We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #2 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it's a wonderful place to be .
Clean , cozy and simple ! The staff was very helpful and friendly . I even used their tour services for sightseeing in the city . The guide Mr. Kumar was amazing , very informative and respectful . Thanks to Hotel Friends Home for their help in making my trip to Nepal so exciting and refreshing .

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia2292001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very thankful to you that you choose us. We very much delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you again and we will always do our best to make our clients stay joyful, peaceful and memorable. We again thank you, from entire group of Friends home for your review.
Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    146
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
116
320
236
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

It was an amazing experience ataying there. Friendly staffs and great service. Respect for the hospitality they serve. The rooms are super clean and entire facilities are well maintained. Loves our stay there and looking forward for another visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjaya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very thankful to you that you choose us. We very much delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you again and we will always do our best to make our clients stay joyful, peaceful and memorable. We again thank you, from entire group of Friends home for your review.
Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here twice - the second time only because we had already paid for the stay. Service was good, but let down by very poor attitudes at times. We arrived to find that the double beds we had specifically requested not available. We were told it was tough luck basically.. When we left, we booked a taxi through the hotel. We were told that this was included in our stay when we booked. Suddenly, that was no longer true and they made us pay. Once we had paid, the taxi was late and we were told to wait while the driver went for his lunch! We had an international flight to catch!! The manager came to assist us but the attitude was so poor and we had to deal with a moody taxi driver all the way to the airport as he had missed his lunch. I cannot understand how this place is rated so highly, we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MiaandHunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Miaand Hunts
Thank you for your review. We carefully read. We had offer you free pick up and we did charge for the airport drop service to you, because this is for any of our clients not only to you and its also written in our website.

Regarding the driver delay service we really apologies for that. We had told driver to be ready to leave for airport at your given time but without infirming us he went for his lunch so that situation become like that. Regarding our team behave we already clear with all our team to be loyal and very polite with all our clients, we learn from your review and already start improving our service.

We agreed that you booked for a double room king size bed but by some misunderstanding off our duty officer that room which we keep for you was given to some other clients so that it was happened we really thankful to you that even you stayed in twin bed for that night and on the second day we request you to move in king size bed but you did not wish.

Once again we apologies for all to you. We learn our mistake from your review and improved. we will not repent again.

Rajendra and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Service: Staff is helpful and kind. You feel good coming back and finding a friendly helpful. Staff walks the extra mile to assure comfort of your stay.
Cleanliness: Scrupulous. Cleaning girls are friendly and do make sure every corner of the hotel is REALLY clean. I mean it.
Food: great free breakfast and very reasonably priced dinners. Waiting and cooking staff give excellent service, polite and kind. Kitchen area is visible so you can see the hygiene in food prep. I never had any kind of stomach disorder.
Rooms: Hyper clean (no surprise here), with modern air condition units, hot water 24 hrs and a nice flat-screen TV, where I could enjoy the final game of the 2014 Worl Cup.
Linen: Towels are clean and very good size. They really dry. Bed linen is as clean as the rest of the hotel. Mattress and pillows are super comfortable... like home.
Location: Very convenient, with all services within walking distance and a lively shopping area.
Summarizing: The pics and description on the website really matches what I got.
I got more than my money' worth!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best to make enjoyable and memorable stay to our entire guest, our goal is to be a real friends home in Nepal. We again thank you for stayed with us and wrote a review of Friends home.
Thank you.

Rajendra Sapkota
Team of the Friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Came back to hotel after traveling around some in Nepal and after staying in many other places this place is the best once again. Clean and comfortable. And as it gets hot outside this place is an oasis with its generator back up for AC at night. Many other hotels do not have that and make it difficult to sleep without. Electric outages are common in Nepal in summer and AC is a must.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryHuffmanArellana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best to make enjoyable and memorable stay to our entire guest, our goal is to be a real friends home in Nepal. We again thank you for stayed with us and wrote a review of Friends home.
Thank you.

Rajendra Sapkota
Team of the Friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Staff are so helpful and kind. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The deluxe rooms are nice and spacious. The hotel is in great location, away from all the chaos but it's close to all the shops and central. Highly recommend staying here, very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best to make enjoyable and memorable stay to our entire guest, our goal is to be a real friends home in Nepal. We again thank you for stayed with us and wrote a review of Friends home.
Thank you.

Rajendra Sapkota
Team of the Friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Friends Home is set a little away from the main streets of Thamel but near enough for a short walk, so you can get away from all the noise (!). All the staff were extremely friendly and happy to help, putting our needs first and going the extra mile. The morning server/waiter definitely deserves a raise! Overall a very enjoyable stay, would certainly recommend and great value too. Great, clean rooms also - with air con!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickles132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best to make enjoyable and memorable stay to our entire guest, our goal is to be a real friends home in Nepal. We again thank you for stayed with us and wrote a review of Friends home.
Thank you.

Rajendra Sapkota
Team of the Friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#11 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#7 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#6 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Property: Hotel Friends Home
Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing