We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Friends, Kathmandu

Friends, Kathmandu
Ranked #48 of 717 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: For mouth watering imported steaks, steak shislik, vegan foods, vegeterians, hummus, gnocchi, pizzas, vegab burger, pumpkin patties, tahini, some of the best juicy burgers in town with all the sides, and a selection of salads, soups, and Nepali classics come visit Friends Restaurant situated in the quiet heart of Mandala Lane, Thamel. We also have a selection of vegetarian options and our menu to available in Mandarin for Chinese visitors and residents.With a warm comfortable atmosphere, we provide fast free wifi, excellent coffees with table dining or cosy couches to curl up and enjoy your meal. And if leaving your guesthouse or home is just a bit much after trekking, a long day sight seeing around Kathmandu or a busy day at the office we also deliver.For those of you who love wine we have an extensive list of imported French and Italian classics, available by the glass or bottle, to soothe the rough edges of any day. We also have a great selection of cocktails to get any evening out to a great start!
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed two meals at friends. The staff were friendly and the dishes were very well prepared. The chicken schnitzel, steak shislik, and lamb tajine (spelling?) were all tasty.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DayLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niek g, Manager at Friends, Kathmandu, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much. We are glad we could make you happy. And enjoyed the food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    46
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An unfortunate meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I ate here a few days ago, excited at having the vegetarian tagine. It was very disappointing, the tofu seemed to be old and to have gone off (having a bitter, vinegary taste), and the base was a sort of gelatinous mushroom gravy. Having been to Morocco many times, I can say that it didn't taste anything like I had expected. I doubt I even finished half, and only that because I was hungry. I was also told that it could come with my choice of rice or baked potato, of which I chose the latter, but it never came. The popcorn that was served while I waited was completely unfresh, and I gave up after a few bites. The waiter was apologetic and offered a 10% discount, which I used to buy a falafel down the road.

I must also say that the restaurant has the most uncomfortable seating I have come across in all of Nepal (including simple guesthouses when trekking), straight-backed wooden chairs and lumpy, hard cushions. I suppose I should have used my judgment to not eat there upon seeing the place nearly empty.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niek g, Manager at Friends, Kathmandu, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
We are really sorry to hear that you had an unfortunate experience with us.
But thank you for writing this. We can work with this and make things better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food, fine service, good menu in my opinion. I do not eat meat but my friend ate a burger and hummus with meat and said everything was delicious, Good atmosphere, good music, definitely worth a taste

Helpful?
Thank Tsoofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niek g, Manager at Friends, Kathmandu, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much.....
We are happy that you enjoyed it so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“They've Nailed It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Atmosphere, music, decor, furniture, food ... just perfect. Menu is excellent. Hummus and lamb out of the world and a great idea.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CareyRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niek g, Manager at Friends, Kathmandu, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you.....
That makes us happy to hear that :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
441 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Delicious Meat Dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have eaten several of the meat dishes here over the past few months, since my previous review of friends and they have all been great. The steak shaslik, Mongolian hot pot and the hummus with lamb are great meals. I was disappointed with the chicken sausage as it appears to be just the local frozen sausage you can buy in any freezer in KTM. However, the sauce that accompanies it is divine. Service is fine. I like that groups can pay individually with the manager. The prices are appropriate for Kathmandu as well. Friends is a new restaurant so it can be sparse, but this means you can always get a seat. Hopefully this changes as Friends is delight in Thamel.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geelongexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niek g, Manager at Friends, Kathmandu, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
It's very nice to hear that you enjoyed having dinner in Friends several times. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends, Kathmandu also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Friends, Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing