We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay”

Student Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Student Guest House
Ranked #82 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Quiet room with a decent shower, good staff, very hassle free check in and check out. Good location. Fair value and clean enough. What more can I say? The setback location of the rooms gave a good break from the Kathmandu activity. A pleasantly unmemorable visit.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Decent hotel seen the small price. Relatively quite for Thamel but still hear the busy street a little bit. This is normal in thamel though. No warm water in our room. Conlusion, good budget stay. Only weird thing was that the doors close at 23h and that you need to wake up the staff if you come back late.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sjoerd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I loved our time in the student guest house. All of the employees were so helpful, making sure we had enough blankets and toilet paper. It was in a great place in Kathmandu, accessible to the bus station and nearby markets. Our stay there was lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms with the window are much brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Conveniently located on the edge of Thamel only a block away from one of its major hubs, the Student Guest House is a safe and economical choice. Like many similar Kathmandu lodgings, the rooms are reasonably clean and spartan. Hot water is a rarity--best odds for this are in the evening, so take advantage as soon as it appears.

The Wi-Fi connection is inconsistent--at times very good, but then it may be down for many hours. That shouldn't be a major concern since virtually every restaurant and coffee spot in Thamel has decent connections.

The hotel staff is very friendly, and if you need something, just ask and they will do their best to provide. For instance, there is no heating system in the rooms but small space heaters are kept in storage IF you ask for one. It is similar for most all things--if you need extra blankets, toilet paper, or even regular room cleaning service, you MUST ask the hotel staff. Otherwise, your room will remain as is.

One downside is the noise factor. The hotel is packed in tightly with other facilities that can be rather noisy at night. Also, during the time I was staying a few Christian missionary groups were also staying here, and one group was particularly loud and obnoxious late into the evening. Best to pack some earplugs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moviegeekjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Estelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#52 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#54 of 209 in Kathmandu
705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Student Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Student Guest House

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range: $28 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Student Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing