We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful stay at Katmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gokarna Forest Resort
Ranked #22 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This property has good facility for conference & workshops. Staff are very hospitable and co-operative. Large golf ground is attached which is much more exciting. Bar and restaurant looks good.
If you are staying for more than 3 days then try food at different locations in Nepal as the food part sometimes looks more repetitive, except for lovely and yummy deserts which is very tasty. Chinese food is good too.
Water what they serve is clean and no need for bottled water. A/c worked fine.
This hotel gives a good organic feel all around.

Room Tip: Wifi in lobby is free and in rooms its chargeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madhizhagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 915 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and beautiful location close to the airport and a way from hustle and bustle of khathmandu city, amazing oasis between greenery mountain, best place for complete peaceful and great relaxation experience, BF was great but no much options for dinner or lunch, WiFi is not available in all areas, staff are very friendly and helpful, overall it's amazing place to stay in Kathmandu a way from city headache.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Genuinely exciting to be given an enormous wood-floored room with a clean, well-fitted bathroom and spacious grounds. The dining area is a bit pokey and breakfast is actually cramped, but the forest trees in the grounds are lovely. In the evening there are deer, and monkeys are always about. Has the feel of an old British Club, if you know what I mean.

Room Tip: I was in the main building, above reception on 2nd floor. Very large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MugsVern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This is a very relaxing place to unwind from the manic streets of Kathmandu.
The staff are very good and attentive and the rooms are kept clean and are spacious.
The main part of the hotel has a good size bar which has discreet, Nepali music several times a week, which adds to the general atmosphere. The main restaurant serves breakfast, which is both Asian and Western, with a chef cooking a range of eggs etc.. In the evening it serves a wide selection of main meals and the occasional buffet evening. I feel there could be a bigger selection of Nepali/Indian dishes, but what they do offer is very good.
The hotel advertises a golf course and trekking around the extensive grounds which I think would be good, but my schedule did not permit me to try them out.
The situation is approx 10-15mins from the city centre, which gives it the tranquillity, but there are very few local bars etc nearby so a drive into the city is a must for sightseeing or change of dining facilities.
9/10 for this hotel and its well worth the stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnairflite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

We booked online and reached Gokarna Forest Resort for some time away from daily hustle. Most importantly it was the wife's birthday which needed to be a memorable experience. It was everything we expected including great services and hospitality by Ms Nirmaya and hotel VP Mr Sherpa. We had lovely meals and comfort at the Mt 8848 bar served by Mr Deepak. Great golf course and decent Spa with jacuzzi added to the leisure. While I am no pro but the driving range was great. And the jacuzzi was heavenly. With lush green forests and walking trails this makes my favourite nature resort thus far. I will recommend it to all.
And just to add using international credit cards at the hotel is absolutely safe.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank prashant1agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

One of the best resort in katmandu, rooms and well done, restaurant ambiance is excellent pf food awesome, location of the resort is good. Staff are well trained and helpful. Inside the resort there is a small temple to do prayers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank satishnagaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We reached Gokarna on the last day of our trip, being located 10 -20 min from thamel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, we actually got the best customer service in Nepal. I would really recommend Gokarna for at least 2 days of your stay in Nepal, as you can do many activities like golf, spa, yoga, horse riding, forest walks. Rooms are clean, food is great and you have many options. Best value to money hotel in Khatmandu.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura-Adriana-uae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#37 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,703 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,142 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 210 in Kathmandu
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Traditional Comfort
Traditional Comfort
#2 of 210 in Kathmandu
146 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,267 reviews
2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gokarna Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gokarna Forest Resort

Address: Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $126 - $1,692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gokarna Forest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gokarna Forest Resort... A tranquil Heaven to quiet Hideaways.Situated within the city limits of Kathmandu, capital of Nepal, Gokarna Forest Resort is located inside the serene temperate Gokarna Forest, the former private Royal hunting grounds of the Kings of Nepal. A winding road climbs leads through the forest up to the main complex, comprising a mix of subtly majestic Malla period architecture, Rana period lodges, and sanctuaries harmoniously blending with nature. Further on exotic Forest View cottage rooms are set beside a century old restored Hunter's lodge. A quiet peaceful haven set between ancient towering trees with glimpses of the second fairway in the valley below make the perfect getaway for a few days of golf, relaxation and rejuvenation at the Spa, enchanting forest walks, and time close to nature. SPA & HEALTH CLUB Amongst majestic trees on the edge of a plateau overlooking Gokarna Forest and the grassed valley below, Harmony Spa combines therapeutic care with a natural environment impossible to recreate elsewhere. Included are a variety of rejuvenating courses, emphasizing Ayurvedic treatments within Ayura, a dedicated Ayurvedic treatment area, the Adam & Eve, and Serenity massage rooms. The Health club encompasses Apsara, the Beauty Treatment center, an indoor temperature controlled swimming pool, luxurious changing rooms each with a Sauna, Steam room, and Jacuzzi. The large well equipped gym, the finest in the country, overlooks the forest through large windows. GOLF COURSE Against the backdrop of the snow capped Himalayas, close to the heart of Kathmandu city, South Asia's finest, and one of the world's most spectacular Golf Resort Courses is stunningly set within 470 acres of the hundreds years old Gokarna Forest Reserve. Designed by David Kidd (Gleneagles Golf Developments of Scotland), the 6,715 yard par 72 course boasts the only Bent Grass Greens in South Asia, making it one of the highlights of the professional tour circuits in the region. The serenity and setting are overwhelming. Deer and monkey wander freely, as will the spirits of all who enter. Truly an enchanting sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gokarna Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gokarna Forest Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing