We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean food”

Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop
Ranked #5 of 765 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, European, Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: NAMASTE- welcome to the place of excellence! "Food for the body is not enough. There must be food for the soul." -Dorothy Day Rosemary Kitchen does not have a long history back, but the humble appreciation of satisfied clients so far makes it a Legend! It has been two year that Rosemary Kitchen was open to serve the public. Since then, it has been serving the food for soul and accumulated great client base of internal and external tourists who come to visit the Himalayan Kingdom of Nepal.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good clean food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great atmosphere with staff that speak good english. The restaurant was quiet which is a change and the prices were reasonable. I ordered pork chops, and the serving size was very good with 2 pieces of pork chops. Finished off with some apple pie and ice cream which was on the sweet side but still tasty.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    261
    87
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant service and nice food in a peaceful garden setting”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a few occasions. The organic garden salad was outstanding, and would also recommend the warm apple pie with ice cream. Veg momos and thali were good value, but unfortunately we found flavour was lacking in some vegetarian dishes. The coffee here is also decent. Service is really excellent - we felt very well looked after by all of the staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anisahnanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Really nice owner and staff, they care a lot. Food is delicious, and just feels great to be there. We've enjoyed the fish, the Thukpa (vegetables soup), mango juice, quite a few chicken dishes.. it was all very tasty actually.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yotam_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent everything”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went here about 6 times. The organic green salad was divine! The fresh leaves, pine nuts, apple slices and pomegranate was delicious. The dressing was quite sweet, but wasnt drowned in it. The rosemary chicken is to die for! A must try for anyone who comes here! The service was fantastic, attentive and always available. The garden setting is beautiful, quite romantic with candles. The noise from nearby was quite annoying and loud, but not bad enough to stop me coming here to eat. Free wifi, clean western bathroom, fast service, beautiful restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not exactly #1 material”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had lunch here because it was #1 on TripAdvisor. It is a nice little place but nothing special. The menu is similar to the majority of tourist places. I almost feel bad to write something negative - it's really okay but it is just not #1 material.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mark-time M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijay K, Manager at Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We would like to thank you for going through Rosemary Kitchen and Coffee Shop’s comments.
We are glad and feel privileged to be ranked number 1 in Trip Advisor List and we assure all our guests and well wishers that we will try our level best to cling to the qualities and to upgrade (in rooms possible and needed) to retain its position.
After assessing, we have found out that you have not visited our restaurant and reviewed without actually experiencing it. Your approach is just like shooting bullets randomly which is sure to miss the target. Hence, I would like to request you not to write such random reviews. You are always welcome in our restaurant. Kindly visit us, try our food, observe and experience our services and facilities and write a fair review about it so that your opinions will be respected. You have targeted our restaurant which is currently ranked #1; the other restaurants which are favored by your reviews too offer much similarity in their menus and services.
Since you have wrote that our restaurant doesn’t have the materials of # 1, we would like to know what essentially makes a restaurant No. 1? What sort of materials are you looking for??? We believe quality food, quality service and good environment are the essential factors that make any restaurant, a Number 1 restaurant.
Being a Manager, I personally go to each table and get feedback of our food and service from our esteemed guests. We pay our full attention to our guests.
P.S. Yes, you may like or dislike something even though that may be loved by most of the people. However, if everyone starts writing random reviews as you did, it is almost sure that in coming days, no tourists are going to visit restaurants reading the reviews of trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing