We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I felt as at home/ Me sentí como en casa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn
Ranked #57 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I felt as at home/ Me sentí como en casa”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

At the end of Thamel, you can find this new GH with a really relation cost and quality. The staff is really friendly and they treat you as part of their family (I have to say that I was also invited to their village for Daishin festival). I can only say thank you and to recommend this fantastic place.
Good food and cheap, good wifi, common garden, one terrace on each floor and clean

Room Tip: Look for upper levels. Anyway it is at the end of Thamel so it is not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvelascog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    14
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
19
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great value for a low price.
Basic, clean rooms, good shower, good WiFi.
The location is on the border of the Thamel.
Our room on a high floor had nice city view without the street noises.

Drawback: an evening before we left, we ordered an early breakfast at 5:30, because we needed to catch a flight. Our request wasn't satisfied as the staff overslept in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 924alexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is 100% the best in Thamel. Very affordable and comfortable, especially if you are travelling and just looking for somewhere to crash after an intense night out. The staff our also amazing and friendly. Make sure to have breakfast in the gorgeous garden in the morning. Wishing the owner Ram all the best. Cheers buddy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lachlan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Himalayan Traveller’s Inn is one of the best choice in Thamel.
My husband and I stayed here for 3 days in July 2013 and we would definitely recommend this to our friends who will travel in Nepal in the future. The members of staff are very accommodating and friendly while their rates are absolutely reasonable.
See you next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Aquila, Italy
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a good and new hotel in Kathmandu. I liked it a lot because it is in a good position. It is cleen and garden is very quite. Yiu can use wifi without problems.
I know Nepal very well and it is my new choice in Kathmandu
I also know that owner is very good person

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pocoduda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went to Himalayan Traveller's Inn after I had some review from Trip Advisor. Indeed, i found best choice, staff are so friendly, service is excellent, good location, good internet, nice and clean, simple but money wise is the best. All the best.. cheers!

Room Tip: I did not see all but mine was nice and clean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

While travelling through Nepal on business, I stayed at the Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn. From the time I walked in the door I was treated like a king. The check-in was very fast. The room was a very good value for the money. The bed was one of the softest that I slept on during my trip to Nepal. The location was conveniently located to many restaurants and stores. The staff was very helpful in giving me directions to the various points in the city that I needed to go. I would recomend this hotel for both business and holiday travelerrs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJohn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#117 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#47 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Impala Garden
Hotel Impala Garden
#111 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#137 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn

Property: Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn
Address: Thamel Marg, Kathmandu 0000, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful structure poised in the heart of Thamel, HOTEL HIMALAYAN TRAVELLERS INN is a perfect base to start an exciting journey of Himalayan Paradise Nepal. Designed for both business and pleasure visitors, it is located few minutes from the most emblematic neighborhood, all the nice restaurents, bars, department stores and shopping places are close from the hotel. Historical monument like Kathm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing