We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gokarna Forest Resort
Ranked #26 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent resort”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent 8 days at the Gokarna Forest Resort, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. For us, a resort is less about being a destination than it is about serving as a base to explore the surrounding area. We certainly did that, but after a day exploring various Kathmandu neighborhoods and surrounding villages, it was great to return to a first class hotel. Highlights included the quality of the room, the dining room (prepared special meals for an ailing wife), and especially, the competence and grace of the resort staff. Although there may be less expensive places to stay in Kathmandu, the quality of the resort was well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    256
    37
    14
    20
See reviews for
157
236
70
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a package deal for a total of 3 nights during the course of a trekking holiday. Enjoyed the 5 star quality and attention of staff. Liked its location away from hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Really loved this hotel. Its design makes it complex to find your way around. The room was great with the bathroom bigger than some rooms we've stayed in. We had a great balcony with views of the area. The food was good but the restaurant was a little small. The bar was very nice. Loved the grounds although there was so much more we could have seen. Don't be put off by the area around the entrance around the hotel it's well worth the journey

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank westcorktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

What a great place to relax, take in nature and the peaceful ambience of a wonderful hotel. I stayed the night and enjoyed fantastic food, excellent service and a very attentive staff. They went above and beyond to make things perfect for a group of 22 people who wanted to celebrate a traditional turkey dinner. While we brought the turkey and some other favorite dishes, Gokarna chef cooked it to perfection and added side dishes and dessert. All staff made sure we had the perfect day! We also enjoyed various spa packages....best Thanksgiving ever! I will go back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaL624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is considered to be the biggest resort in the whole of Nepal. It is far off from the city and hence one has to depend upon the taxi service of the hotels. But once you are inside this place you are in heaven.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dnyate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

If one wants to relax in Kathmandu then this is the best resort. Spread over 750 acres one is in the midst of the nature. But one word of caution, close the windows or else your room would be ransacked by our ancestors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank veena64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

In my recent adventure in Nepal and Tibet, I stayed at the Gokarna Forest Resort on three occasions: three days on arrival in Nepal, another day after hiking and rafting in the Annapurna Region, and once more upon my return to Nepal from Tibet. Each visit was perfect for me, as the rooms were large, comfortable, well equipped and quiet. The dining room menu, ambiance and service were impeccable. I didn't use the large indoor swimming pool or the golf course, but did take a two-hour hike with two friends through the Gokarna Forest (guide required, $18), during which we saw multiple groups of Spotted Deer and Langur Monkeys. WiFi service is free in the bar area. The suburban Gokarna location is about a half hour drive in often chaotic traffic from downtown Kathmandu, but I found the peaceful beauty of Gokarna well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAR1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gokarna Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gokarna Forest Resort

Property: Gokarna Forest Resort
Address: Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gokarna Forest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gokarna Forest Resort... A tranquil Heaven to quiet Hideaways.Situated within the city limits of Kathmandu, capital of Nepal, Gokarna Forest Resort is located inside the serene temperate Gokarna Forest, the former private Royal hunting grounds of the Kings of Nepal. A winding road climbs leads through the forest up to the main complex, comprising a mix of subtly majestic Malla period architecture, Rana period lodges, and sanctuaries harmoniously blending with nature. Further on exotic Forest View cottage rooms are set beside a century old restored Hunter's lodge. A quiet peaceful haven set between ancient towering trees with glimpses of the second fairway in the valley below make the perfect getaway for a few days of golf, relaxation and rejuvenation at the Spa, enchanting forest walks, and time close to nature. SPA & HEALTH CLUB Amongst majestic trees on the edge of a plateau overlooking Gokarna Forest and the grassed valley below, Harmony Spa combines therapeutic care with a natural environment impossible to recreate elsewhere. Included are a variety of rejuvenating courses, emphasizing Ayurvedic treatments within Ayura, a dedicated Ayurvedic treatment area, the Adam & Eve, and Serenity massage rooms. The Health club encompasses Apsara, the Beauty Treatment center, an indoor temperature controlled swimming pool, luxurious changing rooms each with a Sauna, Steam room, and Jacuzzi. The large well equipped gym, the finest in the country, overlooks the forest through large windows. GOLF COURSE Against the backdrop of the snow capped Himalayas, close to the heart of Kathmandu city, South Asia's finest, and one of the world's most spectacular Golf Resort Courses is stunningly set within 470 acres of the hundreds years old Gokarna Forest Reserve. Designed by David Kidd (Gleneagles Golf Developments of Scotland), the 6,715 yard par 72 course boasts the only Bent Grass Greens in South Asia, making it one of the highlights of the professional tour circuits in the region. The serenity and setting are overwhelming. Deer and monkey wander freely, as will the spirits of all who enter. Truly an enchanting sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gokarna Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gokarna Forest Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing