We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful - Excellent - Thank you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Happy Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Happy Home
Ranked #20 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Wonderful - Excellent - Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

A truly nice place to stay. Comfortable, clean, safe, and the sincere friendly staff will make you feel very welcome indeed. Everyone is ready to fulfill any kind of wish, whatever, whenever. Dinesh, the hotel manager goes beyond expectations with his warmths and respect- and offers hospitality, you only would expect in a 5* Hotel. Thank you Dinesh. The hotel is perfectly located, just a stone throw away from Thamel. On our next visit to Kathmandu we will definetely stay again. We are looking forward to it. Bright Blessings to the Happy Home Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Respectable client,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at Hotel Happy Home Kathmandu.It appears that we have done so and we look forward to so for many years to come. Thank you for taking time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon in Kathmandu.

Best Wishes,
Krishna Lamichhane and Happy Home team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    70
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
93
78
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great value for money. Super friendly staff. Superb location as it is close to almost anywhere you see in thamel specially the good food and souvenir finds. The hotel manager, Dinesh together with his hotel staff and our tour guides Shankar and Prakash were absolutely at our every need. Definitely a comfortable stay and an absolutely warm people to take care of you. Highly recommendable. Genuinely after your satisfaction and not your money.

Room Tip: Just email the manager to have a perfect arrangement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to post comment out of your busy schedule to write such a complementary trip advisor review. We will be sure to pass along these comments on our staff, its always wonderful to hear such a a great feedback! We look forward to seeing you in the next time you 're in Hotel Happy Home!

We look forward to your return.

With Kind Regards,
Krishna Lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Currently writing this as I sit in my bed awaiting the next mosquito arriving to have a go at me. Killed so many tonight. No mosquito nets or bug grills on the window. We looked for a nice ish bed to recharge for the night after backpacking about Nepal and selected this place after viewing.

$20 per night for double room with no breakfast. The room, initially, looked ok. After checking in I noticed the carpet is pretty dirty, there's a stain on the bed sheets, lamp shade is sitting ripped off the lamp, theres a list of telephone numbers for the the hotel on the wall but no phone with just the cable lying out. No plug points except the one the television one works. So you can't charge items and watch television.

I went down to reception at midnight to discuss the mosquito situation but no one was there.

When we viewed the room (twice over one hour) the room door was open and the member of staff said all Mosquitos won't come in until door is closed (unsure what this meant and maybe lost in translation).

At any rate, it is 1am and still Mosquitos appear from nowhere in turn keeping me and my partner awake. We already have bites and will be making a complaint in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SeasickSausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna L, Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Respected Guest Anthony C,

Greetings from Hotel Happy Home, Kathmandu. Thank you very much sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor about our premises.

We had refurnished our amenities and every room has became wooden flooring parquet Telephone,lamp shade and plug is working very well, Now, every room has plug point.
Due to misunderstand by our staff he had lost on translation with you, now we have very good English speaking staffs on desk.
Once again personally and Hotel management I'm extremely sorry those incidents had happen to you and hope doesn't happen with other clients in coming days, we will success to improve the service level .
We would love to have you back at our hotel in near future.

With Kind Regards,
Team of Hotel Happy Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayboro, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I wanted somewhere to stay in Kathmandu that had a great rooftop area, was centrally located and yet not too noisy, not too large and hotel-like, and with big rooms to squeeze in 2 adults and 2 kids....and I found it!! Hotel Happy home has a gorgeous rooftop area, which gets full sun and has a brilliant view of Swayambhunath. The rooms are large and clean, and the water was hot. Krishna and his crew were extremely helpful, and even personally guided us to our bus to Pokhara. And despite my efforts to track down the cheapest bus and air-fares between Kathmandu and Pokhara, Krishna's prices bet them all. If you are travelling with kids I really do recommend this place as we all felt comfortable there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you so much for Nice review of Hotel Happy Home and it was pleasure to have you and your family stay with us in our hotel . Thank you so much again . Hope to see you again in our hotel.
With Kind Regards,
Krishna Lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The excellent location of the hotel allows easy access to any part of the city. A pleasant and comfortable atmosphere is favorable to relaxation, and responsive and attentive staff help resolve any difficulties. Good price and quality. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VITARBEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your review in Trip Advisor and stay with us in our hotel and like our service .Hope to see you again soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had been in a few places during my stay in Nepal and I found this place to be the most pleasing. The staff have all been most excellent. The water is actually hot! Most enjoyable. The room was large, well decorated and exceptionally well maintained, very clean. I liked that! The price was great. You can't beat a good price and a great place to stay. I enjoyed my breakfast on the roof top garden overlooking the Thamel area. It was a great way to start the day, coffee, eggs, toast, hash browns, hmm. ;-)

I found it quieter here, as well. I had been elsewhere and had a hard time sleeping. I slept well here.If I returned to Thamel, I would spent my time here. Great hospitality. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Amazing Hospitality! great people, best place to stay in kathmandou. the staff were very helpful and caring. it felt like if we were at home. thank you for everything. next time i come to nepal, it will be my first destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samarmonzer1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valuable clients,
Thank you so much for your review about our hotel . It was great pleasure to have you at our hotel. Hope to see you again. Thank you so much again. All the best .
With Kind regards,
Krishna Lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#6 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#15 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#9 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Happy Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Happy Home

Property: Hotel Happy Home
Address: 17, JP Road Thamel, Kathmandu 10356, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Happy Home 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Happy Home Pvt. Ltd. is conveniently located in Chhetrapati, Kathmandu. We are a short walk from the heart of Thamel, the main tourist hub of Kathmandu, with many restaurants and facilities. Our location is in a peaceful residential area, away from noise of bars and discos, but close enough for anyone who wants to experience the nightlife of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Happy Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing