We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Momos!”

Places Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #5 of 747 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Places - or Thau (ठाउँ) - is a cosy vegetarian restaurant quietly situated on Seven Corners, a side-street of the busy Thamel area. Whether you come in groups to hangout or alone to work on your travel photos, Places offers a relaxed environment. Places is run by Pradip and Sanjay.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Momos!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a nice lunch here - very mellow atmosphere (but smoking inside we didn't like). Service was a little slow but this is typical in Kathmandu. I had pesto momos- the dough actually has pesto and there is veg filling with great sauch for dipping. They were delicious! My boyfriend had quesadillas which were also great. The mint lemonade was extraordinary as well. Wish we could com back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    104
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Our saviour in KTM”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Literally.. We had been trekking for like 2 weeks, stayed in all kinds of dirty and uncorfortable places. For those who've not yet been in KTM, Nepal. The place is dirty as it gets, quite horrible tbh. But the Places was our ticket out. Clean, cozy, confortable, cheap, delicious and all together nice!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gurumir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldives
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cozy Environment Good Vegan Food”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Came for dinner with my wife. One of the best restaurant I have visited so far although i am not a vegetarian, enjoyed the food i had. Also got a Free tasty ice tea after a Four Square Check-inn unlock.

Helpful?
2 Thank cookmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place, pretty tasty food”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

This place has a nice atmosphere if you're looking for somewhere casual to eat, and it's decorated with some awesome art. The staff were nice and the food was very tasty. The only criticism I'd have is that the pastry on our moussaka was as hard as nails. Other than that, decent!

Helpful?
1 Thank ouzlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
272 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Respite from Thamel”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I had lunch here during much recent three week stay in Thamel and would have returned again if on my own (my friends preferred dining with more meat selections). The wait staff was very friendly and welcoming and atmosphere pleasant--you do have to remove shoes and sit on the floor (amidst comfortable pillows) in the non smoking section.

I selected the sampler menu and all items were extremely tasty and wholesome. Prices are very reasonable, compared to the regular Thamel restaurant scene.

It's a very relaxing place, quite the opposite of the streets in Thamel and many of its restaurants. Note: there was a rather loud patron who seemed very full of himself, so you can't escape all obnoxious sounds all of the time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moviegeekjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacmanche, Manager at Places Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Movie Geek - thank you for your review and thanks for promoting the 2nd of the seven corners of Thamel. Despite your friends kept you from Places at times, we appreciate you left with them - food is nothing without friends :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Places Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Kathmandu Valley, Bagmati Zone
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Places Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing