We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base in Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Happy Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Happy Home
Ranked #21 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good base in Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotel Happy Home is the new name for Hotel Family Home which has received very good reviews

Hotel Happy Home is well situated in the heart of Thamel. We stayed here for three days with two friends and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were large enough, clean and well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful and the prices were good value. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir thank you so much for your review about our hotel and nice stay with us . Hope to see you again in our Hotel . All the best.

With Kind Regards,
Krishna Lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    72
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
98
79
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Happy home is great hotel to stay. Nice and clean place as well friendly staff. I got all aspect of help. It was my first visit in nepal, happy home team gave me unforgettable service and guided me in new place. Definitely next time again i will stay with them.

Room Tip: Room east side is nice and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your nice review. It was pleasure to have you at our hotel. I would really love to make you next visit wonderful... once again thank you very much..
Krishna Lamichhane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was really nice place with welcoming environment and the staffs were very charming and friendly. in fact i was guided by the one of the staff during my tour to Nepal. i would like to recommend this hotel to my friends and all the travelers from around the world for comfort holidays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Raz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

On my way to annapurna area trekking i landed in kathmandu airport where i decided to say in kathmandu for few days. I came to say in hotel happy home. It was really a good looking hotel, that made a first impression and the friendly staffs made another good impression, everything was perfect more than I could imagine, since I was with my girlfriend we had nice romantic times there.Good family enviroment and best rooftop restaurant was pretty awesome. I would definately recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear sir/ Madam,
Thank you so much for your review about our hotel and it was pleasure to have stay with us in our hotel. Thank you so much again. Hope to see you again soon here in Hotel Happy Home.
With Kind regards,
Krishna Lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were there as our tour operator Namaste Tourism World of UK booked a hotel for us. Traditional style build home, with clean, peace, lovely and warm rooms, making it a relaxing atmosphere. Service cannot be faulted at all. Lucky enough, dinner in the roof top restaurant with amazing food and view. in my special order they cooked, Bhutton & Lamb Kutta, once had never to be forgotten. Krish & His wife who study and worked in international Hotel in UK, wouldn't let us down. such a international stander.
We shall definitely be visiting on our next trip. Once again, thank you mate for offering unexpected excellent services!!

Room Tip: choose a road side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valuable clients,
Thank you so much for your review about our hotel and it was pleasure to have you at our hotel and stay with us and like our service. Thank you so much hope to see you again .
Krishna Lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was my fantastics trip to Kathmandu Nepal. I were there for a couple of week . I found more better to saty in HOTEL HAPPY HOME which is located in Thamel ,Kathmandu . Which is very peaceful tourism area of Nepal as well as.

I cant express services and environment of this hotel by words. There is brand new place that is designed with traditional Nepali style windows, well-furnished rooms with private bathrooms and all the facilities necessary for comfort, including a new elevator lift! very very beautiful gardens both at the ground floor and the rooftop are made to make that feel me a slice of nature’s heaven is right in Kathmandu. That is really i feel very very relax.

The Hotel happy Home is really like a home . That is not Hotel . I felt i were in my own house. Because all of staff are like family member. Really i m missing them now. I am planing to visit Nepal again .

Thank you
Paulo Santosh

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paulo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#1 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#7 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Happy Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Happy Home

Property: Hotel Happy Home
Address: 17, JP Road Thamel, Kathmandu 10356, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Happy Home 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Happy Home Pvt. Ltd. is conveniently located in Chhetrapati, Kathmandu. We are a short walk from the heart of Thamel, the main tourist hub of Kathmandu, with many restaurants and facilities. Our location is in a peaceful residential area, away from noise of bars and discos, but close enough for anyone who wants to experience the nightlife of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Happy Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing