We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Kathmandu experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn
Ranked #51 of 442 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Kathmandu experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

No warm water was available when it was specifically asked for after trekking. Lights not working and unfriendly hotel owner. Far over priced for Kathmandu.
After complaining we were called liers and were not helped. We left very unhappy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hpmbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanTravelersIn, Owner at Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is very sad to see your dissatisfaction here.
We are always taking care of our client and working hard for the comfortable stay of our clients.
We accept that sometime there might be not good hot water in the shower due to long power cut schedule . But most of the time, we do have good hot shower available. When you complained at the reception about hot shower, we checked immediately at your bathroom and found out that there was good hot shower. After staying whole night, you were trying to leave in the morning without paying the bill. We tried to convince you first about everything but you were not convinced.
You threatened us to write a bad review if we charge the room bill. We charged the room bill and you also wrote above review. What can we do. Just thank you for visiting us and wish you good luck ahead.

Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    14
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
22
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is set far enough back that you escape what can sometimes be overwhelming traffic in thamel while still being in the perfect location for reaching the most popular tourist location in Kathmandu. The cafe food is superb and the staff is very friendly. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a place to stay in Kathmandu

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Actionsketch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very friendly staff, always at your service. Free wifi, doesn't work great but they do have it. Good location, Thamel is just behind the hotel, but still it's nice and quit at night. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gijs v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimalayanTravelersIn, Manager at Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to review our services.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us.
But regret that there was electricity problem. It is 12 hours power cut here everyday so the electricity is not available. However we have back up power here so that you can use the light in the room as well as Wi-Fi. . We assure you that we will improve it further in the future.
Thanking you again for selecting us, we are looking forward to see you again.

Himalayan Traveller's Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed at the hotel around a trip trekking in the Himalayas, and my service was excellent. I got sick in the mountains and had to come back early, but a room was still provided for me. The staff was very friendly and helpful; they tried their best to help me even when they weren't sure of the answers. The food and lodging were both reasonably priced. There were some problems with power while I was there, but they allowed me to charge my phone/etc. in the main lobby (so I am willing to forget any trouble no power may have caused me--it was provided when the power got turned back on). Overall I was greatly impressed by the staff and the owner. The service was outstanding, and my final bill was affordable as well. Being a rather stingy person, I was very satisfied with what this place had to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was my 2nd stay at the hotel. I stayed for 2 weeks on the first occasion and 6 days on the second trip,

This hotel is excellent value for money. Very friendly staff and clean and tidy environment. The food is delicious but at a very low cost. There is hot water, electricity (back up generator available) and internet 24/7.

A nice secluded garden outside the hotel is peaceful and relaxing.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 206 is my favorite one. Spacious and sunny.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is place is at a perfect location and simply awesome to spend the night after a long and tiring day. The staff here are very nice and friendly and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in the Thamel area. I stayed here for 4 days in a room with attached bath and it was nice and peaceful all the way. Morning coffee in the garden area was awesome with sounds of bird chirping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

这座六层的廉价酒店位于塔梅尔区的北端的安静小巷里,到主街和核心区都很方便.房间宽敞明亮,都有电话可以向前台要求送餐等服务.花园很别致,早晨时会有乌鸦过来问候--乌鸦在尼泊尔是吉祥鸟,下午可以日光浴.服务员非常友好并喜欢聊天.酒店有一部老式尼桑轿车可以租用.老板有一些很有趣的朋友--我遇见了退伍的Gurkha士兵和国家青年队的足球队员们.他们非常欢迎中国游客.

The hotel is situated in the northern edge of Thamel in a quiet small alley, easy to get to the main road or the restaurant/bars. The rooms are spacious with large windows, and the wall colors are cheerful. Every room has a telephone and room service is available - remarkable for a small budget hotel. The garden is very cute and sunny in the afternoon - say hello to the crow friend and leave it a piece of egg. Staff are extremely warm and helpful, and ready to chat. There is an old comfy Nissan car for hire and the driver Ram is very attentive. The two partner owners both have interesting life-adventures and connections with interesting people -- among their friends are former Gurkha soldiers and players of the National Youth Football Team, encounters that certainly spice up a common traveler's day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackzzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#29 of 203 in Kathmandu
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 203 in Kathmandu
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 203 in Kathmandu
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 203 in Kathmandu
626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 203 in Kathmandu
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Festoon Hotel
Festoon Hotel
#52 of 442 in Kathmandu
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn

Property: Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn
Address: Thamel Marg, Kathmandu 0000, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful structure poised in the heart of Thamel, HOTEL HIMALAYAN TRAVELLERS INN is a perfect base to start an exciting journey of Himalayan Paradise Nepal. Designed for both business and pleasure visitors, it is located few minutes from the most emblematic neighborhood, all the nice restaurents, bars, department stores and shopping places are close from the hotel. Historical monument like Kathm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing