A hotel reservation was made for them and fully paid through Ahoga as well. The hotel staff said that there was no room for my 2 friends and he was not aware that we had made a reservation. When we presented the hotel booking confirmation, the hotel staff said that he did not know the booking agent Agoda. He asked us to call Agoda to resolve the issue.

We spent a while to argue with the hotel staff in the lobby. The hotel staff finally said that we could move to Khangsar Guest House just around the corner of the street operated by the same boss. We agreed to move but that was another fully booked drama in Khangsar Guest House after we had a whole day activity and went back to Khangsar Guest House at night on 20/9/2013.

Though the location of both hotels are excellent, the hotels are not run honestly and rooms are overpriced. We finally moved to Dubar Square with way better service but just half price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vickie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#7 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 196 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#17 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#6 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trekkers' Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers' Home

Property: Trekkers' Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 196 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu’s historic landing pad for travelers,Trekkers’ Home offers comfortable accommodation for backpackers,trekkers and tourists from across the globe.We have a total of 40 guest rooms, among them single, double, triple and family suites, all of which are complete with en-suite bathrooms. Our guest rooms feature fair-trade, traditional Nepali decor, while ceilings and windows exhibit Tibetan carvings and color schemes. Twelve of our guest rooms have open-air balconies, and all guests are invited to enjoy our rooftop terrace, which offers fantastic views of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath and the LhakpaDorjee and Ganesh Himalayan ranges. We Provide Free High Speed Broad Band WiFi.Our central Thamel location makes for the perfect starting point to get acquainted with Thamel’s wide variety. Guests can easily explore Durbar Square (15-minute walk), the Narayanhity Royal Palace (10-minute walk), Swayambhunath, or the “Monkey Temple,” (25-minute walk), and many more of the city’s most famous attractions. Trekkers home is half a mile from the Garden of Dreams and one mile from the British Embassy.Our hotel is 20 minutes (7Km) car drive from Kathmandu International Airport. Similarly the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Tourist bus station and it is located central part of Thamel at J.P. road in front of Nepal Investment Bank Thamel. Taxi is the easiest way to get to our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Trekkers' Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing