We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Gokarna Forest Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gokarna Forest Resort
Ranked #21 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Gokarna Resort while trekking and enjoying Kathmandu. Certainly, Kathmandu as a city has terrible pollution and poor infrastructure, while just a little out of the city is the beautiful environment of Gokarna Forest. We enjoyed every aspect of the friendly staff, the efficient service, peaceful hotel grounds and wonderful meals.
Perhaps the highlight of our stay was the personal attention provided by Mr Ramesh Thapa who at the time was serving meals and has since graduated to bar service. Ramesh provided us with understanding of Nepalese culture, was patient in teaching us some Nepalese words and hosted us in true Nepalese style. He certainly contributed to the success of our visit to Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Ensure you choose an upstairs room to avoid disruption by the local monkeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 901 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have visited Kathmandu for business, I'm still shocked how bad is this city, so poor in every corner of the city. The hotel is so far from the city, it is located in the jungle the positive points about the hotel is good central air conditioner, high speed Internet, golf club, good security,
The negative points the followings
1- frequent disconnection of power, as well Internet
2- very poor break fast service and variety
3- Indian restruant food quality has no standard
4- Tai resruant only order Chinese chicken macaroni, remaining no taste
5- house keeping requested to remove some fruit eaten partially but never left for 3 nights
6- at night we were band from walking around because of tigers
7- hotel under maintenance which start early morning with continues noise
8- no intertainment programs which reflect Nepal culture

The hotel back yard is very pretty for early morning walk the weather is nice but after 10 is hot until sun set.

Frankly speaking I will not recommend this hotel for Anyone

Room Tip: Take the king's son villa, avoid ground floor for ants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamounalhilali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel would be the primary choice for an avid golfer. There is nothing comparable elsewhere in Nepal. The facilities here are all first rate. The only objection that might be raised is the location which is far away from all the Kathmandu tourist activity. Count on half an hour to get to the temples and other locations that you might be interested in visiting. That said, the hotel staff can arrange for tours to the Kathmandu sites or to Pokhara or any other city on your list. The food at the main restaurant is world class even while covering a number of different cuisines with the buffet or on the menu. Accommodations are first rate with the only annoyance being the number of monkeys on the grounds. They can be entertaining but require that you insure your doors and windows remain closed at all times. The monkeys are always hungry. I stumbled into selecting the Gokarna because it is now available as a timeshare exchange. I do not regret any of the week I spent here. It was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I was at one of the buildings away from the main building. This made for a quiet stay and a pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a golf course resort on the edge of Kathmandu. It is close to a beautiful forest with the River Bagmati flowing on one boundary. The forest trail is not just a stroll. It is fairly rugged and infested with leeches which will attach to your boots and crawl up! Plenty of salt needed.
The rooms are large with high ceilings and a selection of twin and double beds. The bathrooms have the largest bath I have ever seen. Reminded me of playing rugby in the 1960's!
The hotel has some nice artefacts but unfortunately it is constructed in unsympathetic materials which contrast to the attempt at Newar design. That is a pity.
The food was budget but well cooked, buffet only with another restaurant down a steep path at the Golf Club House. The golf course looks delightful and well maintained with plenty of buggies.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Gokarna is always a pleasure to visit. Great golf course, and the addition of the new wings are welcome. Food needs more attention at the main hotel, but you have the option to eat at the Club restaurant which is a lot better. The addition of horse riding has also made it more enjoyable.

Room Tip: New wing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sahsasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel is good, rooms r clean, bathtubs is another great to have.

However it is just too remote and the only food is the 2 in-house Resturant. They have a great variety of ingridents however their menu is very limited. Morning Buffett is limited spread too.

It cost min 700 rupee to go to town and about 1200 to thamal (the shopping area). Food cost about 700-1800 rupees, plus 10% service charge plus 13% vat. This is bad part. If the food is great, it will be excellent to dine in.

Wifi is quite unstable. I got 24hr Internet access for 1000 rupee but was only able to use about 8 hours due to the down time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Best hotel! Friendly staff, very clean and good rooms. Food excellent. Recommended with friends or family ! Amazing forest view, there is restaurant on golf view, you can enjoy with cold beer, I recommend to try local beer called EVEREST this is best beer i try over there. It's good if you stay with friend there, alone is boring. It's good to stay there for 3 days then move to other place to see mountains

Room Tip: Ask for forest view rooms they are amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitriy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#35 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,683 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,133 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 209 in Kathmandu
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#56 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,253 reviews
2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
493 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#42 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gokarna Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gokarna Forest Resort

Address: Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $124 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gokarna Forest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gokarna Forest Resort... A tranquil Heaven to quiet Hideaways.Situated within the city limits of Kathmandu, capital of Nepal, Gokarna Forest Resort is located inside the serene temperate Gokarna Forest, the former private Royal hunting grounds of the Kings of Nepal. A winding road climbs leads through the forest up to the main complex, comprising a mix of subtly majestic Malla period architecture, Rana period lodges, and sanctuaries harmoniously blending with nature. Further on exotic Forest View cottage rooms are set beside a century old restored Hunter's lodge. A quiet peaceful haven set between ancient towering trees with glimpses of the second fairway in the valley below make the perfect getaway for a few days of golf, relaxation and rejuvenation at the Spa, enchanting forest walks, and time close to nature. SPA & HEALTH CLUB Amongst majestic trees on the edge of a plateau overlooking Gokarna Forest and the grassed valley below, Harmony Spa combines therapeutic care with a natural environment impossible to recreate elsewhere. Included are a variety of rejuvenating courses, emphasizing Ayurvedic treatments within Ayura, a dedicated Ayurvedic treatment area, the Adam & Eve, and Serenity massage rooms. The Health club encompasses Apsara, the Beauty Treatment center, an indoor temperature controlled swimming pool, luxurious changing rooms each with a Sauna, Steam room, and Jacuzzi. The large well equipped gym, the finest in the country, overlooks the forest through large windows. GOLF COURSE Against the backdrop of the snow capped Himalayas, close to the heart of Kathmandu city, South Asia's finest, and one of the world's most spectacular Golf Resort Courses is stunningly set within 470 acres of the hundreds years old Gokarna Forest Reserve. Designed by David Kidd (Gleneagles Golf Developments of Scotland), the 6,715 yard par 72 course boasts the only Bent Grass Greens in South Asia, making it one of the highlights of the professional tour circuits in the region. The serenity and setting are overwhelming. Deer and monkey wander freely, as will the spirits of all who enter. Truly an enchanting sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gokarna Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gokarna Forest Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing